Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Loy from Pasadena, MD.

Stunning views

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Some of the most spectacular views I have ever seen
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else to stay.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
I'll make this quick and honest. The staff barely acknowledged us. The lights in our room did not work and there was no phone to contact the staff. The room had not been recently cleaned. There were only sheets on the beds. Giant iguanas dominated the pools/hot tub. We left the minute the sun came up and the reception was locked and closed so there was no staff present to check out with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Amazing views. Secluded and very romantic.

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Far walk to the beach. Standard free breakfast. Outdated rooms. Amazing pool overlooking the best view in Costa Rica. Very secluded. You need a car or will have to taxi everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Ocotal beach, picture perfect

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The views were outstanding. Iguanas were very entertaining. Restaurant had great food, but was expensive.
Cons: The property needs a facelift.
Location: We stayed at the resort and didn't go to other locations
We had a great stay. The views were amazing of the ocean. Very relaxing, good food at the restaurant. Rooms are clean but need a few upgrades. Pools are wonderful with great views but pool chairs need repair. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Lakshminarayanan from Houston, TX

awesome views...wish it was better maintained

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Views to die for. You will get the best sunset view from the infinity pool here. You have easy access to the beach itself. They have a Jacuzzi and a beach facing tennis court also. I just wish the pools and the entire surrounding is maintained a bit better. The bath tubs were rusty. There were ants on the table. Couple of pools were left uncleansed. The reception is missing people most of the time. No phones in the room so you end up waiting at the reception all the time. For the price, this is still a great place.
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Costa Rica.

Spectacular views peaceful locaton.

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Peaceful and beautiful location. We were only there for one night, but hope to go back again very soon. Helpful and friendly staff. Close to Coco if you should want crowds or other restaurants and services, but away from the noise, hussle and bussle. Great value!
1 out of 5
by Silvia from San Jose

Like 'The Shining' only in summer

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Terrible hotel!! The photos on the site were probably taken years ago, when someone actually took care of the property. No staff anywhere to be seen, decks looked like if you stepped on them, you'd fall, "beach towels" were really way overused hand towels, we did not dare try breakfast. On top of it all, just collected 1 reward night even though we stayed 2.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

good vacations and no too expensive.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: the ocean view and the food is good.
Cons: they need to remodel the hotel
Location: there are pretty good beaches around.
is a quiet and beautiful place.if you are looking for something no too luxurious this is it. they need to remodel the reception and the restaurant.asap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Okay a bit rundown hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: It was cheap and close to the beach.
Cons: MAINTENANCE throughout the facility.
Location: There are definitely other things to do there, so if you are not satisfied with the hotel, you can get away and do other stuff.
My wife and I were very excited to stay here. We looked at pictures on Expedia and everything seemed great. Once we got there we were a little disappointed. We read reviews about the maintenance not being taken care of and they are absolutely right. Although its cheap and on the beach, it definitely can use a lot of remodeling; the gym (which was kinda a joke), pools, hot tub, rooms, eating area, and a little other things. We didn't get the room we requested, but they did work with us and we only paid for one night instead of two. I would recommend this hotel to you, but I would definitely say DO NOT HAVE ANY EXPECTATIONS! We went to different beaches around Ocotal, and I would say that Ocotal was the best beach around that area. Although this wasn't our favorite hotel, we made the very best to enjoy it and made sure we had fun.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Needs repairs

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Close to the ocean, We had a bungalow with the pool next to it. The view was great. I liked it when the wind was blowing ( kept the bugs away).
Cons: see above
Location: Take the boat cruse and snorkeling, ( It was on a quit beach!!) There are a lot of restaurants in town, so transportation is a must.
The patio was severely damaged do to erosion. Only one patio door worked. The shower sliding door did not work. The towels where small and rough. The WIFI worked ONLY at the restaurant. Be ready for walking up and down a steep hill (it is on a hillside overlooking the water). The beaches where black sand. Not too many people around. We rented a car, which was worth it. The place could use some updating, so don't expect a 3 or 4 rating on this. Leaves constantly fell into the pool, but someone came by at least once a day to clean the pool.