Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Tranquil stay for anniversary

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Lovely peaceful traditional feel. Very pretty hotel. Close to Fisherman's Village where there are lots of very good restaurants.
Cons: More attention to detail in room maintenance by housekeeping.
Location: Fisherman's village with lots of restaurants. Highly recommend Nirvana - food was excellent and reasonably priced.
Spent a lovely 4 nights here. Staff are delightful and always eager to please. Upgraded to garden view suite which was nice, but a couple of housekeeping and maintenance issues prevent a 5 star rating. These were small issues, but as advertised as a 5 star hotel, they did let it down. We felt housekeeping were not paying attention to things as much as they should have.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Never recommending this hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Our overall experience at the Anantara Bophut was very disappointing. Rooms were not well maintained. Overall cleanliness was bad including bathroom. The balcony even though it was a non-smoking room had flower pots that had lots of cigarette buds (over 20 buds in them). Staff at hotel although not all had bad attitude.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Andrea Orru’ Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shee, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry if your experience was very disappointing, this is not our usual service standard and rest assured your comments have been shared with our teams. My sincere apologies for the shortfall experienced on the cleaning side of your room and for the attitude shown by some of our team members, this is very surprising and I am sorry if that happened. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to share more feedback, this is in the hope to see you back again and to show you that we can do better. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great hotel. Next to beach and the fisherman village. Short drive to big Buddha. A lot of kids that pretty much took over the pool the couple days we were there which was annoying. Of note, this is not specific to Anatara but any 4-5 star resort in Thailand everything is way way more expensive if you book anything through the hotel. From taxis, massages, ferries, day trips, whatever. For example Anatara offers cooking classes for a ridiculous amount of money. My wife found a cooking class 15 mins away for a third of the cost and we were able to cook twice as many dishes. Plus we were able to hang with a local which seemed way more authentic.Long story short great hotel to relax and hang by the beach but if you want do any activities you will save a lot of money booking outside the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Andrea Orru’ Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia member, We are happy that you have enjoyed our resort and its location in front of the beach as well as being so close to Fisherman’s Village. I am sorry if you felt that the resort activities are too expensive, we do have quarterly competitor checks with similar establishments to ensure the correct value and price is on offer, indeed locally you can find cheaper alternatives, however not to be compared with five stars resorts offerings. We all look forward to see you again for another great stay. Best Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Z

Nice hotel but will not return.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Missing 5 stars services. Prices are VERY high. Disappointing cooking class for almost 3000 Bhat. All services are sooo expensive. They clean the room and don't put toilet paper.... they give 15% on food and beverages that applies almost nowhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good Value, relaxing stay in Koh Samui

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Good Location; beautiful view; delicious food in the evening; very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Decor in some parts could do with a minor facelift. Design of the bathroom doors was not thought through. Need more sun-beds at pool & on beach!
Location: Shops, restaurants, waterspouts
We stayed for a short 2 night break in January. Overall we had a good time. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is overall somewhat faded and could do with a minor facelift in places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice spacious hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice hotel, close to the city center and the temples. Staff seemed to be very easily confused by any question, and we're unable to help organize a taxi to the airport (despite offering to do so). Overall a very nice hotel though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Fantastic!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
My husband and I stayed here for a few days in December and we just loved it! It exceeded our expectations. The room was gorgeous and comfortable and clean. The staff are so friendly & helpful - even remembering us by name and asking if we were comfortable in our room and had slept well. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary and on our arrival our room was decorated with fresh flowers, a card wishing us a happy anniversary, a delicious dessert and several other personal touches that we were thrilled with! Breakfast is fantastic - everything you could possibly want! The resort grounds, gardens, beach & pool areas are all beautiful - truly felt like we were in paradise. It also wasn't overcrowded or loud so we were able to have a very relaxing holiday. We loved this hotel so much that now my husband wants to stay only at Anantara resorts wherever we go!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Lutz, Hotel Management
Dear Karissa, Thank you for staying with us to celebrate such an important occasion as your 15th wedding anniversary. We are very pleased to read your positive feedback and even more that we have exceeded your expectations. We are passionate about guests leaving our resort with amazing stories to tell family and friends and you surely have yours. Rest assured your feedback will be shared with our team and we all look forward to see you back one day soon. Best Regards, Lutz Mueller General Manager
5 out of 5
by Pawan

Great location,highly recommended

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel,great staff,just minutes away from fisherman village - an eclectic , buzzing place of fun
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pawan, Thank you for staying with us at the Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort and for sharing your feedback. We are exited to learn that you enjoyed our resort, its location and the service provided by our team. We all look forward to see you back one day soon. Best Regards, Lutz Mueller General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cons: Towels need replacements.
Very pleasant stay. Highly recommend spa. Friendly and helpful staff throughout the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Andrea Orru’, Hotel Management
Dear expedia member, Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay at our resort. We are really happy to ready that you have enjoyed our Spa and team members service. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the towels and rest ensured that we will look into that. We also hope to see you again at our resort. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Just relax and enjoy yourself at this great resort
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Lutz, Hotel Management
Dear Kristine Stewart, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great experience on social media. We can only agree with you, the best way to enjoy our resort is by relaxing around our infinity pool overlooking the ocean, by indulging yourself at our idyllic Spa and by being well taken care by our team members. The team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards, Lutz Mueller General Manager