Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Time!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Loved the view and the staff
Cons: Would like more choices for dinner at all 4 restaurants
Location: Loved the location! Beautiful!
We had a wonderful stay at this resort. Our view from room 203 was just amazing! Staff is wonderful, friendly and fun. Food was good, but traveling with kids ages 13 & 15 they were only interested in 2 of the 4 restaurants or eating at the bar. Would liked to have had more variety of food at all 4 restaurants. All in all a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Far exceeded expectations. Beautiful location, staff goes above and beyond, food great. Only area in need of attention is the rooms could use some updating. That said, it's more than what we needed and kept very clean. Truly this place is one of the best kept vacation secrets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, USA

Awesome staff made the day at Papagayo Resort

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Neither Expedia nor Hilton informed us it had changed hands and was no longer a Hilton, this caused a log of anguish. Sad it won't be taking kids.
Location: Very secluded, need a car to go anywhere else. Plenty to do at resort. Went SCUBA diving, jetski, fishing, ZIP lining. Best was Monte Verde.
The staff was incredibly nice, great with the kids, they made it a fantastic stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
I was not happy at all with this hotel and the service. I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are old and the A/C is so loud so you cannot turn it on at night. Bottled water is not served anywhere on the resort except your room you have to call room service as only ONE bottle is in your room. The food is average and drinks variety is very limited.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lots for the kids to do.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: So many organized activities for the kids. Dancing, water polo, movies on the beach, mega Jenga, bonfires, etc. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Service and quality of food at restaurants was not great. We paid for room with mini fridge to be filled each day but it was only filled twice.
Location: Volcano, jungle, zip lines, white water rafting, Tamarindo beach, hot springs, snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking. All can be arranged from resort.
Firstly, it is no longer a Hilton. It's owned by a new company that I had not heard of before. Lots of stuff for the kids to do at the resort. They really cater to families. The beach is not great, its located on a bay not the ocean so the water was a bit slimy and just not very comfortable. When we spent the day at the resort we stayed by the pool. There are 4 different restaurants on the grounds. The service was not very good at any of them. The food was ok but not great. The meals we had outside of the resort were much better. We were there in April which is the last month of the dry season. There are 2 seasons in the Guanacaste province, dry and rainy. The rainy season starts in May so when we were there things were very dry. All of the vegetation was brown and we saw several brush fires while driving. In order to get to a lush green area we had to drive about 3 hours each way. We hired a driver through the resort for the excursions. It cost a bit more but well worth it to have a local to show you around. ****There is a twenty-nine dollar per person departure tax that must be paid prior to check-in in with your airline. Websites say that eventually this will be included in the ticket price but at this time. It must be paid in cash.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful hotel, short walk to beach

Posted Apr 5, 2015
We stayed here for our honeymoon for 1 week. The entire resort is beautiful and the view from our balcony was amazing. The beach is well taken care of, the water is clear and there isn't any seaweed. The staff is friendly and fun, they go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is excellent. The food and drinks were also great. The only bad thing for some would be that there are a lot of hills to walk up and down(there are shuttles, but many times it would take them a while to arrive)... For us it was a great way to work off all of the food and drinks we had each day. Wish we could have stayed longer!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Grass Fire evacuation

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The Italian Restaurant was exceptional. It was the highlight of the stay here.
Cons: Customer service was adequate. The whole place is dated and needs a major overhaul.
Location: You need to travel inland toward San Jose and Lake Arenal for excursions.
They had a grass fire on the North side of the property and we were evacuated the second night. We were evacuated after we brought the fire to their attention and noticed that there was a tape across our veranda saying we could not enter. The Hotel was a Hilton and now it is unknown? It's quaint cabin like rooms are ok but I thought the Hotel that we were evacuated to was more to our liking a far better value. It was called the "Mangrove" and was roughly the same cost. My wife and I both travel a lot on cruises, and we have a couple of time shares in Mexico. We are active and enjoy excursions and going for walks and exploring. The level of service was not what we were accustomed to in our other vacations. This area in Liberia is desert. If you want to see tropical rain forest and go to many excursion I would stay inland closer to Lake Arenal by the volcano. Tambor beach on the Nicoya Peninsula has great beaches, great golf and restaruants and many sites to see. I will be staying there on our next trip. This is the true Cost Rica
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potential to be great!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location, staff!
Cons: Needs total over haul!
Location: Not a lot to do outside of the complex without needing to travel
This hotel is in a fantastic location with a work force that bend over backwards to make you welcome and accomodate you the best they can. It isn't easy because the place is very tired and requires a major overhaul and refurb! Guess what? It's about to get it! We learned whilst we were there that it has been sold by Hilton to The Dreams/Secrets chain who will shut the place down for a refit in May. They already have an amazing location with the best staff from the waiters to the cleaners, from the gardeners to the pool man. If they work as hard as they did with a poor hotel this will be something very special when it reopens. Watch out for it and get in quick when it reopens, at the moment planed for November! I just hope the new owners find a way to keep the amazing, dedicated staff. It will be good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax Station, VA

The best hotel near Liberia, Costa Rica

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Architecture and layout Beach Restaurants
Cons: The air conditioning is noisy
Location: It is a 25 minute drive from the airport. there are national parks nearby and zip lining activities
We really enjoyed our stay at Hilton. During our trip, we also stayed at JW Marriott and Westin and they both were ok but Hilton was much butter!! It is a very elegant and pleasant resort, with a relaxing atmosphere and direct beach access. The beach was nr 1 for us for two reasons: it is sandy (no rocks) and vendors do not bother you, like for example at Westin. The staff is very professional and friendly, and all restaurants we visited were great and food was delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an "ok" stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights in transit for our flight home from Liberia. Close proximity to the airport, self parking was nice but no airport transfers so we needed to keep our rental. Found it expensive for what it was, but nestled in a nice bay. I wouldn't recommend it for a week long trip, only 1-2 nights max. Also, it's no longer a Hilton and you can see how the standards may have changed...