Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very good experience and memory. Beautiful hotel location very good. Breakfast delicious and a lot of choices we will back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Hotel with Lots of Amenities!!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This hotel was better than expected, it is more like a resort!! Plenty of things to do and eat, right there at the hotel. Staff there are very friendly and helpful. Lots of the staff speak English, and if they can't figure out what you are asking for, they try to find someone right away to help. There is a travel agency right in the lobby to book any tours that you might want to do. The room was extremely clean and the furniture was in great condition. Plenty of snacks and places to eat at a reasonable price right on site. When we arrived, they did try to get us to upgrade the room, which we decided not to do. We had a "city view" and it would have cost 100 RMB to upgrade to "river view," which was only marginally better. I don't have any kids, so I can't say for sure, but I'd say this hotel has more things to do for kids than I've seen anywhere else in China. There is a feeding zoo with ostriches, but I didn't see that. The hotel is located basically in a big park, and they even have a recommended jogging path for you on a lanyard in the room. The AC was working great, and was definitely needed because it was very humid in Guilin. I've stayed in quite a few other hotels in China, and most of them have inadequate heating and AC systems. Not the case for this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is a GREAT DEAL for the price. Treat yourself and your family by staying here!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Nice hotel with good food

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Clean room, nice health spa , good and relaxing club floor facilities
Cons: Location a bit far from sightseeing activities and surrounding area is not exciting to walk around
Location: Nothing to do nearby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice shangri-la

Posted Oct 16, 2016
We enjoyed the club room The playroom was just okay and they charge a lot for guests ($20 usd per child) even if you are a club member But the Staff was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands TX

To crowded, very por service

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing in particular.
Cons: Trying not to allow people to sleep in the reception while waiting for rooms or massive tour buses. Improving food quality. Pool services are Zero..
Location: Far from everything
The hotel is not very well located, the place looks like a crowded Disney hotel in peak season. Service was very poor
5 out of 5
by Isaac

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kwan Sui from Honolulu, Hawaii

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at the hotel was excellent. The service is good. The location of the hotel is however too far from the downtown area. I speak fluent Mandarine and still find problem getting to and from the city activity. My 2nd choice was Sheraton which I moved to on my 3rd day in Guilin. Sheraton is at a superior location but the wifi is so poor it reflect the whole country with so much restriction on information.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

"Shangri-La" means "Hidden Paradise"; Precisely!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: The setting; the garden; the generosity of the building lay-out; the décor; the charming and helpful staff.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Not much to do in the immediate surroundings, but downtown is very nice.
The Shangri-La is a wonderful place, with a beautiful lobby, elegant rooms and comfortable beds. Add to it the charming and very helpful staff and your stay becomes almost perfect. The promotion they offer to join the “Horizon Club” is an excellent deal. It gives you a nice room on the 7th floor and covers your breakfast, which would be extra otherwise. It offers tee and soft drinks all day in the exclusive Sky Club lounge and 5pm snacks which are so generous it becomes a light dinner option. The dinner buffet was not quite what Westerners understand to be Chinese food. For me there were too many sea creatures, but I was told they are healthy. By the way, the Chinese invariably go for the green salads, fruits and, yes, sea creatures; the Westerners go for bacon and French Fries. It shows! The location is a bit on the outskirts of town, but the metered taxis are very cheap. If you need advice about where to go in Guilin, or where to find the only Starbucks in town, ask young Señor Ruben from Mexico; he’ll tell you in several languages, Chinese included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albert, AB

Beautiful view of the Li Mountains

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very quiet, is situated close to the River and has beautiful views from some of the rooms of the local mountains.
Location: As pickpocketing was an issue according to our local guide, we never ventured outside around the hotel - we only drove with our car/driver and guide
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, but a little out of the way. Our Chinese Guide told us that the area was bad for pickpockets so we never walked around the area. The hotel itself was gorgous and the view from our top floor room overlooked the mountians which looked just like the movies. It was a little on the expensive side, but worth it if you want to spoil yourself a little. We received fresh fruit in the afternoon in our room. The room has a kettle and fridge. The room was a little hot and only one window opened and not far enough to let in any real air. The room was very quiet. We took a day trip on the Li River which was absolutely fabulous and I would reccommend it to everyone wanting to see the local mountains. One of the spots is featured on the Chines $20.00 Yuen. When you land at the other end of the river an hour from Guilin, there is a nice shopping area (but very touristy) and the drive back is interesting as you drive through smaller towns and farm land