Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayden Lake, ID

beautiful new facility built in traditional style

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, beautifully appointed and wonderful breakfasts.
Cons: An elevator would be nice, especially for older patrons. There is a lot of climbing in San Miguel Allende and the same is true of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is on the edge of the historic district and one can walk the cobblestone streets in almost any direction and discover beauty.
B&B on the edge of the historic district of San Miguel Allende. One can walk down the cobble stone streets into the center of the city. Be prepared for the "verticality" of the city. We had wanted to visit this UNESCO Historic site for some time and were not disappointed! My wife and I have had the good fortune to travel a great deal and this is one of the most beautiful cities we have visited. The hotel is clean, well appointed and the breakfasts re excellent. Wonderful view from the roof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, CA

Wonderful San Miguel Getaway!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: The location is just up the hill from the center of San Miguel de Allende with a wonderful view of the city.
The Antigua Capilla B&B was a real treasure! The rooms and grounds were lovely, and the breakfasts were delicious. Each day we enjoyed fresh fruit salad with homemade yogurt and granola followed by a wonderful breakfast entree such as chiliquiles, French toast, or breakfast quiche. My husband and I enjoyed relaxing both in the courtyard patio listening to the water fountain and on the rooftop terrace overlooking the many church steeples of San Miguel. The friendly owners, Francisco and Antonieta, anticipated our every need, including the arrangement for our airport transfers. We are already planning our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Absolutely beautiful hotel overlooking San Miguel.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Wonderful restaurants, shops, walking tours, tours to neighboring towns etc
A most beautiful hotel, with outstanding management by the owners. We stayed a full week without even a minor complaint. View of the city, day or night, is magnificent from the terrace. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a beautiful room. The other guests were all wonderful people. Although walking to town was difficult due to the hill, narrow sidewalks, and cobblestone streets, very cheap and reliable taxi service was always available within ten minutes for trips downtown. The hotel has WiFi and a direct, free telephone line to the US. Hotel offers airport pick-up and return, as well as guided tours to other cities( Guanajuato strongly recommended). The driver is somewhat expensive but well worth the price. We would frankly not recommend having a car in San Miguel. Taxis available everywhere. We would return to the Antigua Capilla in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

On a scale of 1 to 5, I'd give it a 6.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Arrived there a bit tired, but the beauty of the place woke us right up. We were led through a marvelous common area accented with regional artworks, and then through a gorgeous multi-story courtyard with masses of flowers growing far upward along the walls and balconies. (Hummingbird feeders were everywhere, and one of our later joys was watching the little critters feed, or preen themselves in the fountain.) The room we were taken to was fascinating architecturally, with a dome brick ceiling overhead and a level shift up to the bath area making the spacious room feel like a suite. A lovely common seating area was right outside our room with views down over the city. Several guests went there to sit and peacefully read during siesta and other times. But the most beautiful views were from the extensive roof terrace with the whole city laid out beneath. We went there every morning, and more than once at night. Our final evening at the hotel we spent a couple of hours polishing off a bottle of wine while gazing out over the city lights. Truly a magical place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Wonderful !

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The hotel was beautiful! The view was breathtaking.
I had a wonderful time in San Miguel de Allendes. The hotel was great!
5 out of 5
by Jordan

Highly Reccomended

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
San Miguel now has a glut of hotel rooms, B&Bs, both standard and luxury, and rooms and houses available via various websites. you can cut through all those choices and just go here, you will not be disappointed. The B&B was lovely with nice bright rooms, there are a total of 8 so you are not a number but a name one of the Owners greats you by every morning as they help with the breakfast. The lovely breakfast changes every morning (you can always get eggs if you want). The fresh fruit is as fresh as it can be with a variety of local fruits. Make sure and ask for toast so you can try some of the delicious jams. The breakfast is at two large tables so we got to interact with other guest, which was enjoyable. Then there is the view on the rooftop. Once you see that view you know the uphill climb to a nondescript alley and up about 3 flights of stairs to the front door was for a reason, not just to enjoy the B&B but to have that view. Word of caution, if the thought of going uphill or climbing stairs concerns you in the least you may want to rethink going to San Miguel, there are hills throughout on narrow sidewalks and cobble stoned streets. It is not handicapped friend, the city, not the B&B with a handicap ramp from the garage to them main level where they have lovely rooms, has minimal, handicap ramping and maneuvering with a walker or rollator would be difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place uphill from downtown

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Great location up on a hill with a wonderful view!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel is very beautiful, decorated with tons of beautiful Mexican arts and crafts. Our room was near a little patio with a fantastic view of San Miguel. The bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel has Apple TV with tons a great movies. The bathroom was very nice, and had a long, deep bathtub. I would definitely stay here again. Only one warning: the hotel is about 4 blocks up a very steep hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mx

Beautiful

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Small hotel use to be a big house, with a chapel from the XVII century Breakfast is delicious They make you feel like at home all day long 7 min walk from downtown
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels