Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for surfers and regular tourists

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The food, the rooms and the location. Good for groups and families travelling with kids (pre-teen and teenagers).
Location: Not touristy at all. It seems to be a magnet place for surfers and yogis but we were just there to relax and still fit right in.
The restaurant at the hotel is just amazing, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location is perfect if you don't need to be in a total tourist spot like Tamarindo. Best to have a car to get around but there are bikes and cabs if you don't have a car. Amazing little restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis/St Paul

Laid back hotel by a surfing beach

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Quiet, laid back place with a restaurant/bar. WiFi spotty. Two pools. Off the beaten path by a surfing beach. No close stores. Next to Mahares? hotel....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Agen 47

hôtel accueuillant , proche de la plage ,

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Son cadre et sa situation
Cons: La signalétique d' accès à l'hôtel : inexistante .
Location: Quartier calme , hôtel a 100 m de la plage . Possibilité avec guide mandaté par l'hôtel de voir les tortues ( pontes ou éclosion )
Hôtel , calme ,situé dans un joli cadre proche de la plage ( 100 m)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice hotel just steps away from the beach!

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Friendly environment! Hotel staff excellent m, very tentative!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: The food in the restaurant was GREAT! And so were the Mango Jalapeño Margaritas! Pools and grounds were nice and short walk to beach.
Cons: The water supply needs improvement. Water was shut down from 1-4pm and 11pm - 5am so no water for showers or toilet!
Location: Hotel is not in a crowded area so was nice and peaceful. Great location for surfing in am and pm. Marine park close-turtles come and lay eggs at night
The hotel was nice and the staff was very friendly and outgoing to meet your needs. Rooms were comfortable and liked the natural hair products provided in the shower. Unfortunately, our room did not include a mini fridge which was a surprise. There were 2 pools which were nice and refreshing and hammocks for relaxing around the grounds. They offered Yoga classes every morning and had nice studio for that. The only bummer about hotel is the water supply due to the drought.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Good hotel with great beach access

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Great beach access, nice rooms. helpful, friendly American staff. Only complaint is terrible water pressure in shower and food /drinks expensive.
3 out of 5
by Scott from California

Highs and lows

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived here on our first day of our vacation in CR. The location was quite nice and grounds were nicely maintained (although construction is ongoing). The room was small with virtually no closet space except for a small standing dresser. The bathroom was very little (maybe 1 step from sink to toilet to shower). We would get whiffs of a funny smell from the bathroom (like sewer was backing up or something). The water pressure was so low and the temperature shifted hot to cold within mins before you can get the soak washed off. I think we had to take a few cold showers but since it was so hot outside we managed to do it quickly... The positives: room was clean, hotel restaurant was surprisingly very good, lots of monkeys & birds around, and beautiful clean beaches.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winchester, UK

Heaven on Playa Grande!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: Honestly can't think of anything!
Location: Amazingly beautiful location set in a surfers paradise!
We didn't really know what to expect from the hotel but what we were met with was probably as close to heaven as you can get. The hotel was wonderful - great location so close to the beach and fantastic facilities. The hotel staff were amazing! Everyone was so so welcoming and helpful! The food and cocktails were delicious!
5 out of 5
by Ray

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Edward from Calgary, Canada

Ripjack Inn close to very good surfing

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
We only spent one night and a full day at the RipJack hotel on our way back to Liberia. The staff were friendly and the place was clean. We stayed in room #9 on the main level. The room was facing the courtyard and had ceiling to floor windows and sliding glass doors and felt a bit like we were in a fish bowl as other guests walked by. The beach is a short 5 minute walk and is very good for surfing. There is not a lot happening in Playa Grande and it is a 25 minute drive to Tamarindo. If you want a quiet place to hang at the beach, this is it.