Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

Terrific quality/price ratio

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Two minute walk from a fabulous beech. Has a great restaurant on site and the price is reasonable. Staff is great too. Loved it.
4 out of 5
by Shawn from Palm Springs, CA

Great stay!

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
I only stayed one night during a short visit to Tamarindo. The staff is super friendly and the hotel is of great quality. The two pools were refreshing and beach access is a very short walk away. The other reviews regarding the rooms under the restaurant are accurate. My only issue was the water being turned off. The sign in the room explained the situation and it really wasn't a big deal. However a schedule or heads up would have been appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel for its awesome staff, relaxing environment, and tasty restaurant and bar.
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We love it!

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
We love the Rip Jack! We first stayed there about 10 years ago and it's changed a lot. There are more rooms, 2 pools and a yoga studio. The restaurant is great and the staff are friendly. It's more American prices but that was ok. We knew from previous experience to request a room not under the restaurant, which we did but ended up under the restaurant. So, know that it's going to be loud in your room until they are done getting thngs cleaned up at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Convenient location, very nicely kept up.

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great air conditioning. Convenient to beach.
Cons: Include breakfast.
Location: Tamarindo is nearby, so if you are wanting a little more selection in restaurants head over there.
About the only bad thing I have to say about this place is that I wish breakfast was included and that it was served before 8am. With that said, it was a very nice comfortable place to stay. The restaurant was good, but a bit pricey, especially for breakfast. Yoga was a nice touch, but they should make it clear that it is extra and not included in your stay. The beach access is right across from the hotel and it is a really nice section of beach.
5 out of 5
by marie

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great relaxing stay..our only flaw would be the food from the restaurant was overly seasoned & greasy...not like the simple clean fresh food we experienced the 2 weeks prior when exploring the Nicoya peninsula ....staff was very helpful & friendly overall
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for surfers and regular tourists

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The food, the rooms and the location. Good for groups and families travelling with kids (pre-teen and teenagers).
Location: Not touristy at all. It seems to be a magnet place for surfers and yogis but we were just there to relax and still fit right in.
The restaurant at the hotel is just amazing, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location is perfect if you don't need to be in a total tourist spot like Tamarindo. Best to have a car to get around but there are bikes and cabs if you don't have a car. Amazing little restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
by audrey from CA

Great spot!

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff! Great restaurant! Yoga classes on site! Lovely beach!
5 out of 5
by steve

Comfortable and top location

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights. Great location being only 50 meters to beach. Room was very comfortable (deluxe room). Effective aircon with a bar fridge and TV. Only a couple of English speaking channels which was a surprise given the number of American tourists. Two pools while not big did the job. Restaurant had great service and fresh food. Happy hour was from 4-6 pm every night. Reception of resort were helpful plus they had free coffee all day which was a bonus.