Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Sep 4, 2016
There is no room service you can't get any food or drinks after 10pm everything is closed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Highly Recommended

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The people, the location, the tranquility!
Cons: Diversity of the food
I was looking for a hotel where I could go and relax and rest. That's exactly what I got. Nothing out of this world fancy but exactly what I needed. Excellent staff with the most amazing people you can meet. I loved it. I stay for 9 days and I would go back. My only suggestion would be on the food. Great testing but very repetitive, perhaps not gear for someone staying for a week. Best virgin pina coladas in the world!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose CR

Vacaciones maravillosas

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Cumplió con más de nuestras expectativas Todo fue maravilloso!! La comida abundante y deliciosa los cócteles exquisitos👏🏻🌹el personal tuvo una atención muy profesional Recomiendo visiten este magnífico destino He viajado mucho y visitado muchos hoteles y el hotel Villa Samara está a un alto nivel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced, poor service and contempt.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Hello, When we got there they said that breakfast would be $30 per person, per day extra ! Times that by 3 adults for 5 nights that equals US$ 450.00! I said 'thats a lot', so they said US$25 each. They wouldnt move from this so we went into the town each day instead, and got a nicer breakfast for about $8 each. We stayed in 5 hotels during our visit to Costa Rica and this was in fact the most expensive, but it was no where near as good as the others. All the others were not only cheaper, friendlier and much nicer but they also included a nice breakfast of fresh fruit and a choice of hot food. The breakfast at Villas Playa Samara Beach Front Resort didnt look very nice anyway, and nor did the dinner, as it was just 'mass catered' help yourself buffet. Our room was plain, dark and ordinary, almost cell like, with no outlook. The bin didnt have a lid on it - in a country where this is where you have to put ALL the used toilet tissue! We asked if we could move but, throughout the whole stay, the staff were unsmiling and unhelpful and wernt bothered. The hotel complex, itself, wasnt that special. Just because its behind a big gate, has a swim up bar and is by the beach dosnt make it good or justify their price and there is much nicer elsewhere for less. Several people around the town say that the owners dont care if you complain, so that is the contempt they have for their customers -once they have taken your money. Treat them as they deserve, dont give them your money and
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Salvatore from New Jersey

took friends to costa rica for 1st time

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
it was great time. pool , beach are great locations aswell as nearby beach carrillo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica heredia

Hotel apto para adultos mayores cerca delmar

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Excelente dosfrute con mimama esposo y suegra. Nos chinearon mucho tanto el personal de carritos recepcion mucamas como el del restaurante.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good value and experience

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Individual villas near beach, breakfast buffet, pool, access to taxi service, on-site excursion vendor, availability of lounge chairs and beach huts
Cons: Reduce the cost of lunch and dinner buffets, we never ate lunch / dinner there because we could take a taxi to town and back for meals at a lower cost
Location: Right on the beach about a mile or two from town of Samara, Wingnuts zipline canopy tours is right down the road (must do this!)
We arrived about 2:45 pm. Our Expedia confirmation said 2:00 pm check in, the desk agent said 3:00. They said they were waiting for housekeeping to finish, and by 3:45 we were in our room (a one-bedroom villa with oceanside view). Regarding the room quality, the reviews I read were accurate regarding air conditioning being installed only in the bedroom. This is true, but the bedroom was very cool and comfortable. The main room only has a ceiling fan but you can open the french doors or use the portable fan to blow cool air from the bedroom into the main room to mitigate the heat a bit. The room does not have a TV or phone, but I didn't come here to watch TV or talk on the phone. Yes, the water in the shower has a tendency to drain slowly, causing a bit of standing water, but the shower basin is wide so it never got deep for us. Wifi is accessible in most places, including our room, which is one of the furthest away from the front desk area. The Internet was slow, but in talking with friends of ours who live in Samara, slow internet is a way of life here. At check-in, they confirmed that full breakfast was included and put black plastic wristbands on us as confirmation. Other reviews complained of limited options, but we were very pleased with the variety and each day offered something different. Options included local fare like Gallo Pinto (beans and rice), plantains, mangoes, papaya, along with traditional foods like eggs, potatoes, cheeses, cold cuts, sausages,
4 out of 5
by Jose

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place, in my case it was perfect for a family vacation, we did not have any need to go outside of the place, we liked that the room has everything needed to cook and eat inside the village, so if you want to cook no need to pay for restaurant food, breakfast was included and beach is beautiful, ocean was quiet and easy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the beach access!

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff was very friendly and accommodating!
Cons: The rooms were not very clean.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and it was very nice. A lot to do in Costa Rica, but this hotel was hours from the Rain Forest and because of it's location (Zone 3), many activities were just not feasible. If we were to go again, we would definitely stay elsewhere.