Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Location: Located near center of town - close to shopping, restaurants. Must see Diego Rivera's house and the Teatro Juarez in the center of town.
Hotel was charming, lots of atmosphere, with 5 star facilities throughout. Wonderful restaurant and great spa with an excellent masseuse. Staff was very helpful providing us with a staff member who took us touring throughout this charming town and even provided a car at no cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Atención a Clientes, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments, it is enriching to know that we have made your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to serving you again. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Elegant modernized mansion

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Everything was wonderful.
Location: About a 20 minute walk from the center of town but walking the neighborhood is quite lovely. University, schools, houses and shops.
This is a top class hotel. A beautiful modern mansion with off the street courtyard, patios, fountains, multiple levels for eating, drinking, relaxing, meeting with friends or doing business. Very romantic also. Gorgeous Majolica tile murals on the patios. Rooms connected by outdoor but inner Walkways. Lovely outdoor pool area. Separate outdoor hot tub area. Great Spa with a wide variety of treatments. Inside pool and hot tub. Elegant restaurant with a mixture of continental and Mexican styles and tastes. Good wine selection. Indoor bar. Out door bar. Cafe for lunch and relaxing. Off the menu breakfasts with wonderful, tasty homemade selections. Freshly made breads and sweet rolls. Fresh fruits. Tasty fresh yogurt. Freshly brewed coffees. Wifi. Staff always available to help and meet your e Rey need. Quiet. Taxi convenient. Nice walking area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Very pleasant. Helpful and friendly staff. Easy and interesting 15 minute walk to the Cento Historico. Would happily recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from downey, california

Excellent hotel with great customer service.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The grounds of the hotel are extremely clean. The decor is very nice.
Location: The hotel is situated on a hill that is about a 20 minute walk to the center of the historic part of guanajuato. The walk is safe both day/night.
The hotel is extremely nice, clean, and with great customer service. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It has an indoor and outdoor pool and everything appears to be clean at all times. We had an amazing view of the hills. The hotel is located on a hill and is about a 20 minute walk to the center of the historic part of town. One can also take a bus about a block away from the entrance of the hotel to downtown. The bus charges 50 cents per person each way. Overall, the hotel is an excellent place to stay and the customer service was incredible. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone and it is very nice place for a couple to stay. I also liked the fact that parking is included in the price. We left our car at the beginning of our stay and picked it up when we were left. In addition, the attention to details was superb. For example, the staff had placed a water bottle in the car for each of us when it was brought to us at the time of departure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Nice ambience but totally disappointing service!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: the architecture of the building
Location: Guanajuato city
When we checked in at about 10 pm, the staff was almost sleping, everything in the hotel (bar, restaurant, room service, pool...) was closed. Even rooms were not ready! The aircond was very noisy!! Butler said than we could you outdoor Jucuzzi, but when we asked to turn it on, he couldn't arrange that...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

perfect hotel with everyone one totally nice.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Everyting
Cons: maybe the prices for the restaurant.
Location: you are really close to downtown, you get there walkking (15/20 mins)
Excellent service, bed totally comfortable, best i have ever been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from San Diego, CA, USA

Excellent hotel in Guanajuato

Posted Oct 27, 2012
The hotel is magnificent, the General Manager greeted us upon arrival, and was at the door when we left. The food in the restaurant in excellent as well as the service. I would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

May 2012

Posted May 9, 2012
Everything was excellent, the staff was so helpful and nice, conveniently located within walking distance of center of city and yet away from the noise of the city and the many church bells.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Weekend in Guanajuato

Posted Jun 16, 2009
The hotel Maria Cristina is one of the best solutions to stay in the marvelous city of Guanajuato. Very confortable and close to city center we spent a couple of day there and we'll go back without any doubt. Price of the rooms are a little excessive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Its a small and nice hotel, the service is excelent, but is not a hotel for kids

Posted Jun 10, 2009
Its a small and nice hotel, the service is excelent, but is not a hotel for kids