Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SE

Very nice location and staff

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We stayed in a small bungalow up the hill, the view from there was amazing! We had our own bathroom and a fan, it was so windy up on the hill so we did not even miss ac. The staff was super friendly and always happy to be at our service. The restaurant is cozy with fenomenal food for a cheap price! The beach is beautiful and the hotel offers sunchairs and hammocks at the beach for free. The water is clear blue and full of fish! We booked snorkling trips through the reception and they also have taxi service..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by ฺBank, Hotel Management
Thank you warm review and our service . We are looking forward to coming back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cape town

Great location . Hotel is a rip off.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Amazing view and quiet location away from busy sairee beach. But VERY far from everything. Dangerous gravel road and no store for miles. I stayed in a fan bungalow. And was charged 1100baht a night. The man who worked there admitted it was 800 by mistake. After I had already payed. The electricity would turn off daily which meant no fan. The wifi is a joke. They say they have wifi..they should just be honest. It dosent work maybe once a little in 5 days. The food is good and kItchen and waiting staff where great. A normal fan bungalow on the beach is around 600baht. I was ripped off. And couldn't get my money back from expedia or the hotel. Don't do it you can get much better value for money in many places on the island. Tenote bay is worth a day trip tho.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good luck

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hope you find it because their telephone number is out of service...
3 out of 5
by Lee A from Liverpool

Best bay in koh toa

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel room was a dump however we got the cheapest room, view was absolutely amazing. Electrics hanging off wall and dark rooms and hole in ground in toilet! All this said you get what you pay for and the view from the hammock defiantly worth it. Location a bit of a nightmare for getting the main party strip costing 500 baht per person and 600 baht the way back! Tanote bay easily nicest bay on koh toa and a must see for everyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not recommend it

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The sea-view and the tranquility
Cons: STAFF is un-welcoming and do not give a good service at all
Location: location is nice because it is located in Tanote Bay. It was very calm during our stay ( not many tourists) and the beach is beautiful for snorkelling
We booked the hotel via Expedia a couple days before our arrival and when we arrived, the staff didn't even know we had a reservation and they were very un-welcoming. After we showed them the confirmation on our cellphone, they took us to our bungalow. Even though we had booked the priciest room (with sea view and air conditioning), we were very disappointed by it (there was no safe as it was supposed and no fridge), a very basic room. The AC wasn't working well and they laughed at us when we asked them to check it out and they pretended not understanding English. They didn't clean the room neither gave us new towels for the three nights we stayed there. We spent our whole time in the other resort next to ours, named Montalay Bay, where the staff was friendly and the food very good (we should have booked with them).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Family Tanod Bay Resort in Ko Tao

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay at Family Tanod Bay Resort was unfortunately the worst of our 3 week stay in Thailand. We paid for 3 nights but actually only stayed 1 and checked into another hotel in the bay. The staff on arrival were very disorganised and un-welcoming. We had been trying to call the hotel to arrange a pick up transfer prior to our arrival but they never answered the phone. Our room was very basic to say the least - a bed and a table and a single light bulb in a dark wooden room was not what we expected. The 2 large Gecko's in the bathroom were a nice surprise as well. The mattress and bed sheets were old worn and very uncomfortable. We tried to ask to move but after being ignored first time round we didn't bother persuing this and promptly moved. As a positive the room did have a lovely balcony which looked out over the bay. The bay itself and beach is also lovely and great for snorkelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bungalow FUN!!!!

Posted Feb 19, 2012
Staff went out of their way to help us out. The cheaper rooms are higher up from the beach, but they were much larger and well built than any other bungalow that I've stayed in. During our 4 day stay, not one mosquito got into our room. =)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Family Tanod Bay: relaxed beautiful location

Posted Jan 6, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel was a great value for what we paid. It was right on the beach and the view from our bungalow was incredible. If you're looking for the same service and accommodations as a five-star resort, you won't find it here. You can't use air conditioning until after 6pm and you can't flush toilet paper in the bathroom. But the beach, remoteness, and view make up for this. You need a four-wheel drive vehicle to access the hotel, and it's sometimes recognized as Tanote Bay Resort instead of Family Tanod Bay Resort. The staff doesn't hover but will be helpful when you make a request. The lounge area/restaurant had a fun hostel atmosphere- you put in your own orders to the kitchen and can play games, drink and socialize with the other tourists while overlooking the beach. Good, cheap food- my husband highly recommends the shakes! One tip- if you're coming from the pier, be sure to book your transfer to the hotel ahead of time or else you'll end up paying 2-3x more for a taxi once you arrive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2011 on Hotels
Ok for backpackers