Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Overall very good. Breakfast was excellent. Room was pretty big. The only thing was that it took me a longgg time to figure out how to turn on the shower head. Also there are limited sockets in the room and were at awkward places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Nice hotel good sized rooms with a heath club and close to the university.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to hear you had a good stay. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to University

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Good location to university. It has good facilities. It needs a refurbishment and could be a lot cleaner. The bathroom smelled like mould - yes I know it is damp in England. There were some black spots on the tile. The carpet was less than clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am most concerned and so sorry to hear you felt the hotel could of been cleaner. Please be assured this is not typical of our usual high standards. Your comments have been forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager for her review and immediate action. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, in order to restore your faith with us. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Easy access by bus to the university and town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Clean room and comfy bed. Bathroom reasonably large and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
For a reasonably cheap hotel we could not have been happier. Lovely facilities, very comfy bed and the staff could not have been more helpful. We would definitely stay here again .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was OK - though restaurant was one large room - completely utilitarian - no atmosphere or comfort
Mis-sold the hotel room.Booked and pre paid for a twin bedded room with two double beds. Not available on arrival - put into a twin bedded room with two single beds (which was freezing cold as well!) No compensation offered - just tough luck not for booking via actual hotel web site
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am most concerned and truly sorry to hear there was some confusion with regards to the room type which had been booked. I have advised our Reservations Manager of this issue for her to look into further so that in the future we can prevent such incidents from reoccurring. I do hope, however, that in all you enjoyed your time with us and other standards and service came up to your expectations. Once again, my sincerest apologies and I do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sutton

One Night

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Had been invited to a wedding in chiddingfold and this was the closest available hotel. Staff were polite and curtious, the hotel was clean and the room was as shown on line. Unfortunately we were unable to make use of the spa facilities. The breakfast was freshly cooked and not sitting on the hot plate for the entire morning. Overall a very nice if not brief stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PRESTON LANCASHIRE

handy for pirbright army camp.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: THE BREAKFAST .
Cons: BETTER FRIDGE THAT WENT COLD QUICKER .
stayed for one night only for my sons pass off parade .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Michelle Gillham, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to hear you scored the hotel 5 out 5. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michelle Gillham, Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by Kevin

Expected more

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Didn't have my booking due to a name miss match. When they found my room it was a twin and not a double and they couldn't fix it. Other then that staff were helpful but for the price I wanted more
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experiences and feedback. I am sorry that this appears to have been a disappointing experience. Having looked into the booking, it would appear that your name was not entered correctly at the booking stage, we usually search for bookings by surname and 99.9% of the time we can locate reservations immediately, unfortunately this was not the case for your booking. I have also checked the room type booked and this was for one of our standard double or twin rooms with a description explaining that we could not guarantee a room type as it would be allocated from our best available on arrival. I am sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. With best regards, Adam Quay-Ross Front Office Manager