Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahia de Caraquez

Lost reservation

Posted Jul 28, 2016
When we arrived at the Murali (which is a challenge to find, to say the least) we were told that our online reservation made through Hotels.com was not received by the Murali, and they were full. They offered to find us another hotel,but we decided to find one on our own, which we did in the same area. We've stayed at the Murali before without any problems.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The place was nice but they need more friendly workers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Guayaquil airport

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: Lack of hot water in shower
The hotel was clean. I never figured out the hot water, so took cold shower. Don't know if there wasn't any hot water or I didn't wait long enough for it to be hot. Hotel staff not very friendly. Breakfast was scrambled egg w/ white toast and coffee. Milk for coffee was curdled. We paid $66. The hotel didn't have our reservation, so I was glad to have reservation printed out from internet. The cost of rooms at the desk was slightly higher. It was not worth the $66.00 paid, but it was not bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel for airport layover

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels
close to the airport (5 min walk, $1.5 by regular taxi, or $5 by hotel taxi). Nice staff with limited english-speaking skills. They served us an early breakfast for our early morning flight. The rooms are small but they have hot water and central AC. they also have a refrigerator.
4 out of 5
by Jeff from Denver

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels
Good clean rooms close to airport, not alot of dining choices, but the staff very friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by Romel Tintin from Quito Ecuador

They still have to improve a lot

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels
When I arrived I was informed that they changed me to other Hostal whitout prior advice, because Muralli Hostal Guayaquil has no vacancy, though I had confirmed my reservation. They offered free breakfast but I have to return paying taxi the next morning, because the other Hostal have no restaurant. One positive thing: they returned me one lost thing I remain at the room. They still have to improve a lot to give good quality of service to customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Olympia, WA

Good location close to airport and bus terminal.

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Big rooms and good location
Location: didn't do anything but go to the store to buy some snack. It was raining and we were only there as a stopover from Galapagos to Cuenca.
The staff were friendly and the room was spacious compared to other hostels we have stayed in. The bathroom was also large and everything seemed clean. The breakfast was also good. There was a man sort of hanging out there that apparently was a taxi driver, and when we were ready to leave in the morning, he took us to the van company to catch our ride to Cuenca. When we arrived at the desk of the van company my husband realized that he had dropped his wallet in the taxi. The lady at the desk called back to Murali and told them the story. Within 5 minutes the driver was back to us with the wallet, all contents intact. We were very lucky he hadn't had a fare after us, but we felt very fortunate to have encountered such an honest person after what we had read about taxi drivers in Guayaquil.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie & Terry from Samborondon

Good Location Close to Airport & Shopping

Posted Aug 10, 2013
We chose the for its relatively low cost, its convenient location and available amenities such as wi-fi and a refrigerator. It was a pleasant surprise to find the staff very friendly, kind, accommodating and helpful. When we needed photocopies, scans and printouts of various documents they were happy to provide them at no cost. When we need a driver and interpreter to look for a rental house, they knew just the guy to call. Nice new bath and very clean. Great wood doors and wood touches. Lovely place. All in all, it turned out to be a great choice for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from San Francisco, CA, USA

Clean, well maintained hotel near the airport

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: Free Internet available in the lobby. Free, five-minute calls to the US/Canada.
Cons: Need to pay for the entire stay when checking in
Location: Very well-located, near Av. Las Americas and about one kilometre from the Airport.
While nothing luxurious, this is a clean, secure hotel to stay at and the hotel staff is helpful and kind. In addition, it is relatively reasonable and is not far from the airport. Also, the Bus Rapid Transit terminal (Rio Daule) is about 10-15 minutes on foot and buses go from there to the downtown for only US0.25.
4 out of 5
by Linda Biemer

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel staff was very helpful regarding getting a cab, a place to eat, and changing money. And the breakfast was very nice. However, there was no restaurant as the website stated. It was very hard to find because there was no hotel sign nor were there a lot of street signs in the area; our driver spent over 30 minutes trying to find the hotel.