Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Location: Located near center of town - close to shopping, restaurants. Must see Diego Rivera's house and the Teatro Juarez in the center of town.
Hotel was charming, lots of atmosphere, with 5 star facilities throughout. Wonderful restaurant and great spa with an excellent masseuse. Staff was very helpful providing us with a staff member who took us touring throughout this charming town and even provided a car at no cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Atención a Clientes, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments, it is enriching to know that we have made your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to serving you again. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic luxury escape in Guanajuato

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Villa Maria Cristina is a small luxury hotel in a quiet area of Guanajuato within walking distance to the historic center. The property is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and very nice indeed, with extremely comfortable beds. The hotel has a spa and wonderful and large heated pool. The restaurant is located in a beautifully decorated dinning room with the option of dinning on the outdoor patio. The food is outstanding as well as the wine selection. Villa Maria Cristina is definitely a treasure of a hotel with outstanding service and amenities as well. One of the best hotels we have stayed in world-wide. Will definitely return there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert from Califiornia

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was top notch. Service was great, restaurant was also wonderful the food was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Vladimiro

Best hotel in Guanajuato

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, premium service! Hotel is located in an old house, they did a fantastic job with the remodelation. Spa is really nice and clean. Restaurante with great food and service. In general terms great place to relax
4 out of 5
by paul j from Los Angeles

Nice but less than expected

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
After a 4 day stay in San Miguel de Allende we spent one night in Guanajuato on the way out of town rather than make a day trip from SMA. Villa Maria Cristina is certainly a beautiful property which makes its best impression in the public areas. The "Suite" we had ("Cristina") was smaller than I expected although appointed well and clean. On the Hotels.com website the room is advertised as "Suite,patio" so I was expecting a private patio but what you get is a Juliet balcony on a corridor looking onto the central patio, which I thought was a little misleading. The Air Conditioning was underpowered, and while it did cool the room, was very slow and ran all night just to maintain the room comfort. Room service food was just okay, nothing special although the service personnel were friendly, helpful and all fluent in English. There was a loud group that was yelling and screaming for much of the evening with loud music playing until past 1 am, although having the AC on all night covered up most of the extraneous noise. The front desk did allow us to stay past the usual noon check out time until we left for the airport at 4 pm without extra charge which was a plus. I did take a peek at the pool and spa which looked clean and well mainatined, but did not use them. All in all, a good property with a couple of caveats but I expected more given the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by j jack

Super stay

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Orbitz
This is a fantatstic hotel in Guanajuato...top of the line!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Elegant modernized mansion

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Everything was wonderful.
Location: About a 20 minute walk from the center of town but walking the neighborhood is quite lovely. University, schools, houses and shops.
This is a top class hotel. A beautiful modern mansion with off the street courtyard, patios, fountains, multiple levels for eating, drinking, relaxing, meeting with friends or doing business. Very romantic also. Gorgeous Majolica tile murals on the patios. Rooms connected by outdoor but inner Walkways. Lovely outdoor pool area. Separate outdoor hot tub area. Great Spa with a wide variety of treatments. Inside pool and hot tub. Elegant restaurant with a mixture of continental and Mexican styles and tastes. Good wine selection. Indoor bar. Out door bar. Cafe for lunch and relaxing. Off the menu breakfasts with wonderful, tasty homemade selections. Freshly made breads and sweet rolls. Fresh fruits. Tasty fresh yogurt. Freshly brewed coffees. Wifi. Staff always available to help and meet your e Rey need. Quiet. Taxi convenient. Nice walking area.
4 out of 5
by Jenny from Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel, service needs a little work.

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a beautiful hotel, though some things were a bit off for the quality of the venue. The first night, after walking a few blocks to a recommended restaurant and finding it closed, we ate in the hotel restaurant and it took 20 minutes before we were able to flag someone down to take our order, and 30 before we had a drink. The next night, we made a dinner reservation via the front desk, but when we arrived at the restaurant, they said the hotel had never called. And we couldn't get any water pressure/consistent hot water in the shower. Nothing major - but given the price and the overall quality of the physical space, the glitches in service were noticeable. Would still recommend it though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Very pleasant. Helpful and friendly staff. Easy and interesting 15 minute walk to the Cento Historico. Would happily recommend.