Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B in Zone 1

Posted Feb 28, 2017
This area, zone 1 is not for the inexperienced traveler. Know some Espanol and be ready to be able to have a little conversation. The people in Guatemala are very open, helpful and courteous. Going down 6th is a fun thing to do. Plenty of protection. Better if you get home before dark, dark, and this B&B is a good place pretty well located to many historic places in the City.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Left out on the street

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: I never got in so have no idea about the interior. I had to choose something.
Cons: They could employ staff that monitor their doorbell.
Location: The street is plain. I would not describe it as seedy. But another block over is a great park and a pedestrian street full of shops and restaurants.
I reserved on a saturday and showed up at the door on sunday about 2:30 pm. I rang the bell several times but no one came. I then pounded on the metal door and then the window. Still no one. Finally after half an hour and trying many times I gave up and wandered down to the nearby park where I called Expedia. They called the hotel but no one answered. Expedia said they would find me another hotel, but my phone was running out of power so I gave up, found a cab who took me to a hotel out by the airport. I am just glad I did not show up at Carmel after dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Apr 12, 2016
We were only there for one night from 2030hrs to 0500hrs so hardly long enough to comment
4 out of 5
by Susan from New Zealand

Will go back

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely old mansion in beautiful condition. Helpful staff and very clean. Walking distance from 6 Avenida - the walking street in Old Guatemala City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Amazing place with amazing staff!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Sophie helped my son and I have safe travels in Guatemala! We were winging it and she helped guide us in a safe direction and gave us great suggestions! Rosa made a great breakfast and was always there if we needed anything! the place was absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend Casa Carmel b&b!
5 out of 5
by Lawrence from Temple Terrace, FL

Very nice B&B

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
We spent one night at this B&B. Even tho, from the outside the place didn't seem like much, once we stepped inside everything changed. Dona Rosa was there to welcome us and she was there to help us in any way we needed. We stayed in a beautiful room with nice comfortable beds. The whole house is decorated in very good taste. Breakfast the next morning was really good. And we got to meet the owner of the B&B, a very nice and friendly lady. We absolutely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by juan from dallas

Guatemala

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
the staff is very friendly and accommodate your requests, will stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antigua, Guatemala

Over night stay.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Very clean, the bed was SO comfortable, it was quiet. It had TV and WIFI. Is near a very trendy street. Walked a few blocks and had my evening meal.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The trendy street was only a 3 block walk. Shopping, music, bars, cafes and a movie theatre.
I was met pleasantly, at the front door by the proprietor. Very pleasant and helpful. She carried my luggage up the stairs to my lovely room. Then she booked my pick up ride to the Guatemala Airport, for the next morning. I had to wake at 3AM for a 4AM pick up. Then she even booked the pick up ride for my return in to Guatemala Airport to transport me back to my home in Antigua. My return flight arrived very late in the evening. The proprietor then went the "distance", she negotiated the price of the private taxi ride, down! Wow, now that is service! When I went down stairs for my early morning pick up, the lady of the house was up and served me coffee, at 3:30 in the morning. Now that is GOOD service. One more very important thing for me, she spoke English. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cr

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Very good hotel. The room was clean and good decorated and near to the city. The staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingwood, TX

Fabulous Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Very nice place to stay. Large room with access to patio. Great breakfast. Close to Central Market and other historical sites in Zone 1.