Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Location is very good

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location
The staff was friendly and the location was good. Only downside was the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A Hidden Oasis in Old Quito.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Good location, quiet but a steep climb up the hill after a long day in Quito Viejo.
Service is outstanding, the room was comfortable but spartan and lacked a closet/armoire and places to store/hang clothing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Worn out overpriced hostel. Look elsewhere!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Beside having a good location this place is not a good choice. Over priced, worn out hostel, bathrooms and rooms are not too clean .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy room floors

Posted Mar 26, 2016
We chose this facility due to being pet friendly, I have seen kennels with cleaner floors. We wiped them up ourselves but still wouldn't walk around bare footed. Staff was quite friendly & food tasty Just can't overlook having to use two towels on the floor as soon as we arrived which both turned completely black & brown. The poor fitting sliding door made the street noise below seem like we were outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A nostalgic with a smile

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Alive and lively with community events, youthful environment, catering to the arts. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Higher standard of maintenance especially in shared bathrooms. Cleanliness was ok.
Location: On malecon
The Manso is deeply embedded in the arts and sustainability communities. The owner Ricardo has a soul that extends into the Manso itself. Close to the malecon a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Newport News, VA

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The location and friendliness of staff
Cons: Need to have consistent hot water. The owner is working on this. Even without hot water, showers are bearable.
Location: Borders the Malecon 2000 and historic buildings and parks.
We used this hotel to venture out to the Malecon 2000, historical buildings and parks. It was a great location. The hotel itself is being renovated and still needs work but the friendlliness and cooperation of the staff far outweigh any inconvenience. It has hostel rooms as well and we had wonderful conversations with many backpacking travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The rooms on the street side are nice

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: The Hotel has an creative unique ambience. The room had amenities like a good air conditioning, closet space, big window, bedside lights.
Cons: The breakfast could use a little more butter or jam. Boiled eggs and white bread were a little meager.
Location: The Malecon and the Museum of Archeology and Contempory Art.
We went to Guayaquil to see the Archeological Museum and the Malecon. This was a perfect locale for this The walk up the Malecon and the city park was exceptionally lovely. The room overlooked the Malecon and the river . Our room was comfortable and airy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice place just across El Malecon 2000

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The room was very inviting, with a comfortable bed, cable tv and Wi-Fi access. Breakfast was included and there where balcony areas on each floor overlooking the Malecon 2000. The bathroom had all amenities including a bidé and hot water
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

great location on Malecon near museum and artisana

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: everything - decor plumbing - noise interior - food
Location: close walk to museum, la pena and artisanan market
Location saves this otherwise disappointing hotel. Noisy street is acceptable but interior noise including staff jabbering all day and night - decor abominable - tub does not work - food awful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry CT

Funky in a good way, would go back

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location, people.
Cons: Shower. (There is no elevator)
Location: Right across the street from the malecon.
Some would consider this about two stars but for what it is, a hostal, it is very nice. Our room was fine but not plush. There was a very comfortable bed, excellent air conditioner, adequate bathroom with shower. Both the guests and workers made our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was good, not great.The location can't be beat. Our room overlooked the malecon and river. Clincher was the photo of me in the yellow hammock celebrating my 75th.