Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Webster, NY

Perfection-Wonderful country, resort & vacation

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Everything - food was excellent and NO, the portions were not tiny!! They were appropriate size and everything we had was fantastic.
Cons: Room attendant did not deliver daily activities paper or do the turndown - no biggee overall.
Location: The location is very remote but gorgeous. Plenty of tours to take (see the people on the beach) and if you have a car driving is a piece of cake.
Booked this vacation and was very skeptical given the extremely low price we paid. Was nothing but absolutely delighted. DO NOT listen to any of the reviews which are negative - clearly they are people who will never be happy. Resort is beautiful and very tastefully done. Plenty of poolside chairs and space. They have separate areas for children/families (with games and things for kids to do) and then the adult area which has bars and poolside service. The resort is a bit understaffed due to the very remote location HOWEVER you are on vacation so take a deep breath and relax - you'll get your drink in 5 mins vs 1 minute! Food was fantastic. Very enjoyable vacation and will definitely be back to a Dreams resort again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island n.y

papagayo resort closed during my reservation

Posted Jul 19, 2015
resort was closed (sold) for renovation booking was honored at Dreams Las Mareas which is a beautiful resort all inclusive, my family of four had a great time, only negative is resort location, two hours from airport, and most popular attractions, transportation can get expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

if you like nature perfect place to visit

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: clean different entertaiment
Cons: they need a Disco room
Location: Zipline- ATV- volcano - horseback ridding etc
Love the people friendly mostly everyone spoke english if you visit talk to Luis Q
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice small resort close to airport

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The small resort feeling and closeness to the airport.
Cons: Has been purchased and our understanding everything will be built new (rooms did need updating).
Location: Most things are 1-1/2 to 2-1/2 hours away but there are many excursions to choose from, including a boat ride down river, trip to volcano, zip lining
We chose this resort because close to airport and smaller. It has four restaurants so not as many as the larger ones. The rooms are spread out but not a problem as shuttles can take you around if you do not want to walk (there are hills) and most shuttles come right away and even during the busy times you may only wait 5 minutes. All of the hotel staff are so friendly and we could not say enough about them. With all of the guests there were some that would remember you and go out of their way. This hotel has been purchased by Dreams and even though we love Dreams and have used them in the past, we hope they do not totally get rid of the smaller intimate feeling as we understand everything is to be torn down and a whole new resort built. We hope that most of the staff can be retained. There was one bad thing to the trip and that is transportation to and from airport by Grayline and communication as to pickup time for return trip which was experienced by several at our resort and the airport - definitely would not use them again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey

Amazing Staff...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The staff: Julio, Hector and Aylee were beyond amazing. Such pleasant and humble people. Great personalities and outstanding customer service!!!
Cons: Rooms need updates. Need to fumigate more often bugs in room everywhere. Having to make Dinner reservations in advance or you don't eat dinner was bad
Location: Zip lining, horseback riding ATV excursions.
If it wasn't for the amazing staff our stay would have been miserable. Food was mediocre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Waste of Money

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Since the hotel was sold the service has gone to crap. The food was disgusting at every restaurant. The rooms were outdated, dirty, the wall had holes, the room smelled of pure mold. The staff was at times friendly but you can tell that they know they are going to lose their jobs in a month once the hotel shut downs for renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Loved the view and the staff
Cons: Would like more choices for dinner at all 4 restaurants
Location: Loved the location! Beautiful!
We had a wonderful stay at this resort. Our view from room 203 was just amazing! Staff is wonderful, friendly and fun. Food was good, but traveling with kids ages 13 & 15 they were only interested in 2 of the 4 restaurants or eating at the bar. Would liked to have had more variety of food at all 4 restaurants. All in all a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Far exceeded expectations. Beautiful location, staff goes above and beyond, food great. Only area in need of attention is the rooms could use some updating. That said, it's more than what we needed and kept very clean. Truly this place is one of the best kept vacation secrets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
I was not happy at all with this hotel and the service. I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are old and the A/C is so loud so you cannot turn it on at night. Bottled water is not served anywhere on the resort except your room you have to call room service as only ONE bottle is in your room. The food is average and drinks variety is very limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lots for the kids to do.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: So many organized activities for the kids. Dancing, water polo, movies on the beach, mega Jenga, bonfires, etc. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Service and quality of food at restaurants was not great. We paid for room with mini fridge to be filled each day but it was only filled twice.
Location: Volcano, jungle, zip lines, white water rafting, Tamarindo beach, hot springs, snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking. All can be arranged from resort.
Firstly, it is no longer a Hilton. It's owned by a new company that I had not heard of before. Lots of stuff for the kids to do at the resort. They really cater to families. The beach is not great, its located on a bay not the ocean so the water was a bit slimy and just not very comfortable. When we spent the day at the resort we stayed by the pool. There are 4 different restaurants on the grounds. The service was not very good at any of them. The food was ok but not great. The meals we had outside of the resort were much better. We were there in April which is the last month of the dry season. There are 2 seasons in the Guanacaste province, dry and rainy. The rainy season starts in May so when we were there things were very dry. All of the vegetation was brown and we saw several brush fires while driving. In order to get to a lush green area we had to drive about 3 hours each way. We hired a driver through the resort for the excursions. It cost a bit more but well worth it to have a local to show you around. ****There is a twenty-nine dollar per person departure tax that must be paid prior to check-in in with your airline. Websites say that eventually this will be included in the ticket price but at this time. It must be paid in cash.