Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The staff especially were wonderful, Adelia, Patricia, Alyssa, Bryan and Steven to name a few.
Cons: Your rules about smoking, need to be consistent. We signed a paper that says smoking was only allowed in one specific area, and I saw people smoking.
Location: Coco Beach
Overall great hotel except when you ran out of coffee and there should have been no reason for it; its Costa Rica afterall
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your sharing your feedback. We are thrilled that you appreciated our staff efforts and customer service. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to my colleagues. We are addressing the issues you have mentioned in order to take corrective action. Thank you for helping us and we do hope we may welcome you back us in the future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent service food could have been better

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: the staff, the grounds were beautiful and kept magnificentthe view and the rooms were perfect
Cons: the food the options of food could have been more
Location: the location was nice unfortunayly we stayed in rm 1503 very far from the main had to call for pickup everytime
staff beyond excellent, food could have been better with more options
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear geegee, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are pleased to read your comments regarding the excellent service you received and we will work harder to improve the variety of dishes we offer our guests. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, the best tool we can have to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back with again in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mikwaukee

Hidden gem

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Location absolutely stunning. A paradise. Great amenities
Cons: Maybe more evening entertainment. The Jazz night in the intimate patio was nice. But other evenings had less to offer.
Location: Booked a 1 day side trip with Nery of CRT on the beach. We experienced 2 beautiful waterfalls, mud bathing inside active volcano, zip lining thru jun
Nestled on side of mountain, jungle all around, overlooking beautiful Papagaya Bay and the surrounding mountains . Quiet, uncrowded, secluded beach. Beautiful , uncrowded pool with activities. This is a smaller resort with all the amenities of a big resort. Friendly, helpful staff, like Patricia at morning buffet and Michael at front desk.. Great food, especially the special dinners,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments regarding your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you've a drinking problem this is the place 2b

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Barcelo ruint our vacation experience in Costa Rica! Be careful on stuff member (his name is roberto) takes with his private cell pictures if you credit card (both sides). I waa quiet schocked to see he did it and he would not delete the pictures though i asked him to do immediately. Service is really bad. The pool area is dirty. I regret that i havent read the commants about barcelo hotels before we booked, because food at the buffet is always the same and dried cooked. They will try not to book you every night on a table of the a la card restaurants, because it costs them more. None of the hotels deserves the stars they have... Hey: this was my vacation! What a got from barcelo is a resentment instead of an nice time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your comments. I believe there exists a grave misunderstanding regarding the use of your credit card. As you know, Roberto, our Guest Service Manager, was helping you to source a dive company that spoke German so you could arrange diving excursions. The Diving Company needed a copy of the card to guarantee the reservation. His cell phone is for company use also. We have a reservations policy in place so that ALL of our guests have an opportunity to this dining experience. We endeavor to offer a varied selection to suit all tastes in our buffets and are always open to feedback while you are here in the hotel in order to give you the best service possible. We regret were not aware of your displeasure during your stay so we could have taken immediate measures to improve your experience with us. We thank you again for your comments and do hope we may have another opportunity in the future to give you the vacation experience that so many of our guests have come to enjoy-
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Very nice hotel on an excellent beach

Posted Dec 20, 2015
We had an amazing stay! There are a lot of things to do and the restaurants that require reservations offer amazing food! The buffet food is just like any other resort but I think travelers get that. Such an amazing time and the staff is awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Mulan, Thank you so much for sharing you recent vacation experience and we appreciate your recognition of our staff. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes over the festive season and the coming year. Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort - 3 day stay

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Food was good.
Cons: Work to clean rooms before 1:30-2:00 pm
Location: Right on La Playa Buena; decent reef and snorkeling.
Staff was extremely polite, nice and helpful; food was great; however, construction all around our room for 3 days; people working garden outside patio early morning; missed a room cleaning one day, no big deal, but then had to wait until 6:15 pm for room to be cleaned the 2nd day, only after asking Guest Services. We would not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments and giving us your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy you stay with us and we are concerned to hear of problems with our housekeeping service. We work extremely hard to provide our guests with an excellent quality of service. Rest assured we are investigating this matter further as to why we failed to meet our usual standards and will take corrective measures to avoid this happening in the future. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We will continue to work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and we do hope we may have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the vacation experience so many of our guests have come to enjoy. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Came back with both legs bitten by mites in bed very itchy had to go to the doctor
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We are very sorry to hear that you have suffered insect bites whilst on vacation. You can rest assured that thankfully the hotel has never had a case of mites in the bed and we do have a thorough weekly fumigation program in place throughout the hotel to ensure the health and hygiene safety of all our Guests and employees. The room you were in is currently occupied by other guests and they have not suffered any similar bites. As part of our standards in our daily cleaning routine, our housekeeping staff are trained to revise bedding and bed mattresses every time they clean a room as a further preventative measure. Being situated in a hot, tropical climate we are home to many different types of insects that are all part of the existing natural ecosystem here in Costa Rica. There are some biting insects that can take up to 12 - 24 hours to flare up. We do hope you make a speedy recovery and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sergio from gdl

horario de restaurante

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
en general bien, solo que me moleste porque no respetan los horarios anunciados de los restaurants, y me mandaron al snack faltando 1/2hora antes de terminar el horario anunciado.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Estimado Don Sergio, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios sobre su estancia con nosotros. Valoramos el tiempo que ha dedicado para dar su opinión por este medio. Estamos investigando la tema de los horarios de los rstaurantes y pronto vamos a tener los horarios anunciados en la entrada de cada restaurante. Esperamos en un futuro poder contar de nuevo con su presencia en esta su casa Occidental Grand Papagayo. Atentamente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jill from South Africa

I would come back in a heartbeat

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Overlooking the sea with a lovely beach. Super friendly staff. Loads of activities if you wish to join in or tours to go on. Excellent food, varied menu daily and lovely fresh salads and fruit. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great value for money. Freshly made cocktails. Lovely pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2015 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. It`s great to see that our staff contributed so much to your stay and we all hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Overall we had a good experience. The staff was amazing. Rooms could've been more up to date but they were fairly comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2015 by Lynda A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated. We continually look for ideas to improve our service to our esteemed guests at Occidental Hotel Grand Papagayo and exceed expectations wherever possible. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.