Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with direct access to beach.

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Beautiful room, beautiful grounds, the beach and the staff.
Cons: Room was a bit too close to nightly entertainment. Quieter room would be a request if I returned.
Location: Very remote location, but ample transport to near by town and great tours offered.
Stay was very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Our room was a little too close to the nightly entertainment so it was louder than I had wanted. Best part -- the warm, welcoming, friendly and extremely accommodating!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a weekend get away.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: It had all of the amenities we could ask for and the staff did a great job accommodating us throughout the trip.
Cons: There wasn't much they hadn't thought of already.
Location: The location is right next to the ocean and an hour or more drive to anything of interest in the forest.
We had a good time and will probably return in the future. We went on a canopy tour, river tour, horseback riding and spent some time in the hot springs.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

nice place

Posted Nov 17, 2015
nice hotel, clean room, beautiful beach, hard working staff.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time!

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Everything was great we really enjoyed the royal beach club service.
Cons: One thing I would like to see changed is the pool hours. I feel like 6 is a little early I would not have minded hitting the hot tub up in the evening
Location: Swiss travel also did a great job with our excursions. We had fun surfing, scuba diving, and the pure adrenaline trip was a blast.
My wife and I had a great stay and awesome time at the Westin Playa Conchal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Point, NC

First time to Costa Rica - Westin lacking!

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: It was in Costa Rica and the beach/ocean was beautiful. Unfortunately you couldn't see the beach through the foliage, the view was spectacular.
Cons: All of the outdoor furniture needs to be upgraded. Wait staff needs to be better trained. Different process for dinner reservations.
Location: Husband fished, took a bus ride to Tamarindo Beach.
We reserved a KING sized bed. We checked in and were provided a room with two full sized beds, no mention at check in of the change. We asked for a KING, were told none were available, we could move the following day but were without access to either room on day two for several hours. Housekeeping could not manage to provide us with any washcloths or hand towels, bath towels only. They were lax about replenishing the coffee bar and refrigerator. Could not control the air temperature in the guest room. Poolside furniture was worn, dirty and tattered. Very difficult to make dinner reservations as they instructed, days in advance or you'd be locked out and forced to eat at the main buffet. The extension to call would ring several times and they a busy signal. Annoying to have to sit in the room and continue to attempt to get through to them. Buffet offerings were more American food than Costa Rican food. Waiters seemed confused often and delivered wrong meals to tables, circling to find the right party. Waiters also didn't understand when refilling your glass of Merlot, not acceptable to pour Malbec. Seemed there were only two types of wine, red or white. Interchangeable. Public beach area filled with annoying vendors.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from catalunya

Hotel deluxe

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Servicios: piscina, restaurantes (el italiano el mejoooor de todos), bares. Habitación en perfectas condiciones y muy bonitas.
Cons: El internet wifi tendría que ser abierto (15$/día), pagando lo que pagas de hotel. En muchooos hoteles de CR es gratis y incluso en las habitaciones.
Location: Ubicación muy buena. Carretera accesible perfectamente.
Hotel precioso y estada genial en playa conchal (precioso lugar, según los Ticos y para mí, la mejor de las playas de Guanacaste).
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Loved it!

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Location: Very close to Tamarindo beach, which is a big surf town - great for beginner surfers. Even if you're not a surfer there are plenty of shops, & food.
We absolutely loved the resort, the rooms were great and comfortable. The staff was very nice, helpful, and willing to do anything to make our stay great. The food was by far the best I have had for an inclusive resort. I would highly recommend the Westin resort to anyone!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great experience but just a little remote

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Staff and very relaxing.
Cons: Not all the restaurants were open every night and you had to make reservations well in advance. You should build a restaurant with ocean view.
Very nice place with very friendly staff. a little remote for things to do outside of the resort. Transportation to destinations are a bit pricey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

The experience did not align with our expectations

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The resort grounds are lovely, unexpectedly filled with wildlife (howler monkeys, coatis, parrots, iguanas), and well maintained.
Cons: The service, food, and reservation system. Some how our last night dinner reservation was deleted :(
Location: Playa conchol is a lovely beach created from weathered sea shells (conchol). We surfed, snorkeled and paddle boarded within a 30 min. radius.
I have rated the Westin as disappointing (1 out of 5) because my experience did not align with my expectations given the price and brand. When travelling to Costa Rica, my wife and I typically don't expect to stay in resorts that have perfected the customer experience like those found in the US, Mexico, and other tourist destinations. However, some resorts of Guanacaste province are attempting to claim this stature. Luckily our stay would only be for part of our trip through Costa Rica. Our experience: We arrived to the Westin in the early evening. We were surprised to find out they did not have available the suite we had reserved with a King bed. So we were TOLD we would be put into a room with double beds. At my first polite objection to the situation, the front desk clerk acted like it was no big deal and sort of blew me off. I then reiterated my disappointment and was told without appology that maybe the following day we could be moved to another room if one becomes available.The next day I had to initiate a room change. The room change was hassle because we basically didn't have a room from 10:00am until after 3:00pm at check-in. Be aware on your first day of arrival, you will be limited to room service (cafeteria quality, i.e. crunchy rice) for dinner. All dinner places are reservation required and they fill up fast, even though they are not packed at dinner time. The restaurant service is TERRIBLE. We often placed orders that were forgotten and much worse
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2015 by Westin Playa Conchal, Hotel Management
Dear D., Thanks for your feedback. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the wildlife and beautiful nature of our resort, yet, we regret to hear about your experience during your check in and with Food and Beverages quality and service. We're always working to give our guests a memorable experience and we regret to hear that we did not achieve this with you. Appreciate your constructive comments and we offer you an apologize for these inconveniences that, as you may see in other reviews, are not usual in our resort. The next time you visit Costa Rica, hope you give us the opportunity to be at your service again and offer you a renewal experience. Best regards.
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Beautiful resort with beach access.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The beds were super comfy.
Cons: A little more clarity in English writing about the restaurants on a card in the room would have been nice.
Location: The location was nice for us. We weren't planning on traveling anymore once we got there.
The resort had tons of lizards, monkeys and other animals that looked like a mix between a racoon and an ant eater. It was so cool to walk around the resort and see the animals. They had free snorkeling which was our favorite. There were several restaurants on the resort but we ended up eating the buffet every night. I like my food plain jane. ;) Everyone that we met did say the food was amazing in all the restaurants. We also did one of the adventures....the extreme zip lining. Talk about a rush. The tarzan swing was so much fun. We didn't bring our kids but this was definitely a kid friendly resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2015 by Westin Playa Conchal, Hotel Management
Dear Corey, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you had a great vacation and enjoyed the culinary offer and the beautiful wildlife of our resort. Hope to have you back soon! Warm regards from Costa Rica.