Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

big resort

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: comfortable rooms, nice pool, beach
Cons: shuttle system
Location: pool and beach access on site, quick walk to small town next door, cab ride to flamingo and tamarindo with more dining options, activities
Huge resort - needs more food options, have to go to westin or take a cab off site. shuttles need to take you from condos to beach/pool area, your schedule depends on them. Most of staff speak at least good English, didn't have to change $ which made it easy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Luxury Condos in forest overlooking heavenly beach

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Great club house with pool and excellent food. Spacious luxury condos. Heavenly white beach with hot tub water temperatures Very attentive service
Cons: Need a car to get around
Location: Swimming,Snorkeling, bird and other animal watching, spa and gym, Westin Resort adjacent, 20 minute drive to Tamarindo,
Relaxing beach vacation in nice and spacious condo. Heavenly white beach with hot tub water temperatures. Spotted monkeys and did great bird watching
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Westin reserve Conchal

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Lovely white sand and shell beach. Lots of local wildlife in compound.
Cons: Do away with the wrist band branding. Really annoying especially if you leave the property. Stop policy of locking out guests on the last day.
Location: Tamarindo and it's eclectic atmosphere is fun. Brasilito is great for local food and culture at Costa Rican prices.
We booked what was termed a luxury 1 bedroom condo. The reality is it is a studio unit. Not exactly what we thought it would be. The beach is as others say, over 1 kilometer away. Condo users are not allowed onto any part of the Westin Hotel property. At check-in you are made to put on a hospital style bracelet branding you as a condo renter and off property a marked tourist. We really hated the bracelets and immediately cut them off and just carried them about. That drew a few grumbles from the staff but it generally worked out. The one real sour note was being deliberately locked out of our room on our last day while we were at breakfast. We ended up having to drive down to the reception building (not close by) and getting new keys. It is apparently hotel policy to do this to force you to come into reception and give them a firm departure time. The room was nice with a full American style kitchen. The queen sized mattress was lumpy and sagging from age. The local staff were friendly, but unfortunately the Westin's policies are much less so. We will be certain to find another hotel on our next trip to this fabulous country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Good Resort with friendly staff.

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: The décor was nice and landscape of the grounds where beautiful.
Cons: Most of the activities which were provide to me in the brochure were scheduled for a full day. I would like more activity that take less time.
Location: The location was near the beach with lots of stores and shopping not to far away.
I had a great experience at the Reserva Conchal Resort. The staff was friendly and when out of there way to make sure that we had things we requested and to make our stay comfortable. The food was excellent at the Westin Resort which was the location for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I was disappointed because the location did not have the ocean view I expected in my reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cartago, Costa Rica

Luxurious hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The architecture, the gardens, the friendly staff, THE BEACH!!
Cons: Access to the bathtub. Dusting the surfaces a bit better.
Location: The hotel is close to Tamarindo (15 mins) which is filled with nice restaurants and shops.
We booked a beach view room but the consierge said it landed on a garden view room. For that they gave us a $50 voucher applicable in meals. The room was very nice! I did notice a little dust in some surfaces but nothing to worry about. The condo is a bit far from the beach but that is not a problem if you have a car. They also offer a shuttle service for guests. The staff was very friendly and the beach was to die for. There is a bathtub in the bathroom and it may not be as easy for everyone to access. I WILL BE COMING BACK!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SHEMI from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
The property was great and was a great alternative to the all-inclusive Westin on the same property. We were able to purchase an all-inclusive pass for $99/person/day on days we wanted (instead of the entire stay) and that worked out as the same price is booking a Westin room -- except in this case we had a 2 bedroom apartment instead of a hotel room. Great property amenities, A+++ all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Boston

Spectacular view from the condo

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
As with every beach resort in Costa Rica, Reserva Conchal is a 4- or 5-hour drive from San José. If you're not visiting the capital city, it's best to fly into Liberia airport. Reserva Conchal has very pleasant condos scattered around a golf course. An on-call shuttle will take you to the "beach club". I didn't try any of the restaurants, because I was there for a wedding. The breakfast buffet was decent, though not spectacular. The condos themselves were spectacular. Many of the wedding guests discussed how nice it would be to own one of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ana from Buenos aires. Argentina

Paradisiaco y descontraido.

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Una estadía maravillosa en un lugar paradisiaco. Con un gran confort y ambiente muy bien decorado. Todo perfecto:atención,limpieza,buen gusto Precio cómodo. Desayuno en un lugar muy lindo y con una vista imperdible. Excelente para descansar. Cien por ciento recomendable.
2 out of 5
by Lina F.

Poorly Kept Condos in a Beautiful Location

Posted May 26, 2015 on Orbitz
We stayed in two condos here for two nights each, a total of four nights, for my best friend's wedding and both condos had issues. The first was a 3-bedroom, Room 1305, in the Bougainvillea and it did not have hot water and the fans were out of order. When I told the concierge desk, they said, Thank you for your understanding. and that was it. When we moved to our second room, a 2-bedroom, also in the Bougainvillea, the hot water worked but the phone was dead and the wifi was out of order. When I complained to the concierge desk again, they offered to upgrade me to a yet another condo but it was the day of the wedding and we were busy from 2:30 PM - 11:00 PM and we could not manage to pack our suitcases for yet another move. The concierge and manager of rentals, Oliber, who told me he would call me first thing in the morning on our last day to make it up to us never called, was out of the office each time I called (once at 9 AM, once at 11 AM, once at 1 PM). It pretty much felt like he was avoiding me, biding his time until we checked out so that they wouldn't have to do anything special for us. They also have some weird feud going on with the Westin, which is an all-inclusive hotel resort renting land on the same grounds as Reserva Conchal and both groups of staff seemed to be focused on not providing service to the others' guests. On the night of our arrival, a Thursday night, we went to Mitra for their International Buffet and found them closed at 5 PM even though the paper they gave us said they were open from 9 AM - 10 PM. Then we went around the corner to an Italian restaurant who refused to sell us pizza because we weren't wearing the right colored bracelets. We ended up wandering around for another half hour before finding the only restaurant that serves Reserva Conchal guests without a special bracelet. The day after we checked out, and this is after spending thousands of dollars at this place, having a wedding here that brought in over 50 guests, we were lounging on the Conchal Beach outside of the resort and sat on one of their beach chairs and the security guards came out and told us the beach chairs were reserved exclusively for Reserva Conchal guests and asked if we were from the Westin. We ended up having to go into the resort and ask the concierge if we could just sit in a beach chair considering the fact that we just had a wedding here the day before. It was crazy the level of stinginess for a resort that we were paying a month's worth of rent to stay in for four days without hot water, phone, or internet. If we had been paying $11/night at the hostel in Playa Brasilito, then maybe I'd understand and overlook some of these basic amenities...but this was beyond the pail. I will never return to this resort and will tell everyone I know to avoid the terrible service and poor upkeep of these condos. I've rented far better apartments, condos, and hotels for far less money and the service was much better.