Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Awesome views.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Hotel was amazing. They need to improve on their service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Good experience hotel staff very attentive to your needs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

very nice, but boring after a couple of days

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The room and personnel and the food
Cons: Nothing; just location
Location: Not much!
My comments are more about the country and hotel location. All attractions in Costa Rica, from the hotel, involve a drive; anywhere from one to four hours each way. Not the fault of the hotel, but at the hotel, the beach area is very small and rocky. So after a couple of days, and having already visited attractions away from the hotel, we were pretty bored. The hotel is lovely and well maintained and the rooms were very comfortable. The food was good to excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield MO

JW Marriott Guanacaste

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Facilities. User friendly staff. Great pools.
Cons: The restaurants food menu is monotonous and limited. More importantly, the price of food in the hotel is as expensive as being in california.
Location: Nearby cute town Tamarindo is a good place to visit for a day for great beach, local shopping and great seafood at reasonable price.
Excellent hotel to stay. Marriott Category 7. Yes. Staff are mostly costaricans. Extremely friendly, attentive and user friendly. Great. Great pools. Great views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax the Costa Rican way!

Posted Mar 6, 2016
What an amazing time for the four of us! World class resort in all its facilities!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Beautiful location, very nice hotel, great service.
5 out of 5
by Deena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James from USA

TOO TOO EXPENSIVE

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
This was a very nice hotel but was even more expensive for the food and drinks. Rooms are on the high end. I told my wife that I knew I was in a third world country but with USA prices. Ten dollar pina colada was steep for me. The beach is not nice at all. Large rocks are in the shallow area as you attempt to enter the world. The ocean water can not really be used. The restaurant food was good but again it was very expensive. The spa was nice but 190 dollars for a massage was ridiculous. I will look elsewhere next time for a stay in Guanacaste.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

its ok

Posted Nov 8, 2015
the staff and costa rica was great however my problem is more with the JW hotel design itself. If swimming in the ocean is important to you - not the place to stay. The pool is massive - with that said - there is not enough stairs located through out it to get out of it. We had an ocean front room which was great. The screen on the balcony is needed and nice that it roll up. The bathroom is strange. I have never stayed in a hotel where the toilet and the shower were together in one undivided space. Everything gets wet - weird. Also, if you are looking for a bar just to hang out in - maybe during or after sunset - not going to find it here. The one bar they had only had 6 very uncomfortable and short bar stools - not customer friendly at all The food was better than most large resorts of this type and the service was wonderful. They really go out out of there way.
5 out of 5
by Zoe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels