Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

February retreat

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This hotel & staff exceeded our expectations. Our "romantic garden room w/ private pool" was beautiful & very close to the pool & path to the beach. The private pool was actually a hot tub but very refreshing when set to 90 degrees & private. The staff were all very friendly & when my husband sprained his ankle surfing they tracked down crutches so he could continue to enjoy the trip w/out a costly doctor visit. We looked forward to the breakfast buffet daily w/ all of the fresh fruit & traditional fare. The evening meals were amazing including the steak & seafood. The weather was in the 90's everyday. The ocean side lounge chairs, shower & restroom located by the beach w/ cabana's & shade available were a great relief from the intense sun & hot sand. The sister resort was very convenient as you could order food & drinks while relaxing on the lounge chairs. I can not think of anything negative to say about our stay here. We'll be back for sure!! Tamarindo had many shops & restaurants to enjoy w/ most of the restaurants on the beach, nothing better than enjoying a meal & cocktails while you watch the sunset over the ocean! Make sure to bring sunscreen though as they were $28 per bottle in Tamarindo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

some of the nicest property in Tamarindo

Posted Feb 13, 2017
might be the nicest property in Tamarindo just not beach front. great service, gorgeous surroundings for breakfast and dinner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Best place to unplug and relax

Posted Feb 3, 2017
The entire staff are excellent. Endy and Marion went above any beyond to make our stay amazing. Excellent view if on a higher floor but the grounds are immaculate and the pool refreshing and clean. Best place for adult couples without kids in Tamarindo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice quiet hotel just a walk from the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2017
very nice place to stay at and everyone is friendly. Private jacuzzi in our room was pretty cool too. we went just for fun to check out costa rica and i would definitely recommend this place. Breakfast was good and the dinner was excellent. Having the beach just a short walk away was nice as well. They have a private area for hotel guests only that is basically on the beach which was very nice. We didn't stay in the room very much because we hadn't been to costa rica before and wanted to go out exploring. very nice ambiance the place too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing hotel in a great vacation town

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast and dinner, room size, balcony, comfy bed, welcome drinks, pool,
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Tamarindo is a popular city, but still small enough and quiet enough to relax. You can surf or just layout. Shopping, markets, tours, spas.
Jardin del Eden is fantastic. We were welcomed by a young woman named Alex, who was absolutely sweet and a great resource during our vacation. I believe there was also a young man named Juan Carlos, who poured us a great welcome drink and showed us around the hotel and our room. He and Alex were sweet and clearly cared about the "pura vida" vibes. The room was great and spacious, and clean, with a balcony and beautiful view of the ocean. The pools are clean and perfectly secluded in privacy from the outside world, while the access to the streets via the long path/walkway made it easy to get "out on the town" when needed. We also loved the private beach area for hotel guests only, with lockable gates. It was nice to have a safe place to put anything we took to the beach. The water in Tamarindo is amazing! The restaurant was outstanding. Breakfast was so enjoyable every morning. Staff helped me with my Spanish. Marion and Antonio (and I forgot the name of the third person so I'm sorry) served us a beautiful birthday dinner. The Ahi Tuna, Prawns/Filet, and Tres Leches cake were insanely delicious. We had great conversations with the staff in the hotel and the restaurant, we loved it. Poolside ordering was lovely. Food portions and quality were great. Prices very reasonable. It was so easy to relax and "feel at home" at this hotel. We look forward to going back to Jardin del Eden, we loved Tamarindo. This place is a Gem full of pura vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Very nice had a great stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Love the laid back atmosphere. The path to Main Street and private beach area was great. Can't say enough about experience. Food was good to both Breakfast and Supper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful ambiance, quiet boutique hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Location: Avellanes beach to the south - about 40 minutes by car on a dirt road but worth the drive. Pinillo Canopy Tour - on the way to Avellanes Beach.
My BF and I stayed at El Jardin for one week in December before the holiday rush. This is a picturesque, peaceful boutique hotel in downtown Tamarindo just north of the main road but still walking distance to the beach. It has a beautiful pool with a fountain and lush gardens. Lovely, attentive hotel staff. They offer a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning. The rooms are pretty basic - the hotel's charm lies outside. Make sure to get specific directions prior to arrival. There are no street names or address numbers so the hotel is hard to find if you don't know exactly where to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort in Tamarindo

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Great intimate place for couples to getaway! We had an amazing experience with the staff, particularly Dennis from the front desk and Antonio at the bar. Both made extra effort to make sure we enjoy our stay. Highly recommended if you are looking for top notch service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
2 minute walk from the beach, in the center of town surrounded by restaurants etc. Beautiful pool with poolside food and drink service. Great breakfast included with omelette bar!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Not as expected

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Most of the staff were wonderful. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and well cared for. Loved the view of the ocean.
Cons: The steps. The advertisements should tell about them. It is not a hotel for psychically handicapped and should stated as such.
Location: The beach, swimming, snorkeling, horseback riding. We enjoyed the jungle safari boat ride.
We booked a week stay with continental breakfast &a Free Dinner. When we got there the manager refused to honor it then said go ahead ea, he would have to contact his boss. We ate three nights then he said we would have to pay for all dinners. We no longer ate there. When I went to pay the manager was empathetic about my paying but could not find any tickets. (The staff had seen my receipt). Please be sure that they honor what they advertise. Also nothing in the advertisement said nothing about all the stairs. There were 2 handicap people in our party. This was not the vacation we had hoped for.