Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Decent business hotel for a good price

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Probably 1/3 the price of the Marriot but surprisingly comfortable and clean. I won't spend so much staying in Guangzhou anymore. Don't expect the same staff service as the 5-stars but overall great value for the money. Within 15 minute walk to the Guangzhou East railway station. WiFi worked well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 3-star hotel that deserves 3 stars out of 5

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 5 nights during the Canton Fair and the best part of the whole trip is the complimentary shuttle bus to and from Canton Fair. Most people at the hotel tried really hard to be curious and polite, except the housekeepers. I'm not a fan of their passive aggressive attitude when I asked for USB chargers for three of my devises. Mine burnt out when charging in the room and it also ruined my power bank. Since I didn't have time to shop around for USB chargers, I asked to borrow a couple, but the housekeeper was quite rude about it and removed one of them from my desk the next day morning when I was away without consulting me first. The breakfast was catering to Chinese guests so I wouldn't recommend. Few restaurants in the neighbourhood but they are ok. A supermarket is just one block away down the road so that was nice. Will I stay there again, I don't think so because the hotel is like an hour drive away from the Canton Fair or about 25-minute drive in the morning when traffic was light. I love the shuttle bus service but many hotels in GZ offers the same service during the fair so next time I'll choose another hotel that is close to the ground instead.
3 out of 5
by NG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great spacious clean room

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Ended up in this hotel after my original booking me landed me in an unacceptable room in a different hotel thanks to a horrible stench in a smoking room (I had asked for non-smoking). Anyhow, the guys at hotels.com (I called in) did some great work to move us to this hotel - the Landmark. Mind you this was 3 am making the move and hotels.com had spoken to the reception (aka expedia) so we were warmly received and given a free upgrade. the upgraded room is quite 5 star. not swanky modern, but solidly comfortable, clean and very spacious. location is not great, but not bad either. recommended for quality of hotel, not necessarily for location. oh yeah.... skip the breakfast buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel to stay

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is not clean. Not the best condition. Okay to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Subpar Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here during the Canton Fair. Pros: 1. Had 4 buses to the Fair in the morning, and 4 buses from the Fair in the afternoon. 2. Front desk seemed pretty competent. I didn't have trouble communicating to them in English. 3. Location. The hotel is located in Tienhu. One block east of the Westin. 10-15 walk to the East Train Station. 4. Neighborhood. The hotel is located in a residential area. The street the hotel is located was pretty busy, but not loud. There are several convenience store in front of the hotel. 5. The hotel was relatively well maintained (for a Chinese hotel). 6. Internet speed was relatively fast for China. The ethernet cable connection was much faster than their wifi. Cons: 1. They had the worst (or 2nd worst) breakfast that I've experienced in all of China. Although breakfast was included in my stay, I opted for the McDonalds across the street. 2. Their TV channel selection sucked. 40 chinese channels, 1 english, and 1 japanese. 3. No room service.
4 out of 5
by Angie from Seattle

Five star if you like hard beds, 4 if not.

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
The only real complaint I have about this hotel are that the bed is wicked hard (though that seems to be a trend in Guangzhou). Other than that the room quality is great (though slightly awkward with more than one guest because the door to the toilet slides between the shower and toilet, it's not the most private), much of the staff speaks clear English and is super friendly, they have a restaurant in the hotel that is easy to order and the surrounding area includes a McDonalds if you're in to that and a great Japanese DIY BBQ. It's about a twenty minute walk from the East Train Station that also has several Starbucks and other western fast food as well as an Ikea. If you are going for the Canton Fair taxis to the Pazhou Complex can range from 25-55 RMB depending on traffic but the hotel does have a free shuttle if that fits in your schedule. I believe the nearest metro station is at least two blocks away. There is an official China Mobile office just across the street if you want to open a phone account and Sunny Foot Massage within the same building as the hotel is a great escape after a long day of walking. The breakfast buffet is so-so but they do have fried eggs and also your choice of boiled noodles and green veggies in addition to the buffet items.
4 out of 5
by Ng from Singapore

Great location

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
Free transport to Canto Fair. Excellent reception service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kepi from At Large

Lay Over

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
It was a welcome rest stop in our journey across China. Been to China 9 times in 9 years. Nice hotel nice price. Excellent service here.