Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful hotel on private grounds with a beach

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Relaxing beautiful resort with multi-connected pools facing the Pacific ocean. Excellent and well priced restaurants and room service. Local artesians at the resort at night with nice pieces for adults and children. Local wildlife including parrakeets and parrots, raccoon, foxes, coati and more. The Waves and Cream coffee shop doesn't open until 8a.m. and virtually no evening activities. The resort offers a round trip shuttle to Tamarindo, a 10-minute drive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Exotic hotel near beach

Posted Aug 15, 2016
All was excellent. The food was a 4 out of 5 but still good. Many options to eat at and loved the ice cream shop( nice touch) . Would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a bad experience

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The pool
Cons: The level of customer service and over all hospitality from the desk staff to the restaurant staff. The only nice person was the server by the pool.
Location: Tamarindo is the closest town. Even though the hotel website says the shuttle is $7 per person, it is actually $20 per person. So keep that in mind.
This is not at all like the JW hotels in the U.S. The hospitality level at this location is abysmal. JW should remove their name from this hotel. I was given a lower level room with a view of the bushes, instead of the room with an ocean view that I specifically booked at a higher rate. When I asked the front desk to move they said there was nothing they could do because they were booked and it's my fault for booking through Expedia. I said they could at least give me some money back or resort credit. They said they couldn't do anything because I already paid. I then called Expedia and was on the phone on hold for over an hour. The associate got back on the phone and said they couldn't do anything because the hotel was not answering their phone. I took my phone to the front desk but the lady at the front desk refused to take the phone. I gave up out of exhaustion and went back to my room. Unfortunately, the bedding and bed was uncomfortable and the room was near the lobby area with a lot of noisy foot traffic and someone cleaning the floors loudly early in am. I again went to the front desk. They said again there's nothing we can do you shouldn't have booked through Expedia. I asked for the manager. The manager was gruff and said we're full there is nothing we can do. After going back and forth with her she took me to another office and eventually gave me a room with a peak-a-boo view of the ocean. Also the food is overpriced and not good not at JW standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Awesome views.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Hotel was amazing. They need to improve on their service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Good experience hotel staff very attentive to your needs
3 out of 5
by lorena

Stone Beach

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
The beach is a nightmare, full of stone and not for a family that wants to be at the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

very nice, but boring after a couple of days

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The room and personnel and the food
Cons: Nothing; just location
Location: Not much!
My comments are more about the country and hotel location. All attractions in Costa Rica, from the hotel, involve a drive; anywhere from one to four hours each way. Not the fault of the hotel, but at the hotel, the beach area is very small and rocky. So after a couple of days, and having already visited attractions away from the hotel, we were pretty bored. The hotel is lovely and well maintained and the rooms were very comfortable. The food was good to excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield MO

JW Marriott Guanacaste

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Facilities. User friendly staff. Great pools.
Cons: The restaurants food menu is monotonous and limited. More importantly, the price of food in the hotel is as expensive as being in california.
Location: Nearby cute town Tamarindo is a good place to visit for a day for great beach, local shopping and great seafood at reasonable price.
Excellent hotel to stay. Marriott Category 7. Yes. Staff are mostly costaricans. Extremely friendly, attentive and user friendly. Great. Great pools. Great views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax the Costa Rican way!

Posted Mar 6, 2016
What an amazing time for the four of us! World class resort in all its facilities!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Beautiful location, very nice hotel, great service.