Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2016
No tv in room and bathroom could use updating. I only had hot water the 1st night but the other 3 days water was cold.
5 out of 5
by Salvatore from New Jersey

Great stay recommend

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great time very nice and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not bad...

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Heres the deal, i booked this hotel ONLY because it had direct beach access for the two nights i was staying here. The trip advisor photos had me cringing about what kind of room i would get...but direct beach access was more important. Was i surprised! Since i booked just a room and not a whole villa, i was placed in a block of just rooms which were brand spanking new. This changed my entire experience. I was pleasantly surprised and apart from having to request soap, which they brought in a reasonable amount of time and a public space they were renovating in the lobby that they didnt close off, i really cannot say anything bad about this place. Breakfast was good both days and staff was professional and friendly, as they should be. Will stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They lied to me

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service need to be improved
Location: Far from the airport
Nothing to do there, looks dated pretty beach but no activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Nice resort with every amenity on a beautiful beach. I would return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Beach 9/10 Room 8/10 Service 7/10 Food 6/10 If you are looking for a nice place beachfront just as a hub to roaming around this your place, if you are expecting good food and drinks you will be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love Costa Rica but not this hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: We saw rooms that had been renovated and they were well done. The pool was nice.
Cons: Better service from the staff. Better maintenance of the property and beach. Very little choice at the buffet.
Location: Great location near town that has excellent restaraunts.
One bedroom ocean villa was so far away from the ocean. When I asked about king size bed they said they don't give those villas to Expedia guests. No air conditioning in main room, no television, and bedroom had a double bed and a twin bed. We refused to stay in it and the manager allowed us to keep the deluxe suite we had been in and gave us dinner. We had to remind them every night because they charged us for it. Service didn't exist in the dining room. Waiters were there it seemed just to clear away dirty dishes. Maid service was also hit and miss. We requested more coffee because we are not drinkers and never got any.
2 out of 5
by kevin from port moody canada

loud ticos

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
a complex of 4-plex housing,depending on location and time of year ,can get be loud. If not all inclusive, meals cost $30, or you can drive into Samara.
2 out of 5
by Donald from Miami

Believe the Ratings

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful property on a beautiful beach. Nice villas, nice pool, nice grounds. No service, lousy restaurant. When I checked in I asked for help with luggage as it was approx 150 meters to the villa from the parking lot. No one available. No cart, no suggestion. Asked about room service. Said no, go ask restaurant. They took order and said they would deliver. An hour later I came back to find it sitting on the counter cold. No apology. This time they said they don't deliver, but asked if I wanted to reserve table for dinner. Yes, for a lousy buffet you have to reserve a place. And they wanted me to wear one of those wrist bands all weekend like they were an amusement park. Really a shame. Lots of potential. Obviously lousy management. All wasn't lost as I had a wonderful deep tissue massage from A_____. Believe the ratings not the pictures. Go to one of the many other hotels and some very good restaurants in Samara, but not here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

On of the best weekends of my life.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The beach, the food, the pool.
Location: I totally recommend visiting Carrillo Beach. Is like 10 minutes from Samara.
I was planning a tour with my partner for a long time ago so we were very excited about this trip. The last time I went to Samara was almost like 3 years ago and I was shocked about how different is now. The hotel is super close to this nice and low-crowed beach. The pool was also great and don't get me started on the rooms. They were clean and met our criteria. The cozy restaurant, the tasty food and the lovely company really made our weekend one of the best.