Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Good location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Terrible, the staff is mean and disrespectful dont recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa clarita CA

Good hotel close to downtown

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Although we didn't get our rooms (3) until almost 4pm the hotel itself is good. I appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms and it's facilities. They need to work on their Check In process as we had to stand in line every 15 minutes, per their request, to see if our rooms were ready; this was ridiculous. They could have alerted us once our rooms were ready since Check in was at 3pm and we had children. One major thing about the room is that the beds were as hard as laying in bricks. My back hurt every morning. If you're ok with this then everything else is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Grand Tikal

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Staff is very helpful
Cons: I must say the renovations to the restaurant came out less than they way it looked before. Almost too sterile. I like the previous layout better.
Location: I am working when I visit, but I really like Antigua when I have the time to visit.
I stay at the Grand Tikal exclusively. Great breakfast, restaurant, convenient location for my business travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Convenient to the mall

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Great Pool area and a fantastic Breakfast and Lunch Buffet The Master suites are reasonably priced and worth the extra $$ Safe
Location: Easy access to transportation two malls next door, casino at base
I think the Hotel will be one of the best eventually, It still has some kinks to work out such as finishing construction and weeding out the staff that dont belong
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gerardo

Great Hotel

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very complete, it has everything you need, the restaurant is great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala city.

Pleasing hotel with good price.

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: good service, cleanliness, room rates, quietness .
Cons: Hotel hostess don't read the Expedia reservation completely when you're at the counter desk, so you have to explain if you have breakfast included.
Location: Miraflores Mall,Roosevelt street so you can take a taxi to Antigua Guatemala or to zone1 or zone10. or a tour. Bus is not recommended due delinquents
The overall experience was excellent, good service, rooms were really clean, my reservation was upgraded to executive floor due high number of guests with no extra cost, so I had access to royal lounge with free snacks and beverages that made My stay better. I would recommend the royal floor if you book on this hotel. Always ensure to explain the host that you reserved with breakfast included (if you did) since they will not read the Expedia reservation completely and will not include if you don't remind to them. if you are going to walk outside the hotel, be aware since is not the best place in the city to walk with cameras or to much money, since there are bus stops in the front of hotel and in Guatemala is dangerous to travel using bus. better use yellow taxi, or ask in the hotel to call a taxi or use a tour company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Elegant Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Only stayed one night but it was s great experience. Room was beautiful and so was the bathroom. Breakfast was the best, great assortment and friendly staff. I gave it a 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

brand new hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Go for the larger room worth the extra money for the great Amenities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Read the fine print before booking

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Some of the staff members in the restaurant area are very friendly and food is ok
Cons: As mentioned in the menu, many detailed things make the hotel not a value for the money paid.
Location: Location is not good at all
The booking was done wrong to begin with by Expedia since we asked for a DBL Bedroom and the booking was done for a king bed. Then continental breakfast that was advertised on the site it is actually for the Royal Floor which is nothing more than a semi private floor with very limited menu. The real continental breakfast is on the second floor but for some reason, if you are on the Royal Floor and access to the Royal Room, you need to pay out of your pocket. Neighborhood is not the best to go out with a family and the good shopping mall is at a walking distance but you have to go thru a fast station and "recommended" to be on alert. The staff was not very accommodating. We went to the Royal Room and got denied access because it was already 30 minutes before close and they were setting up breakfast for the next day. Anyway. a bunch of details that do not make this hotel an enjoyable experience. Sure there are much better choices at a better price.