Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tahoe

Great for a quick stop

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Cons: Heaters should be turned on prior to guest arrival.
Location: Brewery's, wine tasting, coastal outings, shopping, river fun
Checked in late. Keys were in lock box. It was easy. Room was cold, bed was loud and VERY firm. Lov this property however. It's really quaint, convenient, amazing restaurant and the location is fantastic whether you are coming from the wine country or headed t the coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morgan Hill, Ca.

Cozy close to town

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice staff, clean cabins however, they are not very quite. You can hear all the voices from outside as it they were in your cabin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dawn Ranch Weekend

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The grounds were very pretty and the staff helpful and friendly.
Cons: Cabin Windows that open would have been nice for the warm evenings we were there. Glass instead of plastic water glasses. More reasonable pricing.
Location: The Russian River runs along the property.
The ambiance, location, staff and continental breakfast overlooking the redwoods and pool were great. The cabin was disappointingly small and lacked all but basic necessities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Cameron M, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are committed to giving our guests the best possible experience. We are excited about some needed upgrades coming to our historic cabins alongside the pool. We take every comment into consideration. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Don't go.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
No wifi, no tv, no side tables, no lampshade ((single bulb over bed!), smallest bathroom I've ever seen, cold, dirty pool; you get the picture. We stayed for an hour before finding somewhere else to stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
We admit our renovated historic 1905 cabins set among ancient redwoods are not for everyone. And while vintage chairs as side tables and vintage hanging light may not be your thing; we do get many compliments on the look. Back in 1905 cabins didn't have bathrooms; so yes they are tiny. We note on our website Home page that we do not have TV's in the cabins. We checked the wi-fi in this guest's cabin (on a smartphone which has the weakest wifi receiver of all hand-held electronic devices) and it worked for us so we are perplexed that it didn't work for you. On Labor Day weekend the temps were over a hundred and the cool pool was quite popular. As for dirty; well the pool is surrounded by those ancient redwoods and other giant trees and it is close enough to fall that leaves are falling. We follow all recommended standards for pool cleanliness...our most recent County of Sonoma inspection was A+...but we can't sweep for leaves whilst the pool has guests enjoying it. We wish you safe travels wherever you go. Best, Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Pool area and grounds
Cons: WIFI
The grounds are beautiful. The cottages are very cute. The only complaint that I would have is there was no WIFI at all. When I asked about it, I was told I was too far away and that there were too many people. The cottage really isn't user friendly. There is no where to set you luggage or put your clothes away. Nothing in the bathroom to put your toiletries on. I ended up bringing in a night stand from the bedroom. The non existence WIFI would be the main reason I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, What cabin were you staying in? We have super strong wifi on property around the lodge area. Unfortunately with the redwood trees and foliage, the wifi signal does not reach inside all the cabins. Thank you, Jason
4 out of 5
by THELMA

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Hello Thelma, Thank you for sharing your opinion! Cheers, Jason
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san leandro, ca

beautiful grounds

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: grounds and cottages
Cons: some of the cottages where in disrepair but just staying a couple days not buying them.
Location: located close a few minutes walk to every thing
Staff was friendly and was a quiet most of the time. It is a bit to the busy highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jason, Hotel Management
Hello Virg, Thank you for sharing your opinion. Dawn Ranch was built in 1905, and pre-dates the highway! We wish the highway was not built as close as well. Cheers, Jason
4 out of 5
by Jaye

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
The cabin was very small. Not representative of the picture in the advertisement. However, the bed was very comfortable and the amenities were awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Hello Jaye, Thank you for sharing your opinion. The cabins were built in 1905 and are small in comparison to today's standards. We do not use any special photography techniques to make them appear larger than reality. If you decide to return, I would suggest a Green Meadow Chalet. This cabin type has a larger bathroom as well as a sitting/sun room for the extra space you desire. Cheers, Jason
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were a bit too basic and small for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your opinion. The cabins on property were built in 1905 and considered by some small in today's standards. If you decide to return in the future, I would suggest a Green Meadow Chalet. These cabins have a larger bathroom as well as a sitting/sun room that could provide the extra space you desire. Sorry to hear you did not like the simplicity of the cabin. Hopefully you did enjoy the 15 acres of mature landscaping as well as the complimentary continental breakfast with daily house made pastries. Cheers, Jason
3 out of 5
by Miriam

Feedback on recent stagy

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
If one loves tent camping then this is one step above. Bed comfortable, shower ok. No television. Pool looked inviting. Bottom line, I thought it was a fun experience because it was different than a hotel; my husband did not share my viewpoint!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us!