Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet location

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Hotel was obviously under renervation but nothing was finished properly. Bed sheet was ripped. Lights hanging out of ceiling, door handle fell off. Some health and safety issues as well. But once it is finished properly it will be lovely. Night time was lovely and quite, also bed comfy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Convenient but unfinished

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Well placed for our family wedding but was disappointed with early checkin fee, reception area, building work and unfinished details. Grand possibilities and will be lovely when finished. Wires hanging from wall, bare plaster. Strange choice of a glass door for ensure! But comfortable bed and nice setting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed and seriously bitten

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Read experience, so nothing, won't be back.
Cons: Everything to varying degrees, but change the bed and bedding in room 45 is a must..
Location: Travelling on business, so in and out and no time for any local sight seeing etc.
Sorry to write this but, on arriving at the hotel I had to wait for over ten minutes for someone to turn up at the temporary reception and check me in. On first view of the room everything seemed OK, I was put in room forty five (remember this if you ever risk staying here), this is a large room (four poster bed) & only a bath with one of those hand held showers which would have been ok if there was sufficient water to even quarter fill it which I tried to do in the morning. The guy serving behind the bar was doing his best to run between the bar & serving all meals to resident in what can only be described as a makeshift restaurant. Appreciate the owners are refurbishing the building but cleanliness isn't good with parts of mirrors, plumbing materials, building materials all over the place. Food was acceptable but nothing to right home about, decent enough breakfast and staff trying hard enough. Now the worst bit, I had felt uncomfortable all night, sleepless night scratching so I hadn't slept much (put this down to a strange bed and although it was raining heavily the temperature quite warm. However I notice a few raised spots on my leg and arm which I had obviously been itching in the night. I checked out and mentioned I wasn't particularly happy. I went to work and on returning home after a lot of discomfort and itching all day, I undressed to shower & found I was covered in over 25 bites marks all over my body (had to be from the bed).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Terrible and nothing like the pictures

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Arrived in the evening and had to go through the spa entrance where there was the receptionist and about 5 men sat at the tables staring. Receptionist said that she "upgraded" us to the new rooms and only the air con needed fitting. Got taken to the room; there was only 1 set of towels so requested another set. A few minutes later, someone knocked and before I got the chance to open the door, he opened it and came in?!? Towel was dirty, electrics weren't fitted properly, holes in the wall; it is completely different to any of the photos. No hair dryer or tv as advertised either.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Building site

Posted Jul 6, 2017
No air conditioning,dated room, I wasn't told that the hotel was a building site and very noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

In the process of renovation.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
Cons: The staff could be a little more welcoming. The room was awkward to use so some adjustment to the position of the furniture needed
Location: The area is lovely. There is walking and shopping in Guildford. It has easy access to major roads to London and the South coast.
I stayed at the Manor house hotel last year when it was being renovated. I had hoped that it would be completed by now but it is still being done. I have no real complaints about the hotel as the price was reduced because of the work being carried out and it was perfectly adequate for my needs. However, I felt the staff were dismissive and had an air of 'cant be bothered'. I had hoped to use the swimming pool which looked lovely but felt it would intrude on the staff's get together, as they sat around chatting. My room was newly decorated and was clean and bright. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was good. However, you had to battle your way into the room, because of the day bed for children being so close to the door you couldn't get in to it with your suitcase. The blinds at the window were awkward to use and the windows so high I had to jump up onto the window sill to open them (I am only 5ft tall). Having said all that the place will be lovely when completed and the area is beautiful. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Are they having a laugh? AVOID THIS PLACE..

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Nice Italian restaurant next door...
Cons: Close it and get it finished
We where so looking forward to our spa break, a nice sunny hot day hotel looked amazing in the advert, What a disappointment though! The place is building site, the front looks nothing the picture and is covered in scaffolding we had to wait 20 minutes for someone to check us in and then she informed us we where 30 minutes early and it would cost extra for early check in! When we asked is there somewhere we can get a cup of tea while we wait she totally blanked us! We went to a really nice local cafe and came back (we where hot and tired otherwise we would have gone home) Then we where asked do you want an old room or a nice refurbished one? andthen informed us no rooms had air con! We had to check two rooms before the builders who where working in room next to ours said 32 was ok! NO air con, NO phone or welcome pack/menu etc and the view from our window another building site! We tried out the spa, changing rooms and toilets filthy, hot tub was nice apart from the view, another building site and two sweaty builders mixing concrete outside with cement dust blowing through the open door... This place should close until they have enough rooms up to scratch or at least warn people in the advert...
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

if not for the spa and gym facilities

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: spa and gym
Cons: rooms need improving, restaurant but i know it's undergoing refurbishment
room no wardrobe, small mirror in toilet. blinds broken. i can see builders walking on the rooftop whilst i was lying in bed in the morning. no privacy but i was going home so i did not bother complaining. if not for the spa and gym facilities this hotel is a big letdown. breakfast room felt like a school food hall. for the price of food, you better off eating outside. staff are nice but did not replaced our towels and no water was provided we even needed to get some from the reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

real value for money

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Even though this hotel is being refurbished, it's great value for money with fabulous facilities and beautiful scenery. The staff are really friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted May 31, 2017
Lovely hotel , with stunning views. Hotel is being refurbished but didnt affect our stay. Friendly, helpful staff. Great facilities