Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel close to Shangxiajiu Lu

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The location is not too bad. Close enough to activities and train stations.
Cons: The hotel staff could have been more helpful when we asked for transport to the airport on the spot. They would only oblige if arrange in advance.
Location: You can roam about on Samien Island. Across the island is the herbs wholesale market. Shangxiajiu Lu is a must go.
Hotel is located on Samien Island. Quite a nice place with european style of buildings. East building has a nice and spacious lobby. About 10 mins walk to Huang Sa station. 5-mins walk to Herbs wholesale market and 15-min walk to stationery wholesale market Yiyuan. Also 15-min walk to Shangxiajiu Lu. Hotel is a little old but reasonably maintained. We stayed for 5 nights from 4th to 10th Dec and again from 12th to 13th Dec. We had a free upgrade to business suite on our second stay of one-night. Much appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
It's a nice hotel,rooms are nice and we'll decorated the neighborhood is nice with lots of trees don't have many western restaurants . Staffers are sometimes difficult to talk to because there english is limited. But overall all I enjoyed staying there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

The best place to stay in Guangzhou.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Position. Brekky, comfort of the room. Helpful staff.
Cons: A little more english with the staff.
I can't imagine a better place to stay than the Victory Hotel in Guangzhou. The local area felt safe and very interesting. The fact that locals come every day to take photographs in the area says how attractive it is. When a local couple are getting married they come to Shamian Island (where the Victory Hotel is) to take photos in all the various outfits they are going to wear for their wedding. The riverfront restaurants are full of fairy lights and offer a wide range of local foods. The Metro which takes you anywhere in Guangzhou is close by. There is a lovely walk around the perimeter of the island and a wharf where the various river ferries stop. We are so happy we chose to stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice traditional hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
We live in the new building, but the old one is more traditional. The new one is still excellent with good customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a cozy hotel with cultural history

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at the West Building, which is an originally an HSBC bank started by the British in the middle of the 19th century. The building is well maintained and kept while the cleanliness of the room is good. The location is good, in an small island where you can take a walk at the riverbank park. About 10 minutes walk to the subway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Charm

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Love the spacious stone balcony, and a wide variety of breakfast items!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good location,helpful staff ,clean ,speak eng

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was comfortable,though breakfast could do with more variety -location was excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was a problem with Internet connectivity -dropping connection. Google & gmail connection is also a problem if all the customers work is conducted in this way
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice historic building in shaiman island district

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: very spacious room. buffet breakfast. close to metro station.
Cons: wifi is slow, facebook is blocked except by VPN, however by 2nd day China had blocked me out of my VPN!!
there is an east bldg and west bldg 2 blocks away. i was in the west bldg but my booking showed east bldg which is the main address so i had to walk back and forth between two bldgs. reservation should clearly show if you are in the east or west bldg and not just show east bldg as the main address