Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Apr 12, 2016
We were only there for one night from 2030hrs to 0500hrs so hardly long enough to comment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Amazing place with amazing staff!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Sophie helped my son and I have safe travels in Guatemala! We were winging it and she helped guide us in a safe direction and gave us great suggestions! Rosa made a great breakfast and was always there if we needed anything! the place was absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend Casa Carmel b&b!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antigua, Guatemala

Over night stay.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Very clean, the bed was SO comfortable, it was quiet. It had TV and WIFI. Is near a very trendy street. Walked a few blocks and had my evening meal.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The trendy street was only a 3 block walk. Shopping, music, bars, cafes and a movie theatre.
I was met pleasantly, at the front door by the proprietor. Very pleasant and helpful. She carried my luggage up the stairs to my lovely room. Then she booked my pick up ride to the Guatemala Airport, for the next morning. I had to wake at 3AM for a 4AM pick up. Then she even booked the pick up ride for my return in to Guatemala Airport to transport me back to my home in Antigua. My return flight arrived very late in the evening. The proprietor then went the "distance", she negotiated the price of the private taxi ride, down! Wow, now that is service! When I went down stairs for my early morning pick up, the lady of the house was up and served me coffee, at 3:30 in the morning. Now that is GOOD service. One more very important thing for me, she spoke English. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cr

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Very good hotel. The room was clean and good decorated and near to the city. The staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingwood, TX

Fabulous Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Very nice place to stay. Large room with access to patio. Great breakfast. Close to Central Market and other historical sites in Zone 1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendell from Reno, NV

Very nice change from the hotel scene.

Posted May 11, 2014
Quiet and very intimate setting. Breakfast was great and the live in host even set up plate and silverware for a delivery order. She does not speak English, but she will get you in easy contact with general manager, Sophie, living nearby who does speak fluently in both languages. They are both very friendly and service oriented! Front is a little spooky at night but in the day is fine. Just a couple blocks from sixth street which is closed to traffic and has lots of food and shopping. It is a great alternative to staying downtown. Rooms are upstairs and care should be taken with carpets as there are no slip free pads underneath. Talked the manager about that. Also, ask for rooms away from street if available. Traffic is busy until around 10 pm. I will stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from Minnesota, USA

Small B&B in central Guatemala City

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: The proprietor and interior ambiance.
Cons: Barking dog in neighborhood and lack of instructions in room about locations of nearby restaurants and stores.
Location: Somewhat seedy and depressed but safe.
This small B&B is located in an old and nicely maintained/restored home a few blocks from the pedestrian street (6th Ave.) in central Guatemala City. The proprietor, Sonia, speaks excellent English and attended colllege and worked in the U.S. She was very helpful to us in arranging a day trip to Antigua and in ensuring that our stay was pleasant, and we enjoyed meeting her and her family and talking about things in Guatemala. Breakfast was very good but given that the hotel advertises itself as a B&B, it was surprising that it entailed an additional charge of $5 per person. The streets around the hotel, as in all of central Guatemala City, are rather run-down and probably not for those expecting "first world" luxury, but we felt safe walking around the area. We found some nice restaurants in easy walking distance but would have appreciated a list and map in our room telling us where restaurants and stores were located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Es un lugar bello, acogedor y limpio.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Me senti alojado como en casa. La amabilidad de Rosa es càlida y muy considerada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eins der besten Hotels in Guatemala City!!!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Der nette Empfang und der Kolonialstil.
Cons: War alles Perfekt!!
War zwar nur eine nacht dort aber das schon das zweite mal und kann jedem nur empfehlen.Tolles Hotel sehr gute Ausstattung saubere Zimmer,Shuttelservices hat hervorragend geklappt,trotz verspaetung unseres Fluges stand der Besitzer am Flughafen und hat auf uns gewartet.Seine Frau spricht Englisch und allesin allem war es sehr gut.