Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, good food and drinks, beautiful scenery, beach on the grounds
Cons: room conditions especially bathroom upgrade, eliminate timeshare pitch, more food variety
Location: Located right on the beach and close to many excursions. We went on the Blue River, Vandara, and Palo Verde tours.
The hotel is quite lovely with good facilities. We were happy to have a room close to the main building though as many were quite far and up hill and stairs. The pool was nice but not amazing. There were always lots of activities going on like pool volleyball and ping pong which was entertaining. The beach was lovely but not fantastic. Great snorkelling and wildlife nearby. We recommend the sunset walk. Tour companies are right in the hotel which made booking excursions easy. We recommend the Tam company. The room was clean and the maid staff were excellent, however the rooms could use some updating. But we were glad the air conditioning worked well. The food was better than expected although it did get a bit monotonous by the end of the week. The special restaurants were a nice change of pace but small portions. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. We sat through a "special welcome breakfast" which was really a three hour sales pitch on the time share but we received a discount on tours for participating. All things considered would stay there again for sure.
Comment from EPC
Aug 29, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, EPC
Dear Kathleen, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience. We are happy to hear you had a very pleasant stay and are grateful for all your comments that will prove to be a great help to future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you and we do hope to welcome you back to Occidental Grand Papagayo soon. Kind regards and best wishes from us all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Good Value

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: The location was pretty nice. There is an actual gym that you could work out in instead of just a treadmill. It was a good value for the money.
Cons: The food and time share presentations.
Location: We only did excursions, since it was all-inclusive.
The hotel is pretty. They are in the middle of updating it. They offer a lot of "extras." The food is mediocre at best. You only get to eat at the a la carte restaurants a few times during your stay, so lots of buffet food. I will say that they usually have made to order omelets and pasta stations at night.
Comment from EPC
Aug 17, 2015 by Lynda A., EPC
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We`re happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding the Buffet and are currently revising and modifying this area in order to improve this service to all our guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back here with us. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team here at Occidental Grand Papagayo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

All inclusive my foot.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
We've stayed at a number of all inclusive resorts, this one is probably the worst. The selection at the only buffet is extremely limited. There was no variety in the 7 days we were there. The room beverages are very limited and though there is a mini fridge it never gets cold. Also there is no ice available to take to the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear E & L, Your feedback is important to us here at Occidental Hotel Grand Papagayo. We regret that you felt the variety of food did not meet your expectations and that we didn`t have the chance to speak with you regarding this while you were here. We strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes. Our Chef is always available to cater to our guests needs and we welcome feedback and suggestions from our guests in resort as to what other dishes they would like to see on offer in our buffet so that we may continue to provide our guests with an enjoyable dining experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we do hope we have an opportunity in the future to provide you with the vacation experience so many of our guests have come to enjoy. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Nice hotel close to beach Never on time for reservations or appointments Far from most places, have to take a taxi or stay at the resort Beautiful facility, not the cleanest
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated. We continually look for ideas to improve our service to our esteemed guests at Occidental Hotel Grand Papagayo and exceed expectations wherever possible. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel with beach access

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Beach access and local wildlife on hotel grounds. Staff was quick to respond to guest needs. You can call a tram if you don't want to walk. Strict dress code for certain restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Kristin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed the flora and fauna of our natural surroundings and the intimacy and friendliness of our Adults Only concept. It`s great to see that our staff contributed so much to your stay and I`ll be sure to pass along your comments to my colleagues. It was our pleasure to be your host throughout your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Got to go there!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: It's welcoming nature and the staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Had a hire car so visited different beaches in the area. You can organise most things from golf to fishing to day trip to Nicaurauga.
One of the best hotels i've ever stayed in and believe me i've stayed in a lot! I stayed in one of the Royal Club rooms, the room was a nice size with fantastic views. Small hotel but with great facilities for a hotel its size. The staff are fantastic, you get to be an first name terms with a lot of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Lynda A Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay, our installations and service. It`s great to see that our staff contributed so much to your stay and I`ll be sure to pass along your comments to my colleagues. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

apathetic front desk staff, non functioning room

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: chef for pasta night and the water sports instructor
Cons: everything else
Location: jump in the beach.
The front desk staff is the worst. We arrived at noon, and instead of helping us with the bags, they were too busy texting. After signing the documents, we asked for the wifi password, they pointed us to guest services. Guest Services was closed till 1, after which time the guy walked us back to the front desk to give us the password. Next, the Wifi is super slow (when it works), Occidental hotel is keen to upsell on premium internet. After we get to our room, there is power outage. The front desk tells us power should be restored soon, but after two hours, we go back to ask about the status. At this point, the story changes, that the power should be restored within two more hours. When we ask about the contingency, we are told that we can get a non ocean front room with AC, or sleep in our non airconditioned room that does not have power. The desk agent was dismissive of our concerns. Fortunately, the power returned when we got back to the room, but then the telephone stopped working. At this point we did not feel like making the trek back to the front desk to complain. The next day, the room was made, but the maid did not put any hand towels. Since the telephone did not work, we had to flag down a maid to request the towels. The night before, we told the front desk that we would be checking out early morning, and we were assured that someone would be there. Of course, the desk was un-manned when we went, and we had to wait ten minutes, delaying our departure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2015 by Lynda W, Hotel Management
Dear Axay, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent vacation in Occidental Grand Papagayo. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve the amenities and services we offer to all our guests and we were concerned and surprised to read your comments regarding the way you were treated by staff. We pride ourselves on providing excellent, friendly service to all our guests as many reviews contest to and we take this matter very seriously. Unfortunately the hotel was victim to a power outage that was due to an external breakdown in the local area. After contacting the electricity company we were originally informed by them that this would be resolved within two hours. Unfortunately this was not the case and we were victim to a further two hours without main power relying on backup generators. My colleague in Reception offered you a room in another building that had a more powerful back up generator which allowed fully operational Air Conditioning in the rooms. Her intention was to make you more comfortable during the night when the view from the room was not so important. We were confident that the breakdown would be solved during that same night and you would be to return to an Ocean View Room in the morning. Unfortunately due to the power outage other facilities in the area were affected, for example telephone and internet communications. We had to await technicians from these providers to restore service. I can assure you that it was not her intention to be dismissive and we truly apologize if it seemed that way. We regret that you had to wait for ten minutes for our Night Receptionist while he was called to attend another guest`s room. We are very sorry that you experienced these issues during your two night stay with us and while we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We do hope that we may be granted another opportunity in the future to provide you with the vacation experience so many of our guests have come to enjoy. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not directly on the beach but just a short walk.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel needs to be updated. The staff is awesome and very friendly. .They work very hard to make sure their guests are well taken care of. Great location but please update it... they need better variation for breakfast .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Lynda A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is precisely from valuable feedback like yours that we learn where we can improve our facilities and services for our future guests. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming back in the future. Kind regards from all the team at Occidental Grand Papagayo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel but to many outages

Posted Jun 5, 2015
When we first get here. To many people trying to sell you an excursion. Then when we finally get to our room it hot. The maintence people had to come and fix it which was not that great. Also the showers were not that clean mold is growing in the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will investigate and take measures to rectify the areas you have mentioned. We do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with the vacation experience you deserve. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach FL

Excellent Resort

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The quality of the food and drink, both top notch. The staff is great from the general manager to the bus girls and guys. The room was perfect.
Cons: Some different entertainment in the evenings. Only had a great local singer one night, more local entertainment would be nice.
Location: Palo Verde National Park with river boat ride, see monkeys, iguanas, crocs (not shoes), birds, have lunch included. Coco Beach, sunset cruise.
The resort is close to a beach but you have to know the tides as high tide covers the beach, the resort gives you a tide schedule. Be in shape as the resort is on a hill side and there can be walking involved.They have a shuttle to take you where ever you want, we liked walking. The food was some of the best we have had at an all inclusive resort. The buffet was excellent, lots of choices and lots of Costa Rican food, which is very good. The other restaurants are Italian and Oriental. Both are very good. Remember you are in Costa Rica and their version of these types of restaurants might not be the same as yours, but the food is darn good! The staff are top notch, and will get you whatever you need or want, the drinks flow freely and you can snack as much as you want all day at the pool restaurant. The pool is nice, small but designed well. We relaxed, ate, drank, danced, loved! What else do you need!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and experienced and appreciated all the flora and fauna in our natural surroundings. We are grateful for your comments and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we hope to welcome you back here with us in the near future. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team here at Occidental Grand Papagayo.