Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, UK

Pros and Cons

Posted Sep 15, 2016
We're a retired couple who stayed a week in early/mid Sept on a bed and breakfast basis, staying in the Annex. We'd hired a car and found there was plenty of parking space (some of it rather rough and ready) including an area next to the Annex. The hotel is peaceful and characterful - an old country Palazzo in a small park, furnished in period style - but close to both the "old road" to Gubbio and the faster SS219. It's convenient for frequent visits to the splendid mediaeval city of Gubbio (7km away) and for day tours through the beautiful areas of northern and central Umbria, the Apennine mountains, Urbino and eastern Tuscany, all of immense historic and artistic interesaat. The hotel is really only useful for those with cars. The staff were unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, with a safe and a minibar, and the cleanliness and the ensuite were fine. Breakfast was an ample buffet. However, the place seemed curiously under-powered. Exterior signs are poor and the website (in Italian only) is inadequate and sometimes misleading (eg there's no formal laundry service). Nobody seemed to be staying in the main Palazzo, which appeared half closed. Half the terrace seating was upended, with leaves piling up on the tables, and in the hottest Italian September for 100 years the swimming pool was unusable because of inadequate cleaning. No evening meals or lunches were being served at all, we noticed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma

Wonderful location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We went here to visit the neighborhood, Gubbio Perugia Spoleto and other little cities, and we had such a good time. The staff is very kind and friendly, the location is stunning, a castle built in 1064, very peculiar, The pool is comfortable and due to the few rooms (less than 20) quite and relax are assured. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by Robert from Leyburn, North Yorkshire

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult to find, no restaurant, 8km from Gubbio & restaurants. Wifi limited to reception area and weak signal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr.Robert , We are along the highway that leads to Gubbio , not in the mountains and not isolated , not so difficult to find . Gubbio is located 7 km,but this is an information present everywhere , it doesn't say anywhere that we are in the center , or near the center . The nearest restaurant is 500 meters , reachable on foot , another typical restaurant is located 2 km away and there are others within 3 km . The wifi , as written in each portal of online booking , is present only in the castle and is fully functional . Best regards .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Il weekend è stato ottimo nonostante le recensioni negative. Personale gentile, struttura bella e antica e molto facile da raggiungere. Un vero paradiso...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Da un 4 stelle ci si aspetta di più!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: L'hotel/castello è bellissimo dall'esterno e gli arredi interni. Il personale molto gentile.
Cons: La camera assolutamente da rinnovare.
Location: La posizione dell'hotel è tranquilla ma a pochi kilometri da Gubbio.
Il castello è davvero suggestivo ma tutti i clienti vengono ospitati in una depandance. Anch'essa niente male come ambientazione, ma la camera era scadente. Sicuramente da rinnovare. Specie il bagno. Il ristorante interno, previsto dal sito e dall'offerta, è chiuso da anni.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Autentisk middelalderligt hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hvis man er til autensitet, ridderborge, mørke rum og edderkoppespind er dette sted berigende. Morgenmaden var rigtig fin og den rette ridderstemning er der som dengang i middelalderen. Men omgivelserne og værelset var ikke til 4 stjerner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel pas cher

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
La chambre était propre et le personnel aimable. Idéal pour les petits budgets. Sinon il ne faut pas être regardant l'hôtel semble à l'abandon, la piscine est hors service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Si poteva far meglio con poco

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
L'albergo dispone di 2 strutture. Quella principale che ho utilizzato solo per la reception e la colazione, e la "depandance" dove abbiamo alloggiato. Questa seconda struttura è meno scenografica e un pò più "strettina". Il personale è gentile e disponibile ma deve affrontare le piccole miopie della proprietà: luci fioche al bagno, colazione internazionale da caserma, personale delle pulizie ridotto. Potrebbero fare di più con poco...ed è un peccato perchè la struttura merita.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Ottimo soggiorno, personale eccezionale, colazione buona. Suggestivo