Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet beach town

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach
Cons: The shower
We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located steps from a beautiful beach that is really popular with surfers. This being said, the beach was not crowded at all and it was great to sit an watch the surfers while enjoying the lovely setting. Our room was a standard room with a queen sized bed and a twin (room #2). We didn't use the twin bed, so can't speak to that one. The queen bed was a little firm for my taste, but not too bad. The main problem with the room was the shower. There was very little water pressure on a good day, and absolutely no water came out on several occasions. There is a restaurant right above the standard rooms, but they are great about shutting things down and getting really quiet at 9:00 every night. We never had trouble with noise. I didn't participate in the yoga classes but it looked like a pleasant activity. If you are looking for a place with a lot of activity, this isn't it. This hotel is in a quiet, small beach "town" and is great for relaxing and enjoying the quiet. Be aware that the beach closes at 6:00 each night in order to protect nesting turtles. This is a bummer, but the turtles are worth it. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. We really enjoyed this hotel and always felt safe and well cared for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Food was great, staff was friendly. Super close to the beach. Bed was a little hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Great little hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: the fact that its a smaller hotel -
Cons: maybe a gym even though they had yoga which was great - everything else perfect!
Location: its more of a village setting which we enjoyed but we did have a car so took couple day trips - one to Tamarindo which was a mistake .
Just got back from Costa Rica and the Rip Jack last week - we had a wonderful time Hotel is perfect for a nice relaxing vacation away from all the malls and stress of the Christmas season in the USA - this was our 4th trip to CR- first to the Rip Jack - definitely would return - staff extremely friendly, great food, great weather, wonderful sunsets - what more do you need!!! our 18 year old son surfed every morning/evening - loved the hammocks all around the hotel. thanks for a wonderful time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice place to go for a quiet vacation.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly and inviting. The staff and other guest created a great community atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle.
Cons: The noise from the kitchen being cleaned.
Location: I recommend the day excursive to one of the volcanoes and hot springs. We went to Cañon de la Vieja for an all day trip that was phenomenal.
Rip Jack was a nice, cleanly place to stay while in Playa Grande. It caters to the surfer and naturalist community, while creating a family friendly atmosphere. Surrounded by nature, and only 100 yards or so from the beach, you will find plenty of tranquil spaces to be alone. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We looked forward to seeing Eric (restaurant waiter) each day for Happy Hour. The one down side (and reason for the 3.5 rating) is that our room was under the restaurant. Around 9:30-10:00 each night, we got to hear the clatter and banging of pots, pans, dishes, as well as the constant swoosh sound from a water hose as they cleaned the kitchen. I have a feeling if we had been in a different room, the overall rating would have been higher. People also would sit at the table outside our at night, which really didn't disturb us, except that they would leave a mess that was there the next morning. I'm not sure what could be done to reduce the sound issue. Perhaps an acoustic ceiling for that room would help some. Still, we would go back (and ask for a different room.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Active Getaway

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
A perfect relax and excercise hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

Terrific quality/price ratio

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Two minute walk from a fabulous beech. Has a great restaurant on site and the price is reasonable. Staff is great too. Loved it.
5 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shawn from Palm Springs, CA

Great stay!

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
I only stayed one night during a short visit to Tamarindo. The staff is super friendly and the hotel is of great quality. The two pools were refreshing and beach access is a very short walk away. The other reviews regarding the rooms under the restaurant are accurate. My only issue was the water being turned off. The sign in the room explained the situation and it really wasn't a big deal. However a schedule or heads up would have been appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel for its awesome staff, relaxing environment, and tasty restaurant and bar.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels