Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Staff does not speak English

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We stayed at Grand Royal Hotel for 4 nights during our stay at Guangzhou. Staff members do not speak english. It was extremely difficult to comunicate. We couldn't ask for directions or recommendations. The shower on our bathroom was disgusting. We had a bathtub shower as well and we had to use it, which the water came out all over the bathroom even after putting a shower curtain. Toilet was stained and gave you the feeling the toilets was nasty. The bed was confortable. The food was eateable compared to a hotel we stayed at Beijing. We were on a non smoking floor but people smoked all the time, on the floor, on the elevator, on the halls. We went for business so we had a free hotel suttle to the convention center, which is a plus. Also they have an airport express shuttle service at the hotel for ¥24 a person which was nice. Not close to sightseen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Noisy room, noise from outside and air con noisy. Not convenient to get around. No metro nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money and the hotel was really clean & comfortable. Will definitely come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Good hotel, far from everything

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Ammenities
Cons: Shuttle to the city
Location: There not much to do nearby, and location is not comfortable.
The hotel is nice, it has a pool, staff are nice, the rooms are big, a little old but its ok. The subway is 15 mins walk and if you want to take a taxi its like 50 RMB to the main/popular part of the city. Its pretty far from Canton Fair as well but at least they offer Shuttle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Surprised

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The beds were huge and comfy... The place was a very nice surprise. Great location as far as shopping and food etc.
Cons: more food outlets in the hotel.
Location: close to shops and food, very handy to get around to and so on
we rocked up and were very surprised to see the hotel was great looking from the outside. It didn't disappoint when we got inside and to our room. Huge beds, clean and tidy in every way. We loved the view. The place was super tidy. We will be back for sure to this please.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesnt worth that price

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
location is far from Guangzhou East Railway station, right next to a highway, very noisy at night. Middle class Chinese Hotel. Generally ok but, price is too expensive. They had shuttle bus for Canton Fair. If you have a better International Hotel Chain choice, is better. I wouldnt stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great free shuttle service

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel service has improved by providing free shuttle bus service to nearest train station. Given the location of the hotel, I find always got the hard time to get a taxi during peak hour in morning. It is now so much easier and solved my problem faced in previous stay. The airport express service at the hotel is convenient too.
4 out of 5
by Dean from Perth

Nice Hotel for Business

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for business whilst attending a Trade Fair. Hotel is nice, bed comfortable and breakfast is fine. The only negative would be the state of the carpet in the bedrooms with many stains. This gives the appearance of an unclean room which was in fact very clean. Taxi to the show cost around $40-$50RMB. Be wary of the Taxi's that don't want to use a meter and will try and tell you it is $100RMB. Taxi to airport (metered) was around $160. Many front end staff spoke English. Overall would stay again. This is my 4th stay.
4 out of 5
by Robert H from Adelaide

First time stay

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
First time stay and a rather big learning curve... ie don't take Metro from a/port, do take a #4 bus... dining: delicious but expensive and on 2nd visit, have just discovered many restaurants down nearby side street. Good breakfast (included). Rooms a little dated but very comfortable. Rather remote location and a taxi ride from nearest Metro. Shuttle-bus not as convenient as it could be and drop-off/collect could be improved (not fault of hotel) as with taxi... means large loops to negotiate the road barriers... that #4 bus drops right opp the hotel but with a heavy case, means taxi ride to cross the road (pity). Would consider returning for next fair because hotel is good value...