Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 서울

오래되서 곰팡이 등이 많이 있음

Posted Aug 10, 2016
오래되어서 청결함이 부족함 욕실에 곰파미 균이 많음 수영장시설이 있어서 괞찮았고 부페도 괂찮음
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Still good old hotel with full facilities.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This hotel has been built since 70s. But its condition is mostly good with always well maintenance and full of all facilities that 5 star hotels can provide. The rate is also reasonable. All is worth for staying and spending time in Guangzhou.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The swimming pool is nice. The guest room is big and clean but the furniture is a bit old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
For the price that I paid i can't ask for more . After all the hotel was okay I just didn't like the smell in the lobby I think they sprayed the lobby every day with mosquitos killers products also the swimming pool did not smell good beside this the hotel is okay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquito bite

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Is a convenient hotel but I got lots of mosquito bites and can't sleep well because of their attacks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dodgy staff tried to increase payment

Posted May 30, 2016
The hotel stay was prepaid in full via Expedia, but on arrival the check-in staff insisted that only a 'deposit' was paid and they requested more payment. Only after some argument and showing them a printout of the booking, which was indeed paid in full, did they concede. Make sure you bring a physical printout of the booking! A very unpleasant way to start the stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Lovely swimming pool and bed

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Breakfast very good.
I usually find sleeping in hotel tiring as mattresses tend to be too soft. This hotel just got it right and the bed is HUGE, even though it's made by putting two beds/mattresses together the arrangement is so neatly done that we actually were debating if it's a tailor made colossal mattress. There are also 3 sizes of pillows, taking care of customers of different needs. The swimming pool is very clear and clean. The gym is also equipped with more than enough machines. I had a great relaxing time after a whole day's work. The hotel is also right next to an underground station. Within 5 minutes you have a museum that you can't miss - the best museum I've visited in China. Staff are generally friendly. Except there was this kid at the swimming pool reception who actually shouted at me twice when first I was just saying "hallo i'm here to swim", (huh?/what?) and when he handed me a chain I asked him what it was. (huh?/what?) A more senior staff answered my question instead. A bit shocked that a kid like this can get a job at a hotel...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by winnie, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. It’s our team’s great pleasure to make your stay enjoyable and very glad to know you are satisfied with our location, beds and price. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dong Fang Hotel, Guangzhou.
4 out of 5
by HATTAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to yuexiu mrt.

Posted May 20, 2016
Big hotel. Close to mrt. I got up gradeing from standard room to executive room.
4 out of 5
by Zhaoyang from Guangzhou

Perfect location and beautiful courtyard.

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Always enjoy the stay in Dong Fang. It has the perfect location, great courtyard and swimming pool.