Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else to stay.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
I'll make this quick and honest. The staff barely acknowledged us. The lights in our room did not work and there was no phone to contact the staff. The room had not been recently cleaned. There were only sheets on the beds. Giant iguanas dominated the pools/hot tub. We left the minute the sun came up and the reception was locked and closed so there was no staff present to check out with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Amazing views. Secluded and very romantic.

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Far walk to the beach. Standard free breakfast. Outdated rooms. Amazing pool overlooking the best view in Costa Rica. Very secluded. You need a car or will have to taxi everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Ocotal beach, picture perfect

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The views were outstanding. Iguanas were very entertaining. Restaurant had great food, but was expensive.
Cons: The property needs a facelift.
Location: We stayed at the resort and didn't go to other locations
We had a great stay. The views were amazing of the ocean. Very relaxing, good food at the restaurant. Rooms are clean but need a few upgrades. Pools are wonderful with great views but pool chairs need repair. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

good vacations and no too expensive.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: the ocean view and the food is good.
Cons: they need to remodel the hotel
Location: there are pretty good beaches around.
is a quiet and beautiful place.if you are looking for something no too luxurious this is it. they need to remodel the reception and the restaurant.asap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Okay a bit rundown hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: It was cheap and close to the beach.
Cons: MAINTENANCE throughout the facility.
Location: There are definitely other things to do there, so if you are not satisfied with the hotel, you can get away and do other stuff.
My wife and I were very excited to stay here. We looked at pictures on Expedia and everything seemed great. Once we got there we were a little disappointed. We read reviews about the maintenance not being taken care of and they are absolutely right. Although its cheap and on the beach, it definitely can use a lot of remodeling; the gym (which was kinda a joke), pools, hot tub, rooms, eating area, and a little other things. We didn't get the room we requested, but they did work with us and we only paid for one night instead of two. I would recommend this hotel to you, but I would definitely say DO NOT HAVE ANY EXPECTATIONS! We went to different beaches around Ocotal, and I would say that Ocotal was the best beach around that area. Although this wasn't our favorite hotel, we made the very best to enjoy it and made sure we had fun.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Needs repairs

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Close to the ocean, We had a bungalow with the pool next to it. The view was great. I liked it when the wind was blowing ( kept the bugs away).
Cons: see above
Location: Take the boat cruse and snorkeling, ( It was on a quit beach!!) There are a lot of restaurants in town, so transportation is a must.
The patio was severely damaged do to erosion. Only one patio door worked. The shower sliding door did not work. The towels where small and rough. The WIFI worked ONLY at the restaurant. Be ready for walking up and down a steep hill (it is on a hillside overlooking the water). The beaches where black sand. Not too many people around. We rented a car, which was worth it. The place could use some updating, so don't expect a 3 or 4 rating on this. Leaves constantly fell into the pool, but someone came by at least once a day to clean the pool.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but needs a lot of maintenance.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Hotel is nice located and staff does their work but needs a lot of maintenance. Ice machine does not work, water is permanently leaking in our bathtub, door key does not work. Had to wait almost 24 hours for our towels. Same breakfast every morning and kitchen and bar dirty floor. Pool bar not working and used dishes on the area for days. Workers do what they can but don't have the tools. Looks like management is not interested in this business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
amazing hotel, awesome views... need more work to keep installations in better shape
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zarcero, Costa Rica

Posted Jul 12, 2015
hotel with great ocean views. rooms are comfortable and breakfast was acceptable. It is unfortunate that apparently the owners have decided to stop investing in improvements and maintenance, you can see a significant degree of neglect in their facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Nice room in front of the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The room, the short distance to the beach, the free breakfast, the view.
Cons: The gym is not there anymore, the tennis court is not well-looked-after. The pools could take some care.
Location: Very close to Playas del Coco, and also around 1 hour drive to other beautiful beaches like Tamarindo, Flamingo, Conchal, Playa Grande and others.
The hotel used to be great, now is not. It looks like maintenance is not a word they know. The gym and the tennis court are in ruins, the pools are not very well-looked-after, however the rooms are still great, just a few steps from the beach. Bungalows with numbers in the 200-206 are closer to the beach and not up the hill, walking up the hill is terrible, you have to do it every mooring for breakfast. The beach is beautiful, just a little small, and lots of local people catching fish makes the place a little unpleasant. The view at the restaurant is the best, beautiful. For dinning and almost everything you want to do, you have to drive to Playas del Coco, just a 5 min drive.