Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Webster, NY

Perfection-Wonderful country, resort & vacation

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Everything - food was excellent and NO, the portions were not tiny!! They were appropriate size and everything we had was fantastic.
Cons: Room attendant did not deliver daily activities paper or do the turndown - no biggee overall.
Location: The location is very remote but gorgeous. Plenty of tours to take (see the people on the beach) and if you have a car driving is a piece of cake.
Booked this vacation and was very skeptical given the extremely low price we paid. Was nothing but absolutely delighted. DO NOT listen to any of the reviews which are negative - clearly they are people who will never be happy. Resort is beautiful and very tastefully done. Plenty of poolside chairs and space. They have separate areas for children/families (with games and things for kids to do) and then the adult area which has bars and poolside service. The resort is a bit understaffed due to the very remote location HOWEVER you are on vacation so take a deep breath and relax - you'll get your drink in 5 mins vs 1 minute! Food was fantastic. Very enjoyable vacation and will definitely be back to a Dreams resort again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island n.y

papagayo resort closed during my reservation

Posted Jul 19, 2015
resort was closed (sold) for renovation booking was honored at Dreams Las Mareas which is a beautiful resort all inclusive, my family of four had a great time, only negative is resort location, two hours from airport, and most popular attractions, transportation can get expensive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Naturaleza dentro de la habitación

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
La única observación mala es q en mi habitación encontramos un alacrán en las cortinas y en la habitación de mi hermana había una coral negra venenosa Sin embargo el personal del hotel muy amables posterior a una llamada llegaron inmediatamente a sustraer ambos animales
4 out of 5
by Mauricio from Heredia

Paseo Familiar

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
el hotel se encentra en un lugar hermoso, sin embargo el sistema de alimentación es muy limitado con los restaurantes a la carta. Existen áreas del hotel solo para adultos lo cual no debería ser ya que se paga la tarifa como cualquier otra persona y no se puede usar esa área.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hilton Papagayo - No Such Place?

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: .Employees were great despite the unknown fate they face when this resort shuts down on 5/15.
Cons: Expedia's notification policy about major changes with the resorts they are booking!!!
Location: Too numerous
Despite Expedia's lack of notification we discovered thet Hilton is no longer involved with this resort. Our stay was very nice there despite my apprehention about Hilton no longer being in charge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

if you like nature perfect place to visit

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: clean different entertaiment
Cons: they need a Disco room
Location: Zipline- ATV- volcano - horseback ridding etc
Love the people friendly mostly everyone spoke english if you visit talk to Luis Q
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice small resort close to airport

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The small resort feeling and closeness to the airport.
Cons: Has been purchased and our understanding everything will be built new (rooms did need updating).
Location: Most things are 1-1/2 to 2-1/2 hours away but there are many excursions to choose from, including a boat ride down river, trip to volcano, zip lining
We chose this resort because close to airport and smaller. It has four restaurants so not as many as the larger ones. The rooms are spread out but not a problem as shuttles can take you around if you do not want to walk (there are hills) and most shuttles come right away and even during the busy times you may only wait 5 minutes. All of the hotel staff are so friendly and we could not say enough about them. With all of the guests there were some that would remember you and go out of their way. This hotel has been purchased by Dreams and even though we love Dreams and have used them in the past, we hope they do not totally get rid of the smaller intimate feeling as we understand everything is to be torn down and a whole new resort built. We hope that most of the staff can be retained. There was one bad thing to the trip and that is transportation to and from airport by Grayline and communication as to pickup time for return trip which was experienced by several at our resort and the airport - definitely would not use them again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ch

Séjour en famille avec un enfant de 8 aBs

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Au premier abord on est content d arriver au Papagayo surtout après tant d'heures. On admire la vue splendide que le golf toutes les habitatatons donnent sur la mer. L accueil est expeditif avec un Verre de bienvenue et une lingerie rafraîchissante . Une fois que le la chambre est donné la catastrophe arrive : manque de propreté des chambre un bon coup de rafraîchissement s impose sur l ensemble de l établissement . Douche sale et cassée , impossible d ouvrir les fenêtres , climatisation ne fonctionne pas bien et le frigo vous gâche les nuits . Le club enfants ne respectent pas les horaires et les animations prévus . La restauratuon n'est pas a la hauteur seul la restauration El bodillo du soir est très buen avec des serveurs agréable et chaleureux . Les serveurs du bar vous baillent dessus quand vous commander . Une plage privée qui est pas entretenue plage sale
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey

Amazing Staff...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The staff: Julio, Hector and Aylee were beyond amazing. Such pleasant and humble people. Great personalities and outstanding customer service!!!
Cons: Rooms need updates. Need to fumigate more often bugs in room everywhere. Having to make Dinner reservations in advance or you don't eat dinner was bad
Location: Zip lining, horseback riding ATV excursions.
If it wasn't for the amazing staff our stay would have been miserable. Food was mediocre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Waste of Money

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Since the hotel was sold the service has gone to crap. The food was disgusting at every restaurant. The rooms were outdated, dirty, the wall had holes, the room smelled of pure mold. The staff was at times friendly but you can tell that they know they are going to lose their jobs in a month once the hotel shut downs for renovations.