Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, good quick stayover in Guangzhou

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
NOTE: The hotel is no longer called Dongzhi but rather Green Tree Inn (I think it got bought and renovated by this chain in recent years) I just needed a place to stay overnight before catching an early morning flight from Baiyun Airport (Guangzhou's airport). Speedy free airport shuttle service, nice driver, nice and adequate front desk staff. Room was nicer than expected given past reviews. They must be used to guests like me because they immediately offer wake-up calls. There is a street of restaurants, fruit stands, bakeries, and convenience stores a few blocks away -- convenient quick meals. I would stay again and recommend if your purposes are like mine!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida / USA

good for 1 night only, if you are in a rush /cheap

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: near to the airport
Cons: all
Location: really nothing
bought room with bathtub, but there was no bathtub, transportation to the airport was done in a mini bus build for 5 people - but when i had to go, i had to sit in this bus with 14 people - or no transportation. AC cant handle the room - will not cool the room. Staff speaks only Chinese.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Bad arrangement on airport pickup.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Booked this hotel because it offered free airport pickup. Arrived about 12.50 am but there was no meeter greeter. Had to call them & they insisted that I give them my mobile no. for their driver to call me. Ended up buying a phone card for CNY100 which was apparently overcharged by the airport staff.
2 out of 5
by Bob B. from UK

Bad Choice.

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
The promised shuttle bus from the airport was impossible to find. The reception staff at the hotel were no help at all, one girl spoke a little english but did not seem to want to be bothered. A bad part of town nothing like the website promised. I would definately never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
Extremely dirty and terrible air quality. Would never stay there again Ben if it was free.
2 out of 5
by WAjid

Terrible stay in China

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Never got what I expected. Everything was terrible bad especially room service.
2 out of 5
by gs from Vienna

Appropriate only for fluent Chinese speakers

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Pros: Nothing really other that it is cheap in comparison to other hotels in the area.
Cons: Everything. Better food, customer service, and please clean the bathroom. It looks like the basin has not been cleaned for at leastr three months.
Location: The hotel is in a "village" community about 8-9 kilometers from the airport. It is difficult to find.
It's a mixed bag. Upon arrival. the hotel receptionist just came down from her room looking dead tired. I was stuck at the airport for four hours at 1 AM waiting for the shuttle bus. I decided to walk not realizing that the hotel is about 8 kilometers from the airport. Another hotel van picked me up as I was walking from the hotel and overcharged me 20 Euros for a 5 kilometer ride. I felt tired and in a bad mood when I got there. I tried to tell the receptionist my plight but she could not understand any English. All the staff can not speak English other than simple sentences.
2 out of 5
by gs from Vienna

Appropriate only for fluent Chinese speakers

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing really other that it is cheap in comparison to other hotels in the area.
Cons: Everything. Better food, customer service, and please clean the bathroom. It looks like the basin has not been cleaned for at leastr three months.
Location: The hotel is in a "village" community about 8-9 kilometers from the airport. It is difficult to find.
It's a mixed bag. Upon arrival. the hotel receptionist just came down from her room looking dead tired. I was stuck at the airport for four hours at 1 AM waiting for the shuddle bus. I decided to walk not realizing that the hotel is about 8 kilometers from the airport. Another hotel van picked me up as I was walking from the hotel and overcharged me 20 Euros for a 5 kilometer ride. I felt tired and in a bad mood when I got there. I tried to tell the receptionist my plight but she could not understand any English. All the staff can not speak English other than simple sentences.
2 out of 5
by Sebastian from Australia

air condition

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
No heating during winter...means all rooms are morgue cold. But don't despair as you can switch on the cold air condition :-) The staff were pleasant and helpful by providing their own office "sunny" heater, rather than blow heater. So the room was brightly lit throughout the night....and it was difficult to sleep. Also the mattress is as hard as the morgue stone floor. So please be prepared to bring your own blow up mattress. Other than that the shower was warm and plentiful.
3 out of 5
by william tang from malaysia

near airport , free pickup

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
dongzi otel claimed that they did not receive notification fr hotel.com . therefore no room fro 3 of us , so we were checked into another apartment converted to hotel which is on top of some shops & 800 meter away .only 2 beds , no extra bed even we are willing to pay , so no choice , but joined the 2 beds to accomodate 3 persons . door lock spoilt , when go out next morning , door canoot be locked