Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas City, TX

Flamingo Chillaxin'

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The ambience of the area. We had the most beautiful view from our balcony.
Cons: Purchase an ice machine for patrons to use.
Location: The beach, the beach, the beach. We call them dives, but local on the beach restaurants are a must to go eat at.
This was our first time to Costa Rica (Playa Flamingo) I traveled with my 27 y.o. daughter. The name for this hotel is confusing as we at first hit Flamingo Beach resort which was way out of our league. The beach is to the right and about 500 yards from the turn. Food is prepared by a chef, which was different. We ate once at the hotel for dinner. Drinks are a bit high-American $8 for 10 ounce. There is open lobby with no A/C, but you don't need it. There are two pools with a swim up bar. There is also a hammock. The beach area is not a place to walk down to as on this side of the peninsula, there is black rock and sand, but no place to set up a chair. All the wait staff are there to help you. We bought local fruit at the fruit stands and the lobby receptionist gave us the names and how to eat them. Parking is minimal-maybe 20 spots. There is no ice on the floors for the room-you have to get it at the bar. There is no coffee pot in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful country people not so great!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The location is beautiful the views are incredible. However, the hotel staff was not very friendly; for the most part they were rude and not welcoming. The room was cleaned everyday but the room had a funny smell to it. So if your ok with mediocre staff who will never go above and beyond to help guest this the place! I personally would not spend my money to return to Costa Rica, because I did notice that being rude and careless with tourist is a pattern throughout the places we went.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Clean and spacious, great ocean view

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Low price, clean and spacious rooms, great staff, good food and reasonable prices, and best ocean view in the area (for about 10 rooms)
Cons: The entrance driveway is in disrepair and needs landscaping. An adjacent vacant lot is an eyesore, which needs to be hidden or landscaped.
Location: Sparsely populated. Within 1/2 mile: clean public beach; 3 good restaurants; amazing vegetarian cafe called Green Spoon (Cuchara Verde); mini-mart.
We really liked this hotel. The room was spacious, the beds were comfy, and the walk-in shower was large. The cleaning staff was thorough. The open-air lobby featured a full bar, dining, and free wi-fi. No wi-fi in the rooms. The food and drink prices were lower than a downtown restaurant in our home town. The food was delicious. Full hot breakfast was free, and for example, for dinner I ate mahi with jumbo shrimp and one drink for 20 bucks. The wait staff were super friendly and helpful. And the best: no hidden fees! We booked and paid Expedia, checked in, filled out a form at the desk, checked out by handing in our key, and received no bill. We just walked out. Pretty sweet! The one downside to this hotel is that it sits halfway up a really steep hill, so if you are not in good physical shape, you will want a rental car. We walked it about 20 times in a week because it's sort of silly to drive 5 blocks to the beach, which has no parking anyway. (Note: renting a car in Costa Rica feels like an act of financial terrorism, full of last-second charges that the travel websites don't tell you about, and which makes you think Costa Rica is the state-equivalent of the mafia. It's not, it's really the fault of the travel websites that hide the fact that you will have to pay hundreds per week in government-mandated insurance, and you'll have to acquiesce to a multi-thousand-dollar hold on your card.)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Nice Hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Second time there and another great visit. Rooms are nice, clean and the staff is very helpful
4 out of 5
by dennis from Michigan

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet. No wifi in room. Lobby only. Long climb back from small beach
4 out of 5
by Juliana from heredia

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Muy bueno sobre todo la ubicación del hotel está en u excelente lugar la atención muy buena
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a decent hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Private beach, food, room with a view.
Cons: Insulate the rooms better. The stairs and hallways noise filters into each room. You can hear people walking up and down stairs, talking, etc.
Location: Playa Flamingo is a must, Lacuchara verde, Lazy Lizard Catamaran Sailing at sunset, beach, site-seeing. Shopping at the plaza.
If you're looking for a quiet get away, do not stay at the Paradise Flamingo. This is really geared more towards families. Also, our room was directly under the lobby... we could hear any chair moving or dish/silverware dropping. The room had an AMAZING view that you probably could not get anywhere else in the area. This hotel also has its own private beach during low tide if you are able to hike up and down several stairs. The staff was great, they were very attentative and aimed to please. We did find that the housekeeping worked better if you tipped everyday. We tipped a few times ($20 each time) out of the week and towards the end of the week we ran out of cash. When we didn't tip, they seemed to not care about cleaning the room. As much as we paid to stay there, I think they should clean the room to their best ability each day. The food at the hotel is great... very fresh seafood and fruit. Overall, I think we had an average experience. I think next time I should book a resort and not a hotel - I think my expectations would've been met then.
1 out of 5
by BILLY from San José

Pésimo alojamiento.

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
La calidad del hotel deja mucho que desear, inicialmente, nos enviaron a la habitación 603 en el subsuelo, lugar al cual debíamos bajar como cinco pisos, por las gradas. La playa que dicen tener es un acantilado y para llegar ahí es necesario bajar alrededor de 600 metros por unas gradas y barandas sumamente empinadas. Este hotel no es apto para la familia ni para nadie. Pésima la comida, excesivamente cara, y las instalaciones no cumplieron nuestras expectativas. La piscina sumamente sucia, no hubo nadie que la limpiara durante nuestra instancia.
3 out of 5
by Jörgen from Båstad

Ett kom si kom sa ställe

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Vi hade ett bra rum som verkade nyrenoverat. Största nackdelen med rummet var att wifi inte fungerar där. Man måste sitta i lobbyn eller restaurangen för att komma åt wifi. Det byggs mycket runt hotellet så man får vara beredd på det störningar som det medför. Vi upplevde också att man hade lite respekt för gästerna där personalen spelade hög musik och väsnas med flytt av möbler på tidiga morgontimmarna före kl 6. Servicen varierade och kunde vara dålig. Charlie höll dock ställningarna och var en klippa. Men det hjälper inte när inte det övriga hänger med. Personalen som städade rummet gjorde också ett mycket bra arbete. Maten på hotellet var riktigt bra om man bortser från frukosten som var en besvikelse. Frukosten saknade nästan alltid något. Te ena dagen och nästa ingen toast för att tredje vara utan korv osv. Hotellområdet isolerat så att det nästa bara finns hotell i närområdet. En liten begränsad butik 300 meter från hotellet. Annars behöver man bil, buss eller taxi om man ska ta sig till något Finns ingen bra badstrand i närheten av hotellet. Nedanför har hotellet en isolerad strand som är rätt häftig. Men vågorna slår långt in på den så det finns inte något ställe att lägga sig på.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis,TN

Not crowded, very relaxing

Posted Mar 24, 2016
If you are not an all inclusive resort traveler, this is a great place to visit! It is a small hotel located on an absolutely beautiful spot. Seems to me it is popular among locals as well. We had a wonderful experience here.. The staff is very helpful, kind and truly watch out for you, so your stay will be pleasant. Check out the Iguanas as well! They like to take walks on the lawn early morning!