Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Cons: the breakfast didn't have a good variety.
Can recommend to everyone. Nice staff. Great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with comfortable beds.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
Cons: The lighting in the rooms are very dim and also to catch a taxi, you have to go out on the road instead of reception calling the taxi over radio.
Location: The location is close to Pazhou complex but is a bit crowded. Not many places to eat nearby if you are a foreigner.
The hotel is really nice with comfortable beds. There are only 2-3 English channels on the TV that stop working in rain. The lighting in the room was very dim.The location is also close to Pazhou complex but is in a crowded area. Plenty of Chinese restaurants nearby but not many if you want to have something else. I would not mind staying here again but would prefer staying in a better location just because of lack of dinning options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Dallas

The staff was so helpful and great service

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was so friendly and provide the best service even though they don't speak good English . The bed is so comfortable and location is good.
Location: Many eating place around and easy to go to the fair and the train station
I enjoy my stay during the canton fair. The staff was very nice and the bed was comfy . The location is very good except they don't have the gym. I would return when go back for business trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money but breakfast not so good!!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The price and the position
Cons: Buffet breakfast, coffee shop at reception is very expensive , a currency exchange desk would also be good.
Location: The hotel is really central to everything and if not taxis are plentiful and economic
The hotel represents great value for money! It is in a very central location and close to metro stops and shopping centres. Staff, however , speak very little English which is obviously difficult. The staff at reception though were friendly and tried hard to communicate!! There is no money exchange counter at the hotel and given the problems we had changing currency in Guangzhou (where we could not use VISA /MC cards at the nearby shopping centres, or use ATMs) this was an added issue . Having said that, we found no other hotel which had an exchange bureau so this was not a specific issue to the Fortune Hotel. The lack of English speaking staff was also an issue in the other hotels we visited (eg the China Hotel with its 5 star rating). The worst aspect to this hotel was the buffet breakfast which really does not cater to the a Western palate and where staff were unhelpful and did not appear to refill the platters unless asked to. Then again, for the price of the room, one could not really expect much more (food) but certainly could expect more friendly and helpful kitchen staff. Finally, the most economic way to get to the hotel from the airport is by catching the bus to the China Hotel (19 yuan) and then a taxi from there to the Fortune Hotel (25 yuan) If you go to the Taxi Counter at the airport , they will charge you 400 yuan ( exorbitant) On the way back however, a taxi from the Hotel to the airport cost us 125 yuan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London ,UK

Nice hotel with plenty places to eat near

Posted Nov 8, 2014
This is a very very good hotel for those who come to do business . It is clean and the rooms are good. Also fairly decent in size. For families I am not sure but for me who was there for the Canton Fair it was perfect. The rooms were clean and spacious enough , breakfast was included and there was a shuttle bus to take us to and from the Canton. In the evening there are plenty of places to eat nearby and even a mini mart to do some shopping . The staff were very friendly and helpful also . This is my second time at Fortune Hotel and I would come back again. Raj Sharma ( London)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ccc

Great one

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: My room (Elite Room) very clean, nice view, great bed. Really nive
Cons: TV could include DVD reproducer or Movies for pay, because Chinese TV just had 2 or 3 english channels.
Location: Just outside a subway and very easy to get from the Airport
Just outside the subway, nice rooms, great breakfast included. Little english, but enough to get understood. Free ride to Canton's Fair
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raj Sharma from London, UK

3 nights at Fortune Hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2013
To be honest I was very happy with my stay at Fortune Hotel. The room was very clean ( Business Room) - I initially was a little upset as I had booked room with window and upon arrival was informed that one was not available. However , upon my insistence the staff wasted no time in providing one and thereafter there were no problems. I was there for Canton Fair and was very pleased to see that a coach was also provided to take me from & too Fair. The Hotel itself is located in Central place with lots of shops to visit & places to eat within walking distance - although being a bit of a cheapskate I ate mostly at the KTC downstairs next to the hotel. Breakfast was ok too - not brilliant but ok for those there on a Business. Would Definitely stay again. Raj London
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vikas from New Delhi

Review

Posted Apr 23, 2013
My overall experience has been satisfactory, strategically located in a busy area. Breakfast is less American and more Chinese which is a little problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel to Visit Computer Markets

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Very easy access to Metro and Computer Markets, and many nice shopping malls
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toda from Sydney

Not too bad

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Very hard to find from outside as it under renovation !