Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Macomb, Michigan

Not ideal 4 business travelers, great 4 vacations

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Nice rooms, amenities, and things to do.
Cons: Trouble getting a taxi.
Location: The location is a little bit isolated, and I didn't have a car, so I don't know if there is anything nearby.
Outdoor pools, tennis courts, workout equipment, bikes to ride, a spa . . . this is great place for a little vacation when the weather is good . . . but, I was there for 1 night on a business trip, and it was chilly. Suggestion, it is kind of isolated, so have your own car. It's a 10 minute drive from the main highway ( 15 from the airport ), which means it is a 10 minute drive from anything. I had a very hard time getting a taxi, and I almost missed my flight. Other than that issue, I enjoyed staying there. I recommend it for a couple trying to get away and relax, or for a little family vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not bad, not great

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Stunning views, friendly and attentive staff, hot springs
Cons: Bedbugs, facilities that need renovating, hotel is not handicapped-friendly. Pesky time-share vendors.
Location: The resort is located in an isolated and beautiful area in the mountains. It's an oasis of tranquility and it's just about 15 minutes from the airport
Our experience was mixed. Beautiful location, excellent weather (despite the constant evening rain in late August), and the staff are very attentive. The food was also very good and they can even make vegan dishes for you. I suspect that you would have a much better experience if you go off-season and during weekdays, in order to avoid the local crowds, some of which can be rowdy. The facilities are acceptable but the hotel shows its wrinkles. We reserved 3 rooms and one of them had bed bugs (which they immediately took care of by moving us to another room), clogged shower in the second room, and a faulty hairdryer in the third room. In all instances, the staff promptly took care of the problem. In some of the rooms, if you want running hot water you have to run it for 5 or 10 minutes. Also, because the water in the shower is also coming from the hot springs, it is sulfurous and has a smell to it. There are tons of mosquitoes, so keep your room doors and windows closed and make sure you bring inspect repellent. You are going to need it! The place is couple-friendly and would be a perfect getaway. It is also family friendly and they have activities for the kids on weekends. The are several time-share vendors in the lobby and the restaurant. They will bug you once and then leave you alone for the rest of your stay. Why does the hotel have them? Another minor annoyance is that they only give you one key per room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Comanjilla

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Warm pools were great. Next door water park was a blast, though not all slides are open all the time - depending on how many visitors they are expecting, they staff and operate accordingly. The beds had firm mattresses which I like - soft ones give me a sore back. Housekeeping was inconsistent. At move in, there were no towels and no controller for the room AC. Took three calls and two trips to the front desk to sort it out. Each day they cleaned, they left us with two towels for three people in the room. One day they took away the bar soap we had been using but left nothing to replace. Never did get that sorted out in spite of several requests. Food from the restaurant was excellent. The buffet included a great variety of delicious dishes - something for everyone to like.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, mb.

This hotel is overpriced !

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The rooms booked through Expedia are the low category rooms, so if you want to stay in a better room you have to pay $40-50$ dollars in top of what you paid through Expedia, we did pay for it and what a surprise that there was no towels in our room and the duvet covers were full of stains and hair. Gross! The only good thing is the thermal water in the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

distant location

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: quiet,peacefull location and sceanic lots of palm trees and mountains and walkways.
Cons: our room had an old showerhead and mattress was lumpy or hard.I saw a bunch of new mattresses they were in the process of replacing.water has a smell.
Location: remote location, out of the way from city.there is a small waterpark next to it though.
clean hotel ,friendly staff but only one or two workers will know English.Breakfast was better than expected at a good price.whirl pools only run half the time have to ask staff to get them going.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

really quiet place to relax

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very quiet Hotel for relaxation. It needs to be remodeled but I still like it.
3 out of 5
by young

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by carlos from Seattle

A peaceful place to stay...

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
It's a nice and peaceful place to stay. A lot of garden and open spaces very beautiful maintained. Awesome set up. Rooms are very comfortable but bathroom needs some improvements. They have to improve a lot on costumer services at the front desk and at the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by Jose Luis from Leon

some things wrong but corrected right away.

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived and room was ready, got a terrible room due 3 reasons: - light sockets off the wall, hanging - 1 bedlamp not working - terrible smell (i tought was humidity smell) so i reported back and turn air conditioner to take smell out, later found out smell was due bad humidity and moho all over the batroom walls!. called reception again and requested room change, after that, everything was ok, food has improved a lot since my last visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service

Posted Jan 10, 2015
1.bad service. 2.not cleanning 3.Too late check in.