Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad comment on smoker. no staff stop guest smoking

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: no, even we paid all the hotel need ask credit card for deposit.. really bad
Cons: no comment
Location: not far not nrae
too bad, bad smelling in the room, some guest open their door to smoke, but no staff to stop them smoking..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 4, 2016
On Beijing road where all the tourists go for shopping and some tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Clean Rooms, no foul smell

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Staff was helpful, rooms are clean and no smoking smell prevalent in other Chinese hotels.
Cons: Staff should be trained to speak English to attract more foreigners. There should be a big sign for directions on Beijing Road.
Location: Tucked in a corner, away from Beijing Road. Convenient enough but wished there was a sign on Beijing Road.
This hotel was hard to locate. The location is convenient but the hotel is tucked away in the corner away from the main road which made it hard to locate. On the plus side, the room that we stayed in was clean, beds are comfortable and we had a good night's sleep on the nights that we stayed here. The staff was helpful too. Overall a pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Location of Food and Shopping

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Location of the hotel
Great location. This is the first time I tried this hotel. Hotel is just at the beginning of Beijing lu. Many choices of food and shopping along the way. MRT is near by to travel around. Hotel staff is very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Old hotel but good location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
I was attracted to this hotel because Yue Xiu District seemed like a good location and they were offering a good deal. The location did turn out to be great - it's a 5 min walk to Beijing pedestrian street and 15 mins to another foodie area. The room was old but clean and spacious and the staff were friendly but I speak Chinese so not sure whether they speak much English. Overall it was quite fine for several days of sight seeing. If you're on a business trip another hotel might be better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good, i don't recommend

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Cons: clean , just clean the floor
location is not clear , i spend two hour finding this hotel with a taxi i booked deluxe king room: surprised that the bed was having two Mattress attached to each other ؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟؟ , the room floor was very dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ally from Scotland

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Air Conn, Size of room, cleaning ladies doing a great job, Free Internet
Location: Great Location, next to many shops. 5 minute walk from metro
Stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of June with my partner. Got Taxi from Airport to here no problem. Cost me 100 RMB, about £10. Once we arrived there , check in just took a matter of minutes, lovely polite staff. I have the advantage of a Chinese girlfriend, but the staff were able to speak enough English. A deposit of 500 RMB was required, about £50. Hotel was beautiful, in a great location next to lots of shopping which kept her busy. Also not far from the metro station which made things so much easier getting around the city. Room itself was very tidy, I had booked a deluxe king bed, which was rather hard , but my back got used to it after a few days. Room was always cleaned superbly by the staff during the day, fresh towels and bed sheets. There was a mini bar which we didnt use, we just filled the fridge with our own bottles of water/coke. It was around 30 degrees outside and very humid every day, but the air con through out the hotel was excellent. We also had a great view out of our window. Free Wifi was great, but I used the network port that was next to the PC in the room. When I come back to Guangzhou later in the year I will definitely be coming back here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yee Cheng from Singapore

Hotel Canton: Worth a Stay

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Location: Beijing Road, Yue Xiu District
Staff & service: Hotel Canton's staff were friendly and professional. They made my wife and I feel like guests rather than mere travellers. Location: The hotel is conveniently located. It is near a metro station as well as a major shopping district, Beijing Road, which contains many eateries of good value. Condition, upkeep, cleanliness: The hotel was tidied up to our satisfaction at the end of every day. Toiletries were replaced consistently. For the above positives, the nightly rate was certainly higher than others that can be secured in the market. I would say that it is mid-range. In any case, I found it worth every cent we paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Quality of this hotel is going down.

Posted Aug 6, 2011
I selected Hotel Canton because I have stayed here 5 years ago when I visited China. I really like the convenience of the hotel location and the walking distance to Metro stations, but the quality of the hotel is going down hill. The cooling system was broken and we stayed there in the month of July. The rug is dirty. I have two little kids, I have to constantly remind my children not to go bare foot on the rug. Only play on the bed. The lights are dim, I guess that they don't want you to see the room in bright light. The check-in and check-out process were long and the staffs were not friendly at all. I will not recommend this hotel until they upgrade their rooms.