Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Best location in the middle of historic center!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Super clean! Breakfast only aspect that can use some improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location for the old town

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location and décor (the latter not to everyone's' taste)
Cons: The flooring and bathroom cleanliness. It needed sorting and a deep clean
Location: As above
Lovely and neat looking. Centrally located. Fresh
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Nuno Machado, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased you had a great experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel was located by the Largo da Oliveira; superb location! Just happened to be the festival of the patron St. Gualter so it was a little noisy (we could here fireworks and drums) the first night we were there. The breakfast buffet was lovely; good variety of hot and cold foods and nice atmosphere. The hotel staff were very welcoming and willing to help with any questions or requests. The hotel room was clean and a good size. The beds were not as comfortable as we expected. With the decor and the colour scheme, the room overall seemed a bit too dark. In any case, the hotel was great overall and I would stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Nuno Machado, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased you had a great experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Badly in need of better lighting.

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately the room was very, very dark both at daytime and in the evening. I have never stayed in a room with such low electric light. It was impossible to read in the room or to see properly what was in your suitcase. The lighting in the corridors was also dangeroisly low.The service and the food in the restaurant were both excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We are constantly improving and We will take into consideration the negative points that you mention and we will do everything to improve them We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fabulous

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel is situated in a converted old building in the historic area of the city. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed is very comfortable. The staff was very welcoming and friendly.
Cons: The restaurant was not as good as expected for dinner.
Location: The palace and castle, walking in the streets of the old city
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Nuno, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased you had a great experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tappan , NY

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Lovely hotel in the perfect location of the town of Guimaraes. Located on the most beautiful square of this charming town and a short walk to the castle and palace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Nuno Machado, Hotel Management
Approved First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased that you had a good experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Wotif
The hotel is extremely we'll located on one of the old squares in Guimaraes, in walking distance of everything. The staff were very helpful. We were here for New Year celebrations which included a beautiful meal and a part in the square. Our room, which overlooked the square, was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Genral Manager, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased that you had a good experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again
4 out of 5
by Not Provided

Great location

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Superb location; renovated hotel that needs some touch up work. Lobby etc very nicely done. Inadequate lighting in room. Nice size room. Though in center of town, excellent sound proofing Nice breakfast. Dinner disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased that you had a good experience. We are trying to improve the less positive points that you speak We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

worth staying

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Central location. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good sized room
Cons: Room a little dark
Location: Walk around the old town and nearby picturesque squares. Visit the castle and museums.
Pleasant hotel. Helpful staff. Restaurant good for a hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased that you had a good experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again
5 out of 5
by Karen from Rhode island

Don't miss out.

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was perfectly comfortable in a great location on the square. You have to park a few mins walk away but once you park you can walk around town. You don't need a car till you leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased that you had a good experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again