Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, rooms and amenities

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Great hotel, room was a really good size, comfortable and clean. Separate shower and jacuzzi bath. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel terrible people

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The hotel was very good, just the lobby staff took about an hour to check us in and didnt even smile ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuernavaca

Old Room

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I stayed there before and I loved it. However this time they set me up in a room that had a scent of old. The carpets that lead there had stains. Ans the check in process was very slow. The manager couldn't even find my reservation trough expedia. So it took a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wolfgang from Geneve

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
The service needs to improve
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice facility, but needs updating.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Architecture was really nice. Loved the candles lining the bridge at night.
Cons: Pool area needs a lot of work. Beds could be softer. Mildew smell needs to be removed from the rooms.
Location: Location is up on a hill overlooking the city. Nothing to do near by...need to go down into the city.
Lovely facility - however, it leaves a lot to be desired. I stayed there for 13 nights. I was very disappointed by the beds. They were uncomfortable and hard. The pillows were nice though. My room smelled a bit musty. I couldn't use the drawers in the dresser due to a strong mildew smell. I tried to sit by the pool but there were only uncomfortable wooden folding chairs. Plus, the pool was dirty and had broken tiles. It wasn't inviting at all. The staff members were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, many did not speak English. If I were fluent in Spanish, it would've been better. Housekeeping staff was amazing!! Very thorough...even with mildew smells. Had several problems in my room - but they fixed promptly. The location is not good if you are there on business as the traffic is ridiculous getting up and down the hill each day. Sometimes took over 45 minutes when it should've been a 5 minute drive. You can hear the traffic in your room. And the view from my room was non-existent due to the trees in front of my windows. There is only 1 restaurant, although you can get snacks and sushi in the bar. Gift shop is teeny tiny. There are 2 other stores - although I was only able to visit one since the other was never open during my entire stay. Since I travel to Guatemala on business regularly, I will not be staying at this hotel again due to the inconveniences. Nice place to host a wedding or big event...but not the place to "hang your hat" at the end of a work day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2015
I would stay there again, really beautifull and excellent service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, great service.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Very comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SC, USA

Exceptionally nice 5 star hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: Vending and Ice availability
Excellent facility, and quite attractive as well. Comfortable, elegant rooms, restaurants and grounds as well. It's one of the better, if not best hotels I have ever stayed in, actually, and I have been around quite a bit. The only nit-picking complaint I can mention is the difficulty I had getting ice (no dispensers) or any vending machines. I had to call to request cold sodas. Other than that, High Marks all around!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luis R from Puerto Rico

Excellent facilities, poor service

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is beautifull...is a place to get away from the city center, although is only 7 minutes away. It has a wonderfull view of the city, the structure is arabic in form, is impecably mantained, and the rooms are huge and richly furnished. It is a 5 star hotel except in one thing: the attitude of the front desk people is horrible: dry and dismissive, uncorteous, they need re-training and supervision badly! They would not have any concierge service, no advice as to anything, no literature about the city or the maya ruins to visit, they could not help us to change a plane reservation because the "management prohibits it". In sum, the sevice is very deficient for tourists who are first time travelers to Guatemala...others hotels in the area provided an excelent service and were very helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anya from Ottawa

Relaxing Stay at a Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
The staff here were great - from the waitstaff, who spoke very good English and were personable, to the front desk staff who spoke excellent English. The front desk booked us a driver to drive us to, and pick us up from, the central market, as the hotel isn't really all that close to much. We had a king suite room that was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and the couch great for relaxing and reading. The bathroom was spotless. The restaurant was beautiful, however the food was somewhat lacking in flavours - it was tasty, but could use more spices.