Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Superb hotel for middle-aged couples

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The patrons, their staff, the service and the food.
Cons: I loved it just the way it is.
Location: Quite town, Pyramids of Guimar worth a visit, mountains are spectacular (accessible by road or hiking) Candelaria lovely old sea front town.
This is a clean, comfortable small hotel in a quite town. The patrons are a delightful French couple who are genuine, professional, good fun, and who speak Spanish, French & English. The hotel has private off road parking, and is tucked away on the edge of a small market (Sundays) town that has local shops and amenities. There are no night clubs, all night drinking or rowdy holiday makers on the streets. Just friendly locals. Our room was en-suite, clean, bright & cool. It was tidied and the beds made every day and towels changed every three days. The breakfast was the fairly standard croissant, bread, juice, coffee etc, but there are other choices which can be ordered for a couple of euros extra. Breakfast can be served in your room or in one of the two sheltered and warm morning sun court yards. The establishment is primarily a restaurant. This is where it gets really good. I can honestly say the Santo Domingo Restaurant is one of the best three bistros I know of world wide. The food is sublime, the service is excellent and the ambiance is relaxed, informal and thoroughly enjoyable, all helped along with the locally grown wine. A truly excellent hotel for peace & quite, excellent service, superb food and value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Nathalie, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your coment and to be as you are. we hope see yo soon.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Tranquil & Friendly

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and very friendly staff makes this an easy place to recommend for anyone looking for relaxation and some downtime away from it all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Relaxing holiday

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Lovely old building in an interesting small town. A whole day visit to the Pyramides is worthwhile. Great walks nearby. Easy access to coast.
We stayed 11 nights and enjoyed the experience. We deliberately chose a quiet hotel away from the crowded holiday areas, and hired a car to get around. Enjoyed some great walks nearby. Features of the hotel which we liked were: Very interesting old building. Very friendly staff, willing to help with all queries when they were available (see below). Excellent food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner). Features which could be improved were: Shortage of local information in reception area, especially as the Guimar Tourist Information Office seemed to be always closed. Reception was rarely manned so it was difficult to get advice or directions sometimes. A street plan of Guimar would have been useful for we who have not yet graduated to a smartphone. Bed was king size but the bedding was not (only just reached the sides of the bed). We do understand that the current owners had only been there for a few months, and expect that most of the above shortcomings will be rectified.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great Canadian hotel with excellent service

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
We had problems with our booking on arrival but Natalie, the owner/manager of the hotel handled the situation quickly and calmly finding a solution that satisfied us. She was an excellent host throughout our stay as were all the other staff including her husband and young lady sorting breakfast and room servicing. The food in the restaurant was excellent with lovely choices available. Everything was nicely prepared and presented and the service was friendly and not rushed. The hotel is typically old Canadian style and nicely decorated and clean. It is easy to walk to the pyramids from the hotel and is an interesting attraction. It is easy to get to both Puertito Guimar and Candaleria by Titsa bus and both are worth a visit. Nice walk in Puertito on the shoreline nature reserve and nice church and seafront square in Candelaria. Overall a good Canadian hotel with great service and staff in a less touristy spot on the island with a few interesting places in the locality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017
Thank you very much for your coment, we hope to see you soon in our "Casona". Nathalie and Yann
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town amenities but on busy through road.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Food was good and staff friendly.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in room since often there is no one on site at all to get a drink.
No room availed on arrival due it was said to plumbing problems??? Place for one night in remote hotel with no service of any kind. When trying to check in the next day we were told we had been upgraded to a suite from the junior suite we booked but bed was only a double and we booked a twin. Owner tried to tell us that double was classified as a twin. Given a twin but not the junior suite we paid for and no rebate given. Room allocation seemed to be a problem here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Yorkshire, UK

Historic building excellent staff

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The building and the staff.
Cons: The bed wascomfortable but a bit shaky maybe only needed nuts tightening. I dont want to call the food as it looked and sounded fantastic. see above.
Location: Very central. Near to the usual tourist spots in an old town. We only had a stroll around late afternoon as we were only booked in for b&b.
Just stay 1 night. A real plus is a private car park for guests. The building is 16c and fascinating. We were made to feel very welcome. Like all these rural hotels they have their quirks and this was no exception with a small open courtyard in the centre. The bed was comfortable but a little shaky. We dined in based on tripadvisor restaurant comments and was a little disappointed with the fillet steak. All the dishes, including other diners looked fantastic and was certainly special but we felt that they were in general a little too busy with different flavour combinations, some of which worked and some didnt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Agradable estancia en una casona canaria muy bien conservada. Los dueños son muy agradables y atentos, siempre dispuestos a ayudar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Nathalie et Yann, Hotel Management
Gracias a vosotros por venir a nuestra casona. Esperemos veros pronto! Un cordial saludo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolfenbüttel

Historisches Haus mit modernen Komfort

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Familiäre Atmosphäre in einem Haus von 1600, individuell eingerichtet. ..wunderschön. Dadurch, dass Erd- und Obergeschoss nur durch eine Holzdecke getrennt sind, extrem hellhörig, was aber mit einer gelassenen Einstellung nicht stört, zumal die Betreiber auch bemüht sind, leise zu sein und das Restaurant ( in dem man hervorragend essen kann) auch i.d.R. ab 22:30 dann leer war...also zur Schlafenszeit. Lage im verschlafenen Guimar ist gut. Geschäfte, Snacks und Tapasbars in wenigen Minuten Gehstrecke entfernt. Wer etwas Besonderes fernab von der Standardbettenburg sucht, ist hier genau richtig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jena, Th.

Kunst, Küche - Historizität und Moderne!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Die unkomplizierte , spontane, absolut verlässliche Art des Umgangs.
Cons: Zimmer-Türschloss ist alt,, man muß wissen, wie es funktioniert.
Location: Güimar bietet außer den Pyramiden allerlei Attraktionen - Wanderwege ringsummit dem Auto ist man schnell auf der Autopista Sur und hat alle Wege offen
Freundlichkeit, Individuelle Atmosphäre und grandiose Küche machen den Auffenthalt im Hotel Rural Santo Domingo zur Erholung für Körper und Seele. Vom ersten Moment an fühlt man sich "angekommen". Beste Verkehrsanbindung und der Charme des Ortes sprechen für Güimar.