Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Dennis J from Long Island, NY

OK hotel for a short stay

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Upon arrival, the hotel looked a little seedy. It turned out OK and it grew on us. The Staff was very nice and helpful but you better speak Spanish. The room and bed were clean, comfortable yet sparse with furnishings. The bathroom was ok, clean but not real new. Hotel is great for a short stay. It was in a good location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Bad services and old hotel slow internet dangerous neighborhoods, hard to find, not quite expected, do not used this hotel and do not recommend at all, unpolite people that don't care about customer services, room not clean look like the 80's hotel that never being renovated, photo and web from real life total different. Hotel is not an 24 services hotel at all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice for 3 days

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: lobby the location
Cons: they must get a complete and clean kitchen
Location: its nearby main atractions
it was confortable but it could be better, the hotel have potential to grow!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
this was our most horrible hotel experience we've ever had. the room had a terrible smell. there was hair in the sink and it did not look like it had been cleaned. the walls were cracked with peeling paint. and the shower curtain was covered in black mold. we ended up just leaving even though we were only suposed to be there a few hours until our early morning flight. this place should be shut down by the health inspector. the staff was very nice, but unable to help.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Run down hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Good location, easy access to the Malecon.
Cons: Staff, cleanliness of rooms, breakfast
Location: Trip advisor has great suggestions. We followed these and enjoyed our time.
We stayed at La Fontana for 3 nights. The staff were very unfriendly and unwelcoming on our arrival. The first night our room was awful - broken double bed (we had booked a king room), mirrow had fallen from the wall, bathroom was dirty, toilet roll holder broken and half the bathroom mirror shattered. We asked to move rooms for nights 2 & 3 which was luckily a great decision. The room was cleaner, had a king bed and good shower. Air conditioning in both rooms works well but horrendously noisy. Breakfast was terrible, we chose to eat out instead. The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the staff. They did not go out of their way to assist with anything. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.

Good location. Three blocks from the malecon.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Our first room had some problems like the air conditioning wasn't working very well and the toilet seat was broken. The staff immediately fixed the problem and eventually moved us to another room that was very nice. Breakfast is included and the staff are very friendly..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Good price but you get what you pay for, duh!

Posted Dec 6, 2015
No water for first few hours we got there (was told it was b/c cleaning staff had been using water...couldn't shower, toilet water was off. Only provided very basics. Sort of clean enough... We wouldn't go back - next time will pay the extra $$ to go to the Palace or Hampton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

You won't get of what you pay

Posted Nov 29, 2015
1.No WiFi in the room 2.breakfast supposed to be until 9am, at 8:30 am, breakfast was over so no breakfast 3.smoke detector on ceiling was out of battery which was annoying bipping. I told staff several times about it but management was stingy to buy a battery
4 out of 5
by Phebe from The Universe

Depends on which room you get.

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
Some rooms are great, some are so-so. Comfortable, staff is nice, decent breakfast, and good location in Guayaquil. No elevator!
3 out of 5
by Phebe from The Universe

Some good rooms, some mediocre

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
We started in a large room for our first night. Then the hotel needed our room for a large group, and moved us into a tiny room for our second night. For our third to fifth nights, we were moved into the deluxe room, which seemed only fair since we had to keep moving our stuff - including from floor to floor. The staff was wonderful, the large room and the deluxe room were great. The small room wasn't worth the price we paid. So, mixed review. Clean, well-located, with a decent breakfast. Helpful and kind staff. Note that the hotel is up one flight of stairs from street level - and the rest of the hotel is on that 2nd floor or the following two storeys. There is no elevator, nor are there lobby boys to assist with luggage. So take that into consideration when you book.