Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible time for a terrible price

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Cons: Everything - the staff, the hotel breakfast, the rooms!
Location: Print
This was a very bad experience. I was travelling a lot week I arrived at this hotel, looking forward to a good sleep. I was wrong for expecting good service. The photos of the rooms are far off from what the rooms actually were. Most people would agree hotels often dazzle their photos to make themselves appear more attractive, but this was worse. The interior of the room was filthy. My room in particular, 1103, has a horrible toilet stench to it. There is even an exhaust fan in the bedroom itself, not that the smell could go away. The staff at the front desk if not useless, are rude and unprofessional. There were two girls that I could not understand at all what they were trying to say half the time, even though I spoke fluent Chinese. These girls have NO passion at all for their job. It seemed as though they were doing me a life favour the entire time, and I was very put off by their lack of service. Their faces often expressed FRUSTRATION at me. I had to print something off from front desk and ask for their help. They told me they could not download the .PDF document. I said that this is impossible, and .PDF documents can be downloaded and printed easily. She denied this. I told her to show me the screen, to which she moved it towards me about an inch, and then told me that she couldn't move it anymore. I asked if I could come around the counter and have a look, she refused. Told me to go to a printing store. This was shocking. Never will I recommend this place. So bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check the room before you move in.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The food was good. The staff tried their best despite of their poorly spoken English. The room smelled really bad and had black mold up to 4 feet high that made me sick. The wallpaper was cracked and peeled at the bottom and I couldn't change the room. I will never stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Holly from England

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Lovely staff and awesomely kitch 'Victorian' deco. Also that it wasn't right in the centre. Lots of 'real' food and shops in the neighbourhood.
Cons: It was a fair walk from the nearest metro. Fine for me but maybe not for others.
Location: 20 min walk from metro
Facilities: Above average, Distinctive; Value: Fantastic, A steal; Service: Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless; Big park over the road, 20 min walk down to nice section of pearl river. GREAT cheap dimsum just 5 mins walk north and a block or so west.
5 out of 5
by KASH from SINGAPORE

Comfy Bed

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels
Is a great hotel with nice room and comfort bed, with east and west breakfast, will return to this hotel for fair in Pazhou.
4 out of 5
by Glenn from Brisbane Australia

Good Fun Hotel

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was fun as the entire hotel is like a royal palace including the rooms with gold inlay ed furniture and throne like chairs. Great value helpful staff good buffet breakfast and great value overall.
5 out of 5
by iqbal from Dubai

beuatiful hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
welll lit hotel and good staff helping staff
4 out of 5
by Bryan from Taiwan

Great location

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
located near tian he park ...also quite near to market
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable price

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels
These is a reasonably priced option in China. Although my room was quite noisy. The wifi connection is only in the lobby and is not very strong. Staff are very helpful, but the rooms could do with a makeover.
2 out of 5
by Sandy from Hawaii

What a first night at Nan Yang Hotel !!!!

Posted May 18, 2013 on Hotels
Very bad condition hotel, old and stinky. Our toilet was flooded on the very first night, all the dirty stinky stuff filled up our bathroom floor...what a terrible scene...and the housekeeping staffs gossiped something bad about us in Chinese about that incident , luckily we understood all. Room was very old condition, no Wi-Fi and smell cigarette even it had sign No Smoking. I will never stay at Nan Yang Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cleo from Singapore

Hotel with a European touch

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: The interior design, beautiful furniture and the king size bed in my room. The restaurant serves good food at very reasonable prices too!
Cons: The black patches on the bathroom walls and the condition of the underside of the toilet tap leaves me somewhat quesy.
The interior design is not what you would expect when view from outside which is quite drab. Anyway, I like the 'golden'touch on the ceiling and everywhere in the furniture and walls. The colour match is soothing everywhere, but I find the bathroom walls are somewhat black in parts with either fungi or dirt. There is unpleasant touch of grime under the taps and everytime I use this toilet tap, I have to remember to lift the edges only when used.