Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Boutique Hotel, excellent rooms, excellent attention, they make you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Rafael, CA.

Beautiful building with historical atmosphere.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Room, general atmosphere of the former monastery.
Cons: Nothing much.
Location: In the old city, about 4-5 blocks from the center. Great city to walk in. One block from the amazing Santo Domingo hotel, worth a visit.
Loved our room, breakfast on the roof (could see the volcano erupting). Hotel is quite beautiful, about 10 minutes walk from the center of town. Staff is very helpful. Hotel is kept in great shape with gardens and beautiful room garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gregory from London

Lovely stay in beautiful setting

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
My fiancée and I stayed one night here at the start of a 2 week trip around Guatemala. We arrived late at night due to the flight we took, but this was no problem and the staff were waiting to greet us as we arrived. From start to finish the stay was very pleasant. Sor Juana looks like a run down building on an old cobbles street from the outside, but on entering you a stunned by the difference that hits you. It is truly stunning inside, a cross between someone's chic home and a Roman courtyard. The bedroom was beautiful and unique, breakfast on the roof terrace lovely, especially surrounded by the Antiguan volcanoes as we ate. I would highly recommend this for a place to stay while in Antigua.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Recomendable

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: el estilo colonial y el panorama que ofrece vista a los volcanes.
Cons: La limpieza si se podría mejorar, es el único detalle, no cambian sabanas diario y el baño requiere mayor limpieza, ya que el lavabo olía un poco feo
Location: Fui a un evento privado y es muy agradable y tranquila la antigua, conventos, museos.
El lugar es tranquilo y el personal muy amable. El desayuno en la terraza es muy agradable en general el lugar tiene una vibracion muy tranquila y da gusto regresar al hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guatemala

Excelente servicio y bien ubicado fuera del centri

Posted May 3, 2015
Muy buena atención por parte del dueño, el Sr. Julio y demás empleados. Excelentes vistas al volcán y desayuno formidable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan from California, USA

Cozy and Friendly

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Because it's a tiny hotel, the service is very personalized. They must have a ratio of more than one employee per room. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. We happened to arrive on a very hot day, and they happily brought in a fan at our request. The bathroom is spacious, the shampoos and soaps are high quality, linens are nice, the internet works great, there's a nice T.V., the location is on the main street into the center plaza, about a 5-minute walk away along a store and restaurant-filled road. I would definitely stay again on my next visit to Antigua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lynette from Panama

Excellent!

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
It was wonderful! Had a lovely time and stay at Sor Juana. The owner, Julio, such a great host, so hospitable, kind, making sure everything was suited for one to feel comfortable and pleased... Most definitely recommend! 5 stars for this one. The room was impeccable, bathroom as well, towels and linens and the room so cozy with the chimney. They offer shared shuttle service to the airport for 15 usd, which is a great price. Very happy I chose Sor Juana for my stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeffrey from Philadelphia

Most hospitable place to stay in Antigua

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
We had an amazing time at Sor Juana. Julio and Alejandro go above and beyond to make sure you feel welcome and are incredibly friendly. They both speak fluent English and have great recommendations on what to do and see in Antigua. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking volcanoes and surrounded by beauty. The kitchen uses many of the fruits grown on the property. The location is set apart from the busy areas of Antigua, but still easily convenient to everything in town. You can walk everywhere in twenty minutes or less. The room was very clean and we were provided bottles of filtered water on request for drinking and brushing teeth. The hotel also filled up our water bottles before we left to explore each day. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Sor Juana - it was a great value and unbeatable hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Feeling just like at home

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The staff. Even though we couldn`t have breakfast for some reason they prepared something for us to take
Cons: More light in the bathroom.
Location: Everything you could need is close by.
The complete staff was making sure you have all your needs to feel comfortable at all times. The hotel was even better than a 5 star hotel although it is very small. Homemade Breakfast was delicious. The terrace, where breakfast is served is very relaxing and had a beautiful view and plants all around. I What we appreciate was that if we wanted coffer or tea during the day it was served. It was a very pleasant experience which we would definitely go there again, I recommend Sor Juana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephan from DC

Lovely quiet place with beautiful roof terrace

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Just spent 3 nights at this lovely small hotel. Friendly staff, nice room, great breakfast. Best is the roof terrace with beautiful views of the surrounding volcanoes. Nothing to complain about...