Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Tranquility in the midst of frantic tourist area

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Aside from items mentioned above, the hotel is very well located in relation to an array of places of interest, including caves and trails.
Cons: Rental bikes were in rather poor shape.
Very carefully re-furbished buildings, which have been very well maintained. Extremely friendly and competent front office staff (special mention of Tina, our charming hostess) and great service in the restaurant. Breakfast (as included in our package) was satisfying, as was the one pizza dinner that we enjoyed during our stay. Our suite was extremely comfortable, spacious and clean, with access to filtered drinking water much appreciated. All in all, the stay at the Village Inn rates as one of the high points of our tour of China.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Great hotel outside of town in renovated farmhouse

Posted Nov 4, 2014
I stayed here for 3 nights and really loved being here. The room was renovated, it was part of an old farmhouse. It was done very well with big rooms, cool bathroom set up and fixtures. Staff were exceedingly helpful and pleasant. I even ran into one of the staff in town and she helped me make some additional connections that were very helpful and it was her time off. Itwas really nice to be out of the busy town in a peaceful setting. I spent a lot of time on the roof drinking cool drinks, Writing emails, and meeting others they also arranged two days of bicycling for me which I really enjoyed. This was a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slovnia

Nice hotel, staff very helpful

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: nice frendly hotel, staff very helpfull, excelent english
Location: Location is near Jangshou, very quiet
excellent expiriance, hotel is run by very capable manager Ann and she organized some trips and visits even more than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Short visit to Yangshuo

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Guests are welcomed with tea, cookies, and a chilled, wet washcloth to refresh from the hour-long journey (in our case) from Guilin.
Wonderful place to stay outside of Yangshuo town. Staff is incredibly gracious and welcoming and can assist with any local outings a guest could imagine. Beautiful rooms with a focus on sustainability and a roof restaurant serving delicious, fresh food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robert from new zealand

advice for tired travellers

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: the 2 ladies in charge
Cons: the village
Location: ok
Every now and then when travelling in China,you get lucky. We found this place whilst still paying for 3 rooms at the absolutely crap Guilin Plaza. The Yangshou Inn is so good that we left all our luggage in our pre paid rooms in Guilin and stayed here instead. My only complaint is that during July, the so called village was visited by....... 180 large coaches ( yes we counted). this is not the hotels fault but it ruins your exit from the front door as the dust and noise are shocking. I recomend you hire some scooters and go into the mountain villages, stunning people and scenery. Do not visit the stupid tree or do the river cruise they are horrific,tourist factory farming at it's absulute worst. Eat nasi goreng upstairs and have the coconut milkshake........perfection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base to explore the Yangshuo region

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: The staff were all superb. All learning english and easy to communicate with. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
A great welcome at this friendly Inn. Good food, staff helpful and knowledgeable. Had a room in the farmhouse that is large, airy and with all the facilities we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Chicago

Friendly country inn, a short ride from Yangshuo

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: Rooftop restaurant and friendly staff
Cons: Village location a bit removed from other services and activities
Location: 15 minutes from Yangshuo town in small village with limited services
The staff really makes this a great place to stay. Very helpful and friendly. This means a lot in a country that is still developing its tourist infrastructure. Be aware that this hotel is not in Yangshuo town but rather is in Moon Village about a 15 minute / 30 yuan cab ride away. It is set among beautiful scenery but the village itself doesn't offer much beyond curio shops. The hotel roof top restaurant really puts out excellent food at fair prices. We would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from New Zealand

Give Guilin half a day and head for Langshuo!!!

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: I didn't have any problems but I imagine the farmhouse wood floors could be noisy if there were inconsiderate guests
Location: The Moon Village location is very special.
I was in the modernised rather charming traditional farmhouse out the back of the main modern building. There were five ensuite rooms but I was the only guest at the time. The wooden floors might be a bit noisy with a full complement of guests. The locals chatted rather noisily in the lane ouside in the evenings but all was quiet by 10pm. No passing traffic at all. Fruit available and hot water for hot drinks.Aircon.WiFi.Note the matresses are very firm! The staff were great. Luna restaurant on the roof terrace of the main hotel had a good Italian menu. I hired one of the mountain bikes and had a great day cycling the lanes by the local Yangshuo rivers.The main roads have steady traffic but the by-ways are very quiet. One day had heavy rain so I went to the more up-market sister property called the Mountain Retreat even tho' it atually is situated on a river-bank in a wide valley. Good lunch and bar service as the rain poured down outside! Note that Moon Hill is about 9 kilometres away from the frenetic buzz of Yangshuo town. Good cheap taxi service connections can be arranged by the reception desk. Moon Hill has a main street which has been by-passed by the main highway. A quiet safe street with twenty or more grocery stores and cheap Chinese cafes. The local area is studded with the karst limestone crags rising out of the fields. Note that is easy for your Guilin agent to book you a Li River lunch cruise to Yangshuo and you abandon the return journey to Guilin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Fantastic Experience

Posted May 18, 2011
Great staff. Great location. Best place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

中国の雰囲気

Posted Oct 17, 2016
中国の雰囲気をしっかりと味わいつつも清潔感がありサービスも高評価です。過去に何度か泊まらせていただいてますが、満足度の高い店です。屋上からの景色も最高でした。