Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pleasantly surprised with overall condition and upkeep of this grand old dame! Right down to thick fluffy quality bath towels! Worth all the good reviews I read that made me book 4 nights. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in very relaxed environment

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Good hotel and reasonably priced.
Cons: The hotel may consider scheduled shuttles to the Mass Transit stations.
Nice clean hotel with charming ambiance. Located among gardens and beautiful trees.. with walking distance to the Pearl River bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas, USA

Nice hotel on Shamian Island

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Great value for the price paid.
Cons: Breakfast included is overly simplified. Dim Sum at east building is great!
Location: Close to Shamian island. Great walks and sightseeing for historic landmarks. Starbucks and a lot of nice restaurants nearby.
First time to stay in this nice and classic hotel on Shamian Island. Booked a room with regular balcony and front desk offered to upgrade to grand room with huge balcony and beautiful garden view. Will come back again with welcoming treatment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Quiet environment.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
About a 15-20 minutes walk to Shangxiajiu. 10-15 minutes walk to the nearest metro. However I wouldn't recommend walking from the metro to the hotel with an elder or a toddler as the metro exit closest to the hotel does not have an escalator nor lift. Generally love the quiet "estate"! Love that there's a huge Starbucks just behind the West Building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Exellent hotel!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
We had a wonderful time here. Very clean hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast and beautiful surrounding!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
As I said above it's not bad hotel for the value of money I only got this hotel by mistake from Expedia while I should be in another location Expedia never admit that they did this In fact I complained for them may time by writing for them and never act or answer me
4 out of 5
by Tay

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Stay in this area hotel location will nice and the park in this areas so relaxing for resting. Specially for the history at Shamian streets and the building will Europe Gothic styles.
4 out of 5
by Derek

Reasonable hotel close to centre

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Generally good, although 10 minute walk from nearest Metro (Huangsha) with many steps over the bridge to get to the island so not easy to carry luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel close to Shangxiajiu Lu

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The location is not too bad. Close enough to activities and train stations.
Cons: The hotel staff could have been more helpful when we asked for transport to the airport on the spot. They would only oblige if arrange in advance.
Location: You can roam about on Samien Island. Across the island is the herbs wholesale market. Shangxiajiu Lu is a must go.
Hotel is located on Samien Island. Quite a nice place with european style of buildings. East building has a nice and spacious lobby. About 10 mins walk to Huang Sa station. 5-mins walk to Herbs wholesale market and 15-min walk to stationery wholesale market Yiyuan. Also 15-min walk to Shangxiajiu Lu. Hotel is a little old but reasonably maintained. We stayed for 5 nights from 4th to 10th Dec and again from 12th to 13th Dec. We had a free upgrade to business suite on our second stay of one-night. Much appreciated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Well maintained for historic building. Convenient traffic both MTR and public traffic.