Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Mixed feelings.

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Perfect location for exploring the Everglades with a grand lobby, excellent restaurant, friendly staff, nice pool
Cons: They need to completely renovate the rooms and bathrooms and improve cleanliness,
Location: It was a perfect location for exploring the Everglades by motorboat or fan boat. There were multiple options for boating.
Entering the hotel we were greeted by a grand two story lobby and a very friendly and helpful desk clerk. The clerk helped us to book a marvelous 3 hour private boat tour of the 10,000 islands as well as an amazing fan boat tour in the dark and mysterious mangrove forest. In addition, off the lobby was a very nice restaurant with an excellent dinner menu and complementary continental breakfast. However, our room was very small, had a funky smell and was quite cramped for two adults and two children. The bathroom was tiny and not very clean. If we had spent much time in the room our frankly our experience would have been terrible. However, since we were out most of the time in the everglades, enjoyed the restaurant and could be in the grand lobby it was overall very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Everglades hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Enjoyed Old Florida style Did a pontoon boat from property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice place right in the middle of the Everglades

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Plenty of adventures kayaking fishing lots if wild life birds reptile animals a hidden gem. The port of the Islands is right in the middle of this it has a heated outdoor swimming pool with a hoist to help the less able guests, the water is 85 deg, food is awesome lunch and evening meals awesome chef. Breakfast contenental only. We visit SW Florida every year and never get fed up with this splendid area Warm seas warm weather and a warm welcome, lovely.
5 out of 5
by KELLY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William T

Couldn't ask for more! Relaxing get away.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Port of the Everglades was great. Perfect location to explore Everglades City and west side of Tamiami Trail. Restaurant dinner, entertainment, and wait staff excellent. Plan to return. Stayed in main building which I would recomment.
5 out of 5
by John

A good place to stay in the Everglades

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel - comfortable rooms, good restaurant, very good outdoor pool (bigger than at most hotels - just float around looking at blue skies through the palm trees). Airboat rides + alligator sanctuary nearby, and boat tours from the adjacent marina. Only one problem: mosquitoes (the Everglades is a swamp after all) - so you need insect repellant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

relaxing

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Relaxing, quiet location, lovely pool area, short walk to dock (manatee eco tour!), fully equipped kitchenette, buffet breakfast included, convenient to Everglades National Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Fl

Dated and old.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Orbitz
We stayed overnight to get an early start fishing. The hotel and the facilities are old and dated. The mosquitoes were unbearable. We went to bed wearing bug repellent but still needed a fly swatter to deal with the mosquitoes in the room. The location is good to enjoy a day of fishing. Otherwise, there is no reason to stay there.
2 out of 5
by Nathan

Not a real hotel/resort. Quirky retirement units

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Truly a 2 star place at best. Not nice at all. Mildew smelling rooms with bedding that looks 30+ years old. Many of the units appear to be owned and lived in by old people who have boats on the small attached marina. Needs serious updating. And the residents that live there store junk all over on their patios, and take all of the parking with their old cars forcing you to park and walk with all of your luggage about 100 yards to the visitor parking lot. Then you get assigned a room next to or between these occupied units. Close to the everglades attractions, but then, so is Naples at only 15-20 minutes away with MUCH nicer hotels for the steep $143/night I paid (all things considered). Pool is fairly nice, except it closed at 745 at night. Seems like a retirement community that tries to make a little extra money by renting out the units that aren't sold yet. Super tacky to advertise this as a hotel or resort. Just misleading marketing. Glad we were only there for a night. Lady who checked us in was very nice, but basically downhill from there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear Nathan, Thank you for staying at Port of the Islands and providing us with your feedback. We sincerely apologize that your stay did not go as expected. Please know that we certainly do our best to keep our property up to date and recently completed several renovations to our units, which included new bedding, flooring, and paint. We appreciate your input and will certainly take your comments into account as we consider future property improvements. Sincerely, Gary Locke – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owasso, Ok

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
We were very pleased with the Resort. Our room had a great view of the Marina. The Manatee excursion was good and Capt Andrew was very knowledgeable. Free breakfast each morning. Good bar and food at Dinner time was very good and priced well. We would recommend this Resort and we will be return. We enjoyed our stay.