Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalispell, MT

Nicest hotel in Guatemala

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We took a tour of Guatemala and drove all over the country for a week and stayed every night in a different hotel. I didn't feel good about it all until we made it to this hotel. It was clean modern and comfortable. By all means stay at this hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Convenient location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice hotel, clean room, very helpful staff.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
I enjoyed this hotel, fast check in. Very helpful staff. Comfortable and clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Very nice moderately priced hotel. The staff was very helpful, even provided a fruit breakfast when I departed prior to the serving time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Good Hotel for one Night

Posted May 18, 2016
We were a group of 4 and we were expecting to share beds, but for our surprise the room had 4 beds, so we sleep comfortably. Everything seems clean, but we found an intimate piece of cloth from somebody else, which gives indication that it wasn't cleaned properly. The staff and the restaurant were very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most miserable experience!!!

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Despite many emails and phone calls from Expedia, the Hotel still forgot to pick me at the Airport -- being a single, disable femal who do not speak Spanish @ Midnight-- you ca imagine my horror. To add insults to injuries, the hotel gave me a smoking room with a broken window (after many phone calls and emails requesting that this need to be non-smoking ) Needless to say, I was sleepless for the night from the banging of the broken window, and was sick from the filthy foul smelling room. Shame on you Howard Johnson Guatemala City!!! In conclusion, DO NOT STAY here, and if you have to, absolutely refuse to take room 313 and 309!! What a damp!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Rowan Ontario Canada

Very comfortable hotel near the airport.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Comfortable rooms, good restaurant, efficient staff.
Cons: The elevator could be much larger.
Location: Close to the Guatemala airport and close to several museums.
We were very impressed with the staff who were friendly and helpful in spite of our lack of Spanish. The beds were comfy and lots of hot water in the shower. Because we had to leave early in the morning before breakfast, the staff was kind enough to provide us with a large container of fresh fruit and hot coffee to take with us. We would definitely stay there again if ever in Guatemala.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice area

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Nice and clean and secure at the reach of a lot of stores
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2015
The accomodations and room are too old, the hotel dont have the howard johnson's standards, only the name!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel with lots of character.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Close to airport with free shuttle and breakfast included.
Cons: A fridge bar and snacks would have helped as we arrived at 1030 pm and had not eaten all day.
Location: Only used as a quick overnight stay.
Very close to airport with fantastic personnel transfer. The breakfast was included in a delightful dining room. Do not expect five star, but great value for money.