Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice shangri-la

Posted Oct 16, 2016
We enjoyed the club room The playroom was just okay and they charge a lot for guests ($20 usd per child) even if you are a club member But the Staff was good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 深圳


Posted Sep 18, 2016
施設は綺麗で良く整備されています。 従業員の笑顔とお客様を大切にするする態度に好感を持ちました。 食事も美味しいです。 桂林に滞在する際は又宿泊したいと思います。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands TX

To crowded, very por service

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing in particular.
Cons: Trying not to allow people to sleep in the reception while waiting for rooms or massive tour buses. Improving food quality. Pool services are Zero..
Location: Far from everything
The hotel is not very well located, the place looks like a crowded Disney hotel in peak season. Service was very poor
5 out of 5
by Isaac

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kwan Sui from Honolulu, Hawaii

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at the hotel was excellent. The service is good. The location of the hotel is however too far from the downtown area. I speak fluent Mandarine and still find problem getting to and from the city activity. My 2nd choice was Sheraton which I moved to on my 3rd day in Guilin. Sheraton is at a superior location but the wifi is so poor it reflect the whole country with so much restriction on information.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

"Shangri-La" means "Hidden Paradise"; Precisely!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: The setting; the garden; the generosity of the building lay-out; the décor; the charming and helpful staff.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Not much to do in the immediate surroundings, but downtown is very nice.
The Shangri-La is a wonderful place, with a beautiful lobby, elegant rooms and comfortable beds. Add to it the charming and very helpful staff and your stay becomes almost perfect. The promotion they offer to join the “Horizon Club” is an excellent deal. It gives you a nice room on the 7th floor and covers your breakfast, which would be extra otherwise. It offers tee and soft drinks all day in the exclusive Sky Club lounge and 5pm snacks which are so generous it becomes a light dinner option. The dinner buffet was not quite what Westerners understand to be Chinese food. For me there were too many sea creatures, but I was told they are healthy. By the way, the Chinese invariably go for the green salads, fruits and, yes, sea creatures; the Westerners go for bacon and French Fries. It shows! The location is a bit on the outskirts of town, but the metered taxis are very cheap. If you need advice about where to go in Guilin, or where to find the only Starbucks in town, ask young Señor Ruben from Mexico; he’ll tell you in several languages, Chinese included.
4 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albert, AB

Beautiful view of the Li Mountains

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very quiet, is situated close to the River and has beautiful views from some of the rooms of the local mountains.
Location: As pickpocketing was an issue according to our local guide, we never ventured outside around the hotel - we only drove with our car/driver and guide
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, but a little out of the way. Our Chinese Guide told us that the area was bad for pickpockets so we never walked around the area. The hotel itself was gorgous and the view from our top floor room overlooked the mountians which looked just like the movies. It was a little on the expensive side, but worth it if you want to spoil yourself a little. We received fresh fruit in the afternoon in our room. The room has a kettle and fridge. The room was a little hot and only one window opened and not far enough to let in any real air. The room was very quiet. We took a day trip on the Li River which was absolutely fabulous and I would reccommend it to everyone wanting to see the local mountains. One of the spots is featured on the Chines $20.00 Yuen. When you land at the other end of the river an hour from Guilin, there is a nice shopping area (but very touristy) and the drive back is interesting as you drive through smaller towns and farm land
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Great place to stay in Guilin

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was super friendly and very eager to make our stay very comfortable.
Location: Unfortunately there aren't may restaurants around. Nonetheless, the staff always recommended us nice places where to eat and visit.
This a proper Shangri-La Hotel: Great staff, amazing facilities and superb service.