Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA, CT.

Terrible I would not come back ever again

Posted Aug 30, 2016
I booked Corona Hotel based on the 3.5 stars ...But this hotel doesn't deserved not even 1star. On Expedia the pictures of the hotel room where a big room 3 beds but when I got there the room was so small we couldn't even walk around it was horrible. My youngest daughter lost her socks I couldn't find it, so I bend down looking under the bed and guess what??!!! I found a plastic bottle from who knows when and a lot of dirt that shows that housekeeping doesn't even pass the broom under the beds, towels smells like damp horrible A/C located in bad spot right above the head of the bed my head almost froze I had to cover my head with a blanket, you could hear the traffic and people talking then drunks singing until 3am ...it was a nightmare I couldn't sleep at all and my flight was for next morning at 9am. When I checked in I was told breakfast is served at 6:30am, we got ready went down to eat and i asked if the cafeteria was open the receptionist said OH I'm sorry is open at 6:30am only on Sundays ....I said what?? So what day do you think it is today because today is Sunday she replied yes but only today opens at 7am ....my husband got so angry for all the hell of the night we went through plus breakfast not available for our kids to eat it was terrible the service. I would NOT recommend this hotel to nobody because you will regretted like I did, I feel so bad that the hotel that I usually book it was sold out then I used this hotel Corona which was my worst choice ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Farcical booking on Expedia

Posted Mar 8, 2015
We booked this hotel on expedia from the Airport area in Guayquil ( search showed 4 rooms available) Drove 4 km to the hotel in crazy local traffic at 8pm. When we arrived about 30 mins later the hotel had the booking but said there were no rooms available and moved us to another hotel BACK AT THE AIRPORT!!! The other hotel was OK but the room didn't seem as nice as the one we booked from the pictures. Very frustrating after travelling all day. I work in a hotel (Westin) and understand this happens sometimes but not in 30 minutes. No apology, no compensation was offered. Very unhappy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Close to airport. Area not too safe. Unpleasant noises from other rooms. The staff had minimal English that was not very helpful
1 out of 5
by davenftl from Cuenca, Eucador

Do not use this hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels
After getting two confirmation emails that my room had been booked, upon arriving at 7 PM, I was told that I had not made a reservation and, as a result, the hotel did not have a room for me. They then made me wait almost an hour and a half without telling me what was going on. After many complaints at the front desk, the finally told me they found another hotel for me. In that hotel, the power went out for the night and I slept in a pitch dark, hot, stuffy room. The next morning the hotel provided a private cab for my trip to the airport. On the way, the cab broke down. This was not a pleasant experience. I WOULD NEVER CHOOSE THE CORONA REAL HOTEL as a place to stay in Guayaquil ever again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Utah,USA

Over booked

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of staff and newness of hotel,cleanliness.
Cons: Was there only one day,no recommendation
Location: same as above
Yes my hotel said they over booked and then sent a foreigner to another hotel.I thought they should have sent a native countrymen to the other. The hotel i was to sent was marginal less than Corona Real directly across the airport name of Garzota Inn. It is a good hotel i would stay their again.as for the comfort I would stay at either hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a pleasant experience

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels
First of all there stay does not understand any english which was a major problem with my stay there.Also the neighborhood is not safe.I stayed here for two nights and then later moved to Hotel Garzota Inn which is a 3 star hotel which is cheaper than Corona Real and better as it is more cleaner and safe.Staff at Hotel Garzota Inn understands english and were very helpful.I would not recommend Corona Real to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Rip Off

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: Don't Steal!!!
When I got to this hotel, with confirmed reservations from Expedia, I was told there were no rooms available and they would have to put me in a different hotel pre=paid sight unseen. I watched them check someone in while I was standing there!!! I refused their offer and was told they would not charge my credit card, well 2 days later, they did, now I have to go thru the hassle of disputing the charge!!!!!!!! I've used Expedia quite a bit for my travels, but I think this was the last time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

IVA tax not included even though it says it is

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels
They forgot to call me for a 3:30am wake-up call but luckily I woke up and didn't miss my plane. Taxes were all suppose to be included but they still tacked on the IVA tax.
3 out of 5
by Evaristo from Colombia

Ecuador

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was ok for business trip, but not for more than a couple of days. Bathroom was too small and it shouldn't be rating with 3.5 stars. Maybe 3 max.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christian from Los Angeles, CA, USA

One Night at the Corona Real

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Clean, modern looking room and cable TV.
Cons: None.
Location: I didn't walk around the location. So, no comment.
I was only in the room for one night, but given the short time it was more than satisfactory. The hotel was clean and conveniently located less than 10 from the airport. The food was well priced and tasted good. The actual room was the perfect size and having cable was a plus. The price included breakfast and airport transportation. I couldn't comment on the surrounding area, because I was in my room the entire night. However, I recommend the hotel based off my experience.