Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Decent Property, Not a Tourist Location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Much to see, but mostly suggest to just wander and enjoy. Check out the Gorky house, museum and ceramics gallery....beautiful and affordable art.
The hotel itself is completely fine....always factoring what you're paying. Friendly staff, and thoughtfully dealt with my lack of Spanish speaking ability. The rooms and overall property is comparable to a mid-price US chain...it's not 5 star, but it's completely fine. Don't expect "heavenly beds", as they are pretty firm. The only thing I'd complain about is the breakfast.....I'm not a breakfast guy, but I was attracted by the wonderful smells from the kitchen....but my bubble was burst by the mediocre quality, and it was WAY over-priced for what they offered and how it tasted. As for location, it's not in the city center and nothing is within walking distance, but it's completely safe, and the town center is only a $3-4 dollar taxi ride away. For this reason the property is completely fine as an alternative to the budget and potentially sketchy small properties in the town center that book for about the same price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Beautiful and cozy hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
They let us check in before the 3 o'clock check in time. Get there around 12 ir lateral snd the y erre fine with it. Allowed outside food and beverages. The beds were extremely comfortable and the restroom was nice. Hope to stay again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cachi from Zamora, Michoacán, Mexico

good for weddings close to there

Posted Dec 18, 2012
Pros: colonial
Cons: leaking on the sink
Location: well located for weddings.
It´s good if you have to be closed this area. For my opinion a little bit old, eventhough it got plasma tv.
2 out of 5
by Victor from Guadalajara, Mx

Noisy rooms

Posted Nov 13, 2012
Pros: The restaurant, in front of Hacienda de la Barrera
Location: Is confused to get there...Far from Downtown
The Hotel is clean and the staff at the restaurant are great and the food is excellent, don´t forget to get the breakfast plan. The really bad thing is that you can hear all I mean ALL the noises outside your door, even someone knocking 10 rooms away.... every step they make, prepare to be aeake all nigth. Very confused to get to your room. across the street there is a Beautifull Hacienda !!
3 out of 5
by Traveller from Mexico City

A hotel with good and very bad features

Posted May 10, 2011
The staff was always very kind and helpful and the breakfast buffet very good, but... they gave us a very noisy room (people checking out at 4 AM carrying their luggage, children yelling at 11 PM just outside our room, etc.). The publicity about very nice gardens is false; they are across the street and they charge US$2.00 per person just to enter. The bathroom had a terrible smell, and the swimming pool was always crowded, because it looks more like a large bath tub. The hotel is located far from downtown, taking a taxi was easy but expensive for Mexican standards. It was cheaper to pay for parking in downtown. But anyway, Guanajuato is a marvelous and safe city, much better now than ten years ago, so it was worth "suffering" during our stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston

It was beautiful

Posted Dec 1, 2009
I had a wonderful vacation in Mision Guanajuato Hotel, I want to repeat that experience as soon as possible; I am going to recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

lovely hotel with swimming pool, parking and internet

Posted Sep 30, 2009
the hotel is a nice hotel with swimming pool and free parking. it is about 5 mins from the centre, i would advise getting a cab even if you have a car, he prking is rather expensive and it is quite east to get lost. even though it is outside of town, there is a lovely casa to visit just next door. restaurant was nice, a little expensive $20 for two but the staff were very flexible (ie you could change items on the menu) and friendly. from just walking around the town i saw many nice hotel in the centre, if you don't have a car(no parking) , you could consider just walking around and find yourself a hotel. very nice local hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mex, DF

Good

Posted May 22, 2008
Good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Very colonial and quiet

Posted Jan 7, 2008
This hotel is 15 min. from the outskirts of Guanajuato, Guanajuato. Transportation is difficult but the shuttle from the hotel into town helps. The hotel is old and not handicapped equipped which was difficult traveling with my older in-laws who got quite a work-out on the stairs. There is hardly any english speaking staff which might make it difficult for non-spanish speakers. We loved the quietness of the hotel and there is only on restaurant on site which might make it difficult for variety. My family would return, but at least we'll be ready for a work-out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

Muy Tranquillo!

Posted Aug 1, 2007
I had seen this wonderful place on a prior visit to the Barra hacienda/museum/gardens across the street, but figured that I couldn't afford it. I got a great rate on Expedia (less than half of the rack rate). I like that it is away from the noise of the town center. It makes it peaceful and quiet, and the hotel provides a free shuttle to town several times a day. The bar/restaurant was great (one of the best Tampequeno platters I had in one month of Mexico travel), and all the staff were very helpful. The designers did a good job of preserving many of the old walls of the historic buildings, while providing a modern comfortable hotel. I would stay here again. Note: this would not be a good place to stay if you had a mobility disability, but few places in this part of Mexico would be.